Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Road to Ballina Import

5.0 out of 5 stars 1 customer review

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
New from Used from
Audio CD, Import, February 22, 2005
"Please retry"
$27.48 $25.91

Stream Millions of Songs FREE with Amazon Prime
Get Started with Amazon Prime Stream millions of songs anytime, anywhere, included with an Amazon Prime membership. Get started

Editorial Reviews

In a piece of original composition for Radio 3, guitarist and composer Jakko M Jakszyk traces a route through the tangled lines of his own inheritance. When broad casting in December '96 The Road To Ballina met with great critical acclaim in the National press and it has been chosen by the BBC as their 'Arts' entry for this years Sony Radio Awards.

Track Listings

Disc: 1

  1. Intro
  2. The Road To Ballina
  3. Camille's Story Part 1 - Childhood In Paris
  4. Camille's Story Part 2 - Marriage In Limoges
  5. Norbert's Story Part 1 - Ruda
  6. Nobert's Story Part 2 - The German Army
  7. I Wanted A Child
  8. My Story Part 1 - The House Was Always Empty
  9. My Story Part 2 - I Wondered Who The Hell I Was
  10. Walking Across Birkenau
  11. Reprise
  12. Return To Ballina

Product Details

  • Audio CD (February 22, 2005)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Format: Import
  • Label: Resurgence UK
  • ASIN: B000024QTL
  • Average Customer Review: 5.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (1 customer review)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #709,958 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)

Amazon's Jakko Store

Customer Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
See the customer review
Share your thoughts with other customers

Top Customer Reviews

By Robert Carlberg on February 4, 2003
Format: Audio CD
Commissioned by BBC Radio 3 in December 1995, this CD tells the story of Jakko Jakszyk's search for his birth parents, and what he found.
Adopted at 18 months, raised in England by a French mother and Polish father, Jakszyk found himself searching for his roots at age 24. His adoptive parents were both touched by tragedy in WWII, and their stories, told in imaginatively edited interviews and the accompanying booklet, are heartbreaking. Jakko's search eventually leads him to his Irish birth mother (living in Arkansas), and HER story is similarly stirring.
The spoken word excerpts are combined with sound effects and soundscapes recorded on-site in Poland, Ireland, Germany, France and England. These are then fitted into a musical score of synthesizers, guitar, flute (all by Jakko), plus bass, cello and trumpet and saxophones by guest musicians. The musical themes interweave with the narration, sometimes picking up the rhythms of the speech (similar to what American composer Scott Johnson has done) and the rest of the time providing a simple but haunting framework. The spoken material is treated like any other element of the composition, with judicious looping, repeating themes, and a documentarian's sense of pace. Jakko himself ties together the stories with a few carefully-chosen memories of growing up.
The result is a movie-for-your-ears, deep and powerful; and to my knowledge something completely unique in the world of music.
Comment 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse


Look for Similar Items by Category