Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Road House [Blu-ray]
Editors' Holiday Gift Picks Amazon Fashion nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Electronics Holiday Gift Guide Starting at $39.99 Luxury Beauty Gift with Purchase Gifts for Him Get up to $100 back on House Cleaning services westworld westworld westworld  All-New Echo Dot Starting at $89.99 Kindle Oasis GNO Shop Outdoor Gift Ideas on Amazon

Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:$21.77+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 504 reviews(verified purchases). Show all reviews
on March 14, 2011
"Road House" is one of those movies that has an almost cult-like following. Everyone I know who loves this movie, including me, can watch it over and over and over.

All the leads are alpha males or females in their own way. Dalton (Patrick Swayze) is quiet but explosive. Brad Wesley (Ben Gazzara) is snakey and manipulative. Wade Garrett (Sam Elliott) is life wise and supremely confident. Denise (Julie Michaels) is nasty and she knows it. Doc (Kelly Lynch) is sexy, excessively tanned, and smarter than everyone. And finally the town's business owners are calculating and determined. Thankfully they all converge in the town of Jasper, home of the Double Duece Road House, for violence, sex, and some fun music. What's not to love about this movie that gets cheesy'er and more enduring with each passing year?

The Blu-ray version really adds SNAP to the flick with sharp images, great colors, and a room-filling DTS soundtrack. Yeah, the hairstyles and clothes are almost laughable, but for those of us who were clubbing (or not too far removed) in 1989 the "Road House" is practically a trip down memory lane.

Hey, for $8.99 new for the Blu-ray/DVD combo, how can you go wrong? If is isn't that price when you read this review, be patient, it will be again.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 5, 2016
This is an exceptional martial arts movie - Bruce Lee meets a Clint Eastwood western. Swayze is totally convincing as a simmering badass, the themes of love and friendship and the contemptible, smug "big boss" villain give this flick a hell of a kick. Pure, engrossing entertainment with heart.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 11, 2015
Great movie !! Have seen it several times. Don't like that Sam Elliot gets killed in the end, but other that that Kelly Lynch is so AWESOME !!

My case did get damaged during shipping, but the discs are not hurt, so I won't be returning anything.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 2, 2015
Yes.

Patrick Swayze plays an under-sized / improbable a-- kicking bar bouncer (cooler). I absolutely get a kick out of this movie. I've been in a few bars myself and 'seen' my fair share of brawls. None were this cool (invariably, the brawl winds up on the floor* really really quick). But you gotta see this if you like Ben Gazara, Swayze or bar culture. A must have.

I really get a kick out of how homogenized the bar demographic is; mid-20's to early 30's guys and gals, all fairly good looking. And the bar is just f--king packed. And no latino americans or african american americans, just european americans. It's like a cookie cutter look at a bar. And if you travel the country, let me know where you find this bar 'cuz I don't think it exists. Maybe in a town of 500,000 that only allowed folks of that ethnic persuasion and age group could you get a crowd like that. But the town in the movie? Maybe 50 people on a crowded night, 100 with a good band.

The fight scenes are epic and worth the price of admission. The climatic scene does not disappoint and is chock full of 1980s goodness.

There was a bar in Camarillo, Ca., that was shaped like the bar in Road House. It was called "Gold Street". Heh. The Lamplighter, then Gold Street and there was one right next to Gold Street. The early 1990's were fun time alright.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 24, 2008
Roadhouse is one of those movies that everyone should take time out to watch. Patrick Swayze is great as Dalton, the philosphical but redoutable bouncer. Crusty Sam Elliott is great, as is beautiful Kelly Lynch as the small town doctor. And iconic actor Ben Gazzara gives one of his best performances as a sociopathic heel who has enough money to think he can run roughshod over the town's decent folks. With its simple, pared-down plot and the gorgeous stars populating its sets, Roadhouse sort of harkens back to the old Elvis Presely movies of the sixties, where the King would play an ordinary, but talented guy who was quick with his fists caught up in an escalating situation. Swayze shows the same type of charisma in this performance. Elvis's former bodyguard and best friend Red West even has a roll in the film as well. The fight scenes are fabulous and there's just enough plot and drama to elevate the movie to one of the best B-movie martial arts films ever. Swayze had the moves, and his line, "Nobody wins a fight" lends just the right amount of poignancy at just the right time. If you haven't seen Roadhouse, do so post haste. If you have seen it, perhaps it's time to revisit the old place. Dalton will be waiting for you.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 5, 2010
Road House is about a bouncer with a nationwide reputation as being the best at his job,although most say "I thought you'd be bigger". Swayze in this movie is more like Chuck Norris than Dirty Dancing. Make no mistake about it, this is about violence, not dancing or romance. Some scenes are VERY sexy especially in the back of the bar when they are "on brake", IF, you know what I mean. Hot women, barroom brawls, and borderline Rambo-like action near the end with Norris style martial arts and Sam Eliott(Ghost Rider, etc.) as his backup is Roadhouse. A Spike-TV favorite for years with TBS as a close second. Definitely aimed at more of a heterosexual, male audience which is what I am. Although not a Bruce Lee or Chuck Norris movie, Walker:Texas Ranger does pop up in your mind when viewing this. Pretty similar action and country setting. Highly recommended!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 27, 2016
This is one of my all time favorites. Patrick Swayze kicks butt. Sam Elliott kicks butt and waxes sarcastic philosophical. And Kelly Lynch is . . . well . . . Kelly Lynch . . . Does anybody believe that a cooler is well known and a legend in the bouncer universe? Of course not. Do we care? No! This is a great, fun, kick butt, great music, beautiful women movie that is 5 star testosterone romp. Even Ben Gazara seems to be having fun as the bad guy . . . this movie rocks! Classic.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 25, 2016
For a 100% guy flick its really tough to beat Swayze`s classic Road House. This movie is a major blast and has one of the top best fight scenes in movie history. The only reason I didn`t rate it a 5 is because there are a few silly parts but I guess thats also part of the fun. Not quite as good as Point Break or Ghost but its almost up there. Awesome flick!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 18, 2016
Great movie, one you have to see! Sad & good moments all in one. Wonderful how Patrick Swayze takes it on with Ben Gazzara. Great to see Sam Elliott again. Singer in the club just keeps singing through it all, great performance.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 11, 2016
If you're into bar fight movies and like Patrick Swayze and Sam Elliott, this is for you. I read Swayze's book, and the scene where he's fighting the bad guy outside by the pond, was them going at it. They literally were boxing and fighting; it wasn't staged. I believe the guy opposite Swayze was a real boxer, but don't quote me on that. I like seeing scenes that are REAL, and this was a REAL fight.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse