Buy New
& FREE Shipping. Details
Only 2 left in stock (more on the way).
Ships from and sold by Gift-wrap available.
Romanza has been added to your Cart
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon


5.0 out of 5 stars 1 customer review

See all 3 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
New from Used from
Audio CD, October 1, 2013

3 months for $0.99. Limited time only. Renews automatically.
Sign up

Editorial Reviews


"Cohler plays with a gorgeous sense of legato, and pianist Rasa Vitkauskaite is well-attuned to Schumann's idiom..Cohler's playing is exemplary his control, phrasing, and technique are faultless..

Cohler plays with a vibrant, supple sound colored by a light vibrato and reminiscent of that of the late Harold Wright not surprising, since Wright was Principal Clarinet of the Boston Symphony when Cohler was a student in Boston, and in fact was one of his teachers. He plays with complete technical command.

I must mention the 36-page booklet that accompanies this CD. Normally I feel about an artist who writes his own program notes the way Lincoln did about a lawyer who represented himself, but Cohler (and, for Guastavino, Vitkauskaite) provides extraordinarily detailed and well-researched notes that go well beyond the basics...The sound of the CD, as we have come to expect from Ongaku, is an ideal balance of presence and ambience. In his various capacities as transcriber, performer, annotator, and producer, this project is a great credit to the talents of Jonathan Cohler. Recommended." --Fanfare, Richard A. Kaplan

Track Listings

Disc: 1

  1. Sonata No. 1 in A Minor, Op. 105: I. Mit leidenschaftlichem Ausdruck
  2. Sonata No. 1 in A Minor, Op. 105: II. Allegretto
  3. Sonata No. 1 in A Minor, Op. 105: III. Lebhaft
  4. Three Romances, Op. 94: I. Nicht schnell
  5. Three Romances, Op. 94: II. Einfach, innig
  6. Three Romances, Op. 94: III. Nicht schnell
  7. Sonata in D Major, Op. 94: I. Andantino
  8. Sonata in D Major, Op. 94: II. Scherzo: Allegretto scherzando
  9. Sonata in D Major, Op. 94: III. Andante
  10. Sonata in D Major, Op. 94: IV. Allegro con brio
  11. Tonada y Cueca: I. Tonada: Sostenuto
  12. Tonada y Cueca: II. Cueca: Allegro molto ritmico
  13. Las Presencias Nº 7. "Rosita Iglesias"

Product details

  • Performer: Jonathan Cohler, Rasa Vitkauskaite
  • Composer: Robert Schumann, Sergei Prokofiev, Carlos Guastavino
  • Audio CD (October 1, 2013)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Label: Ongaku Records
  • Average Customer Review: 5.0 out of 5 stars 1 customer review
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #824,676 in CDs & Vinyl (See Top 100 in CDs & Vinyl)
  • Would you like to tell us about a lower price?
    If you are a seller for this product, would you like to suggest updates through seller support?

1 customer review

5.0 out of 5 stars

Review this product

Share your thoughts with other customers

Showing 1-1 of 1 reviews

November 11, 2016
Format: Audio CD
One person found this helpful
Comment Report abuse

Set up an Amazon Giveaway

Amazon Giveaway allows you to run promotional giveaways in order to create buzz, reward your audience, and attract new followers and customers. Learn more about Amazon Giveaway
This item: Romanza