Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Wickedly Prime Handmade Wedding Rustic Decor Shop Popular Services  Introducing Echo Show All-New Fire HD 8, starting at $79.99 Kindle Oasis Trade it in. Fund the next. Water Sports STEMClubToys17_gno


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 19 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 25 reviews
on February 2, 2013
I had some of these video recordings previously on boots that eventually deteriorated in play ability. This collection is professionally done and much cleaner. Rory in my liking is one of 2 or 3 guitarists that are the best (and I like a lot of really ace axemen), and live was positively electrifying. He'd always give 120% no matter if he was playing for 30 or 30,000. The Rockpalast concerts are among his best (however I also recommend the "Live at Montreaux" video recordings as well). If you like great blues/rock guitar, and from a person not overly in love with himself, then you owe it to yourself to get this collection. You won't be dissapointed.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 22, 2014
Jimi Hendrix was reputed to have said, when asked who was the greatest guitarist said: "Ask Rory Gallagher". 'LIVE AT ROCKPALAST' will set back your budget a bit, but this is your opportunity to find out more to answer that question. As Rory fans know the 1970's were the best of this remarkable musician. DVD #1 shows Rory at the height of his powers (1976 and 1977 shows). Alcohol and the the aging process began to wear Rory down in the 1980's. It took unbelievable energy to be the center of his sound. Sadly, a Rory is shown late in his career in 1990 on DVD #3 (he passed on in 1995). This package includes 2 concerts and 2 jam sessions from 1979 and 1982. This was a purchase that I was glad to have made, and I hope all aspiring guitarists will decide to make.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 24, 2010
Even though I never had the chance to see Rory live This DVD gives a good picture of what Rory was like. The energy he displayed during these performances was tremendous. The "Jam Session" portions were especially revealing. Rory's fan interaction was second to none. He was happy to shake fans hands, while he was playing. He was not one of the current crop that thinks they're God's gift to their fans, shunning the very fans that ensure their lifestyle. Rory engaged his fans, making them part of the performance. Rory showed a good stage presence, and had great music, and this showed him at his best, and showed him at times when he off, but it showed Rory.

The sound quality of these shows was good for the day. And the modern technology used to adjust the sound quality made this by far the best Rory Gallagher video collection yet. The video portion was great. It was shot at various angles and was the highest quality of any of Rory's video that is available today. On top of everything else, just like Rory himself, these were produced with the fans in mind. Instead of getting 35 minutes of video for too much money, you get around ten hours of Rory for an extremely reasonable price.

These shows make me feel like I have an insight to Rory that I would not have been able to from just a concert alone. If you've been fortunate enough to see Rory in concert you will enjoy these tremendously. I you have not, You will have seen him after viewing these. And if you don't know who Rory was, you will get to see not only one of the Greatest guitar players in history in action, but one of the great entertainers.

This collection is a must have for the Rory fan and the guitar fan alike. Don't miss out on this. Get your copy now and see why Rory is considered one of the greats.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 20, 2009
I guess I was a little spoiled, having