Bubble Witch Saga 3 Industrial Deals Beauty Little FIres Everywhere STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited GNO for iPhone 8 Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon BradsStatus BradsStatus BradsStatus  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Shop Now PSFF17_gno

Customer reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
15
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:$87.73+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 15 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 15 reviews
on July 8, 2017
You may be familiar with the award winning black and white photography of Bruce Weber. You may also be aware of the excellence of ballet as performed by Roberto Bolle, the reigning king of the ballerinos. But when these two gentlemen merge their talents in a single volume of incredible beauty, the definitive master work that pictures the person and talent of Bolle against everything from railroad cars to contemporary and historic architectural treasures, you've seen it all. This is a volume that will impress you, though you know exactly what it's worth. It will take your breath away and rob you of your ability to put it down... RtE
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 6, 2013
Once upon a time, there were these little two Russian boys, that taught us mere mortals to love ballet... They were Nureyev and Barishnikov! And dispite all the other great ballet dancers, from all the countries in the world, we, mere mortals, could not look at any of them... only those two!!!
One day, probably thinking that this was not funny anymore, God gave us Roberto Bolle!!! And we, mere mortals, came to know a ballet master, a fashion icon, a perfect figure, and a fairy tale story to go with it!
Bruce Webber captured all these (and a few other traits!) of this modern demi-god, in all its speldour and glory! The book is marvelous, but to fully understand WHO Bolle is, see him dance... and then bow, bend, and pick up the jaw that you just dropped!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 15, 2012
I am glad that I finally decided to purchase this book. I wanted to do it long time ago. And (unfortunately) read some reviews that are posted here on Amazon. After having looked, read through this book I felt I needed to voice my opinion to somewhat counterbalance some negative reviews. I quite liked it, it was actually better than I expected. Photographs are gorgeous, mostly black-and-white. I liked the choice of non-glossy format of the paper. I think it is very good collaboration between Bruce and Roberto.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
ROBERTO BOLLE: AN ATHLETE IN TIGHTS is a three year collaboration between photographer Bruce Weber and ballet start Roberto Bolle. For this reader this is more a compilation of the extents that body can express movement than it is about ballet. Weber selected Bolle as a model and has managed to capture many moments of both static stature and motion pacing that show the definition of the body's muscles that come into play with different demands placed on them. Ballet is a beautiful art form, but it is more. It is a brutally punishing imposition on the body: observe the deformities in joints and read of the serious muscle tears that can occur on the best of stars such as Baryshnikov and Nureyev. Bolle seems to have a better grasp of what the body can and cannot do. His movements captured here are never less than artistic, but never push the envelope to destructive measures. At least that is what Bruce Weber has captured in these very large-scale photographs. The photographs are beautifully reproduced in a manner sensitive to the movement of the artist. I t simply works - as a book and as a study of movement.

To appreciate this collaboration between Bolle and Weber, return to the title: An Athlete in Tights. A fine book for those who appreciate the athleticism of the art of ballet. Grady Harp, December 10
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 26, 2010
IF you know the work of Bruce Weber, then no explanation is necessary. IF you are NOT familiar with his work, you should at least take a look.
I find him the Ansel Adams of the human form. While he does work in color, I find his black & white work excellent. In black & white he is able to communicate a depth not present in his color work. He communicates with the subject and thus, communicates about the subject. Amazing.
The primary subject in this book is Roberto Bolles. You are introduced by way of some images of athletes. These try to prepare you for Roberto. However, in my book (pun intended), Roberto, through his years of work, has crafted an amazing dancer's body. Looking upon this dancer's body you feel as if you are looking upon an angel communicating with heaven - it's other worldly. Amazing
I can hardly wait for the DVD. <jk> ;-)~
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 20, 2014
Like all of Bruce Weber's books, I love it and hate it. Mostly black and white full page photos of Roberto Bolle, (I think) the greatest male ballet dancer of our time. He's also amazingly handsome, well built, and photogenic. He's photographed in just about every position and situation you can imagine from the stage in performance to the bedroom to the beach to the ballet bar to a railroad yard (hanging out of a box car), climbing a huge pile of coal, and many more. Some photos pair him with another dancer, a horse, a group of little children, a stuffed panda bear, etc. (There are a couple of pictures of Roberto as a child dancing, very cute.) Text is minimal but you get Roberto's recipe for Pumpkin Risotto. Some tasteful nudes (from behind) in various odd locations and close-ups of his hands and feet. Weber, as usual, inserts a number of pictures totally unrelated to the book's subject (Sumo wrestlers, mysterious man with a bear, landscapes, sculptures, etc.) A list of plates dates and locates each photo. I liked this book even though it could have been a lot better. Bruce Weber is Bruce Weber and probably won't ever grow out of it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 22, 2014
There is only one word to describe this }............Delicious
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 25, 2015
Excellent presentation.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 3, 2015
SPECTACULAR BOOK
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 20, 2014
nice pics!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here