Kindle Price: $7.99

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Robert Ludlum's(TM) The Ares Decision (A Covert-One novel Book 8) by [Mills, Kyle]
Audible Narration
Playing...
Loading...
Paused
Kindle App Ad

Robert Ludlum's(TM) The Ares Decision (A Covert-One novel Book 8) Kindle Edition

4.1 out of 5 stars 155 customer reviews

See all 24 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Price
New from Used from
Kindle
"Please retry"
$7.99

Kindle Daily Deals
Kindle Delivers: Daily Deals
Subscribe to find out about each day's Kindle Daily Deals for adults and young readers. Learn more (U.S. customers only)
click to open popover

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.


Editorial Reviews

Review

"Fast-paced and action-filled, with iconic characters and contemporary themes, the story is a stand-alone-worthy entry in the Covert-One series....Fans of Ludlum and Mills thrillers will find The Ares Decision right on target."―The Free-Lance Star

"Filled with action, intrigue, and a plot that places the team in a spot they may never survive."―The Oklahoman

"Don't ever begin a Ludlum novel if you have to go to work the next day."―Chicago Sun-Times

"The fun...[is] finding out how [our heroes] will manage to overcome a new batch of seemingly insurmountable odds. Fast paced, exciting, and boasting prose that's easier on the eyes than much of Ludlum's own appoint."―Booklist

"Packed with all the classic Ludlum elements...the intricately engineered plot thunders forward at breakneck pace. Bottom Line: Perfectly executed."―PEOPLE on The Altman Code

"Welcome to Robert Ludlum's world...fast pacing, tight plotting, international intrigue."―Cleveland Plain Dealer

Review

"Don't ever begin a Ludlum novel if you have to go to work the next day." (Chicago Sun-Times )

"The fun...[is] finding out how [our heroes] will manage to overcome a new batch of seemingly insurmountable odds. Fast paced, exciting, and boasting prose that's easier on the eyes than much of Ludlum's own appoint." (Booklist )

"Packed with all the classic Ludlum elements...the intricately engineered plot thunders forward at breakneck pace. Bottom Line: Perfectly executed." (PEOPLE on The Altman Code )

"Welcome to Robert Ludlum's world...fast pacing, tight plotting, international intrigue." (Cleveland Plain Dealer )

Product Details

  • File Size: 1752 KB
  • Print Length: 433 pages
  • Publisher: Grand Central Publishing; 1 edition (October 4, 2011)
  • Publication Date: October 4, 2011
  • Sold by: Hachette Book Group
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B004RD8576
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Enabled
  • Lending: Not Enabled
  • Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #47,357 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  •  Would you like to give feedback on images or tell us about a lower price?

Customer Reviews

Top Customer Reviews

Format: Hardcover
Finished the Ares Decision by Kyle Mills, a process that took about 2 years. I originally pre-ordered the book, then supposed to be The Infinity Affair by James Cobb. The book is one of the Covert One series based on an idea by Robert Ludlum and the books are written by different authors, some better than others. I had enjoyed Cobb's contribution, the last book in the series, The Arctic Event, even if he did take the concept further from its origins, a process that had begun in the previous book, The Moscow Vector, and so was anticipating his subsequent effort. Why he was replaced on the assignment and why the title and substance of the book got changed around I have no idea. I do know that Mr. Mills was new to me and given all that went before I was wondering how things would turn out.

Hate to say it but it didn't look so good early on. I found the opening chapters a bit of slow going but fortunately it was only the opening chapters. Sticking it out I was able to get to the good parts, the rest of the book. In fact I really liked what was done with this one. In the previous two books Covert One had started to stray from its roots which were about a highly secret black ops agency that used mainly specialists in other areas as agents when trouble cropped up in areas of their expertise. The main protagonist, Col Jon Smith is an army doctor by day, secret agent by night when the world is threatened by biological super weapons in the wrong hands. In the previous two books, especially The Arctic Affair, Covert One had become extremely visible, at least in the intelligence community, and Col Smith was becoming more agent than doctor. Of course for the purpose of the books he is mainly agent but the plots basically have him playing doctor in the times between cases.
Read more ›
Comment 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Hardcover
The latest Covert one installment is another solid effort. This time, Jon Smith is battling a new enemy that combines a variation on the African Lord's Resistance Army in cohoots with Iran. The biological threat is equally unique, a parasitic infection that leads to superhuman violence in the infected state. The story is fast paced, with several unexpected plot twists. All the regular characters return and Mills add a final surprise that regular readers will applaud as a long time in the making.

