BCA Month Salon Beauty Most Anticipated Fall Children's Books Women's Coat Guide nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited PCB for Musical Instruments $69.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags hgg17 Save $30 on a Deep Cleaning Appointment Baby Driver Available to Rent Baby Driver Available to Rent Baby Driver Available to Rent  Three new members of the Echo family All-New Fire 7, starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis South Park Shop Now ToyHW17_gno

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
11
Rockabilly Christmas
Format: MP3 Music|Change
Price:$9.49

VINE VOICEon December 25, 2005
I have a fairly large collection of Christmas CD's, especially Rock and Roll Xmas CD's, and this CD is one of the best. There's only two songs on this collection that I have on other compilations, and only two other covers that I have other versions of elsewhere.

This disc has unknown songs by mostly unknown artists from what sounds like the late 50's and early 60's (that's my one complaint, that the liner notes don't include more info on the artists and the recordings, just a few photos along with the titles and artists).

Most of the songs fall into the rockabilly category, but some are more western swing, and a few are mainstream pop, doo wop, or even early surf...

a few of these are strange demented novelty tunes, but the rest just plain rock!
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 18, 2012
So many Christmas songs are slow, which is fine but I do like to rock and why should this impulse be denied at Christmas? This collection has a few slow numbers, sure, but plenty of fast and fun gems from back in the day. Well worth your money for fans of Christmas music and early rock'n'roll and rockabilly.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 31, 2013
The (early) rockabily versions of Xmas, very nice to listen to in November / December.
Really a cd for music and history lovers.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 20, 2011
Very please with all tracks. I am amazed some did not make it big. This on is on my top five Christmas music list IF you like rockabiilly
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This sounds just as I expected it would - it's a rocking collection of fifties Christmas music although there are no real stars among them except for Johnny Preston, who is best remembered for Running bear although he had a few other hits. Here, he is represented by two Christmas songs including New baby for Christmas, which was originally co-written and recorded by country singer George Jones.

Tracks 1 and 3 are both titled Sleigh bell rock and are the same song. There's very little to choose between the two versions despite them supposedly being by different writers (they obviously are by same writer or co-writers). There are also two versions of Jingle bells, one being titled Jingle rock.

Another singer represented by two tracks is Little Joey Farr (Rock'n roll Santa, Big White Cadillac) but he is otherwise unknown to me. Elsewhere, Cordell Jackson, Lilian Briggs and Marguerite Trina all show that women could rock too even though they didn't get many opportunities in those days.

It's hard to pick favorites but suffice to say that if you enjoy fifties rock'n'roll and want some Christmas music that rocks, this will suit you fine.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 18, 2015
This is a must have CD. Every track is awesome! Great for any Christmas festivities with family and friends. If you're from the ol' school 50's era or into the 50's culture, this CD is for you. All my cats and kittens enjoyed dancing to theses festive tracks during my Christmas party. Highly recommend. If you enjoy this track, I also highly recommend "Rock N Roll Christmas 3 CD pack" import. Hearing and dancing to good music with your friends always brings good times and great memories.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 20, 2005
Don't be fooled by the Rockabilly in the title because even fans of rock 'n roll might think it's just early country rock but this collection is so much more. Obscure. Sure, but there are no bad tracks on this collection - they're all cool, fun and definitely rock 'n roll. There are a couple where the sound quality can generously be described as recorded next door but if you're a fan of obscure rock 'n roll or you're making your Christmas CD and want to sprinkle in a few tracks no one else has ... this is great. In this collection, you get some rockabilly but mainly just a lot of great early rock from rhythm & bluesy rock to precursor garage rock to early surf guitar to as mentioned by the other reviewer - novelty songs but these are no "chipmunks-songs," they are all rock 'n roll. If you like your rock n' roll a little garage, a little rough around the edges but all done with passion and a great driving beat - you will want this CD!
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
HALL OF FAMEon November 25, 2003
Now, this is my kinda holiday album, a scrappy little set of desperate-for-a-hit '50s/'60s rock, surf, hillbilly and rockabilly artists with a slew of tunes that nobody has ever heard of...!  Little Joey Farr, Cathy Sharpe, Charlie Stewart, Lillian Briggs, The Uniques. etc. and a lot of sloppy, dopey novelty tunes, often with charmingly sub-par performances. Can't be beat. For some reason there are a bunch of prepubecent child artists on this one... Maybe there was a big vogue in paying to have your kid "cut" a record, back in the Elvis era. Recommended!
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 11, 2014
True Old 50s Rock and a new twist on Xmas favorites! Enjoyed all of the guitar action! Thanks
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 8, 2013
This CD makes my legs move and I almost knocked over my tree!! As good as it gets for great Christmas
rockabilly. Some obscure cats banging it out for your yuletide pleasure. YES!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here