Amazon Business Books with Buzz STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Limited time offer Luxury Beauty March Birthstone Book House Cleaning GimmeDanger GimmeDanger GimmeDanger  All-New Echo Dot Starting at $49.99 Kindle Oasis Elton John Tackle Any Terrain with Cycling on Amazon STEM

Format: Audible Audio Edition|Change
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 282 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 556 reviews
on January 26, 2011
Defoe helped to define the modern fictional novel when he wrote about the tales of Robinson Crusoe. The book has a strong religious theme, as was Defoe's intention. However, this version of the text censors out some of the language against what Defoe called the Papist Church (or the Roman Catholic Church) as well as some items which would be considered racially insensitive today (but leaving in much of it as well). I don't understand why this version leaves out some of those parts, as they completely change the story that Defoe intended. I'm not sure that Amazon knows these texts are censored (not the original) as there is no allusion to it in the book's description.

1919 comments| 231 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
"Robinson Crusoe" has become a cultural mataphor for survival under difficult circumstances. Daniel Defoe's 1719 novel was loosely based on the experiences of the real life castaway Alexander Selkirk, but in Defoe's hands, those experiences become an extended moral trial of the hero of the story.

When we first met Robinson Crusoe, he is a thoughtless young man, in love with the idea of adventure and with no idea of the possible consequences or of his responsibilities toward his family. He goes to sea, when he encounters more than one disaster but persists in his search for adventure. Finally, his adventuring spirit will leave him a castaway on a seemingly deserted island, the only survivor of the foundering of a ship.

Luckily, Crusoe is able to salvage food, tools, weapons, and building materials from his old ship. With this starter kit, he improvises a precarious life on his island. But Crusoe is not yet safe from danger. In addition to the hazards of illness, hurricane, earthquake and loneliness, he will discover both cannibals and pirates in his neighborhood. Will Crusoe be equal to the tests of his spirit and his ability to survive? Will he ever have the chance to leave his island, and return to his family?

This Campfire Graphic Novel nicely adapts the original novel. The edited text and artwork capture the essentials of the story, including Crusoe's explicit struggle for redemption after years of wasted living. Highly recommended.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 27, 2016
I had never read Defoe's novel until recently. I found it surprisingly well written (very readable to this 21st century reader) and engaging. There are moments when Defoe gets bogged down with Crusoe's journal entries, but I had no idea of the other adventures in the novel that preceded the shipwreck made famous in subsequent retellings in the movies and children's abridgements. It remains a watershed escapist novel as well as a survival manual. Readers will also be surprised that the novel weaves in an ongoing "inner examination" of the castaway's spiritual/religious life as it changes over time and circumstances.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 14, 2015
I was really looking forward to re-reading this book by DeFoe (a gripping, intense story even in this day of special effects -- highly recommended) but it was totally ruined for me when I had to pull out a magnifying glass to read the serif style text -- seriously hard to read. The immortal classics, create space, unabridged edition, Oct 2015, 178 pages is horrible! Please buy a different version and save yourself the eye strain.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 3, 2014
For anyone who is not familiar with the Penguin Clothbound Classics editions, you're missing out on something wonderful. These are well produced clothbound editions, much better quality than most "hardbound" books now. The price is very low--if you buy them when they first come out...drat that I missed the Madame Bovary and Crime and Punishment releases that now cost hundreds of dollars. The price is typically lower than other "hardbound" books; in fact, the price is not that much more than the price of the Penguin Paperback edition of the work, but this copy will last a lifetime.

As with the other Penguin Clothbound Classic editions, this too includes introductory material and appendices typical of other Penguin editions.

I hope Penguin continues to release titles in the Clothbound Classics series, and I wish it would release more titles per year in the series.
11 comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 19, 2015
What a great story. There is so mush more to it than a person would realize. Most people would know about the Island part of the story. Yet the Island is only a section of the book. The whole adventure is quite long with twists and turns. The old English style takes a bit to get used to, however the reader soon adapts, and the writing is really very good. I read the book via Kindle so the dictionary came in handy to understand some words that have fallen out of use in today's English. Also, it gives an excellent insight to the times the book is set in. The best book I've read this year.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 30, 2005
The author of Robinson Crusoe, Daniel Defoe, is generally credited with being one of the first novel writers in the English language. The book is surely an influential one-- spawning countless imitations, derivations, and (in our era) reality-based television shows.

It is billed, quite fairly, as an adventure story. However, it is a very different kind of adventure than the modern action-sequence laden book which readers today may expect. It is an adventure story, but one which centers primarily on mastery and morality.

The morality is placed centrally in the book when Crusoe rejects the advice of his father to accept the happiness of the middle class life to which he was born. Against the wishes of his family, he runs off to sea to find adventure. It is not until Crusoe literally recreates a primitive approximation of that middle class life for himself on his island that he is freed.

Crusoe is also a story about the ability of mankind to master his surroundings through hard work, patience, and Christianity. The combination of these three supports are what allow him to escape captivity in Africa, overcome the deadly obstacles on the island, and finally leave the island itself. His physical prowess and combat skills are significantly less important to his journey than the message of trust and persistance that the decades he spends on the island convey. While this message might need tempering for the modern reader, it is also inspirational and important to read.

If the potential reader is not used to the diction of the time, the book itself may take some patience and persistance. It pays off, in the end, and should be an excellent book for the young teenager (or the not-so-young grown-up) interested in stories of adventure. The child who reads and enjoys My Side of the Mountain by Jean Craighead George would probably be a good potential audience for Robinson Crusoe. For a good life-at-sea duo, you might consider pairing it with Two Years Before the Mast by Richard Henry Dana.
11 comment| 88 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 21, 2017
The audible that I bought along with it only went half way through the book. This is a long and repetitive book with English from the 1800s that makes it slow and difficult to read. An updated version may be preferable.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 3, 2013
Written in old English speak,but gives an insight into the vocabulary used in the 17th.century. waiting for man Friday to arrive ! Over half way though the story, the periodic arrival of cannibals from the mainland to partake in the ritual, vis. killing and eating of their captured upon the beach, life for Crusoe becomes very unsettled. His existence changing from one of reluctant make do, and contented improvement to his lot, to one of fear, and great apprehension, should the aggressive savages learn of his existence. With the increasing number of visits to "His" island, Crusoe is bound by his conscience to take a closer look at these events, and is able to help the escape of one of the victims. Enter Man Friday, and we cut to the chase as the story picks up pace, Crusoe now having a companion, all` be it a savage, is able to teach him the skills of civilized man, including a fairly heavy indoctrination of Christianity, to which a reader to day can only be made aware of the power of the church over an author of that period if he would get his works into print. After another rescue of several victims from the cannibals, the number of castaways on the Island has grown requiring more food production. Eventually a scheme is devised to build a large vessel, and rescue a large group of ship wrecked sailors from the mainland living a wretched existence among the Natives .... The plot thickens.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 7, 2016
I did not like this book, however it does have very practical application. Firstly, it is necessary to read for any economics major or even any business major. This is because it is constantly referenced in any economics course. It is a necessary book to understand basic economic theory. I do disagree however, that Robison Crusoe was purposely written to be that way, which is what particularly makes me upset about this book. It is just about the life of Robison Crusoe who just has a lot of misfortune. He does what anybody on an island would figure out they must do. I am not sure why his situation turned out to be so instrumental in Economics but that is just what happened. Overall, it is a slow, boring book. I would not recommend reading this for fun, but I would recommend reading it for education.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you are posting in the form of a question.
Please enter a question.


Need customer service? Click here