This entire series has been marked by above average writing and engaging plots and the latest is no exception. For lovers of the biothriller, this is a another tasty treat.
1 Comment 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
By A Customer on October 5, 2011
Format: Hardcover
A special ops unit enters Northern Uganda to execute brutal terrorist Caleb Bahame, but a video displays the peaceful weaponless locals behaving like mythical fearless berserkers use super speed and strength to eradicate the trained professionals. Although the threat may seem regional at best, concern is high that a new bioweapon has been developed. Thus Covert One, established by POTUS to handle proactively global threats while the establishment passively reacts, is assigned to insure this remains localized and countered as the fear is Bahame will give this bioweapon to Iran and other rogue states and groups.

Cover One Director Fred Klein sends Dr. Jon Smith and his team to Africa to learn what is going on and to abate the threat to Africa and subsequently the world. The Covert-One operatives quickly learn Bahame has deployed a deadly parasite on the Ugandan farmers as a beta test that affirms this evil person cares nothing about killing the innocent. Namibian biologist Sarie van Keure joins Smith and his team to prevent further spreading of the lethal parasite especially with an Iranian delegation wanting it released in the West.

The latest Covert-One thriller (see The Moscow Vector and The Arctic Event) is an excellent action-packed tale starring a strong cast in which the team members, the biologist, and the terrorist are fully developed while the local Ugandans and their country enhance the plot. Fast-paced, Robert Ludlum fans will appreciate Kyle Mills take on Covert One.

Harriet Klausner
Comment 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Hardcover Verified Purchase
The Ares Decision caught my attention because it was advertised as a novel that Vince Flynn would have written, if he had lived. Having withdrawal symptoms by no longer being able to get Vince's novels, I order it with some reservations. But I needed not to be hesitant, as The Ares Decision held me totally until I read to the very end. Covert-One, the presidents very own, and completely off the grid clandestine group, is put into force after one of America's elite special forces team is completely wiped out. The team goes into northern Uganda and in the fight that takes place has it recorded by special cameras on the American helmets. From that video, the president decides it is time for his Covert-One group take over and Jon Smith is sent in. What he goes through will have you sitting up all night reading! It is a great read...
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase
This review is for the audiobook version.

I am a huge fan of the Covert-One series. I have all the audiobooks and have listened to each of them, other than "The Ares Decision", more than once. That being said, I found The Ares Decision to be the least enjoyable of the series.

Overall, I thought Jeff Woodman did an excellent job of reading. It is easy to imagine that are multiple actors performing. I am on the lookout for more books that he has read. One thing that bothered me was the voice that he used for Sarie van Keure. It sounded a lot like--OK, exactly alike--the voice he used for Valentina Metrace in "The Arctic Event". I found that to be a little distracting.

I was disappointed with the writing. The characters seemed to be different, especially Peter Howell, and less well developed, more one-dimensional than in previous Covert-One novels. I also feel there are gaps in the story that should have been explained. I wondered more than once if I had the unabridged version. (I do.) The Covert-One series has always required a degree of `suspension of disbelief'. For `The Ares Decision' you will have to work at it.

While I have listened to the previous Covert-One novels more than once, "the Ares Decision' may be one and done. Maybe they can get James Cobb to write the next one.
Comment One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Most Recent Customer Reviews

Set up an Amazon Giveaway

Robert Ludlum's(TM) The Ares Decision (A Covert-One novel Book 8)
Amazon Giveaway allows you to run promotional giveaways in order to create buzz, reward your audience, and attract new followers and customers. Learn more about Amazon Giveaway
This item: Robert Ludlum's(TM) The Ares Decision (A Covert-One novel Book 8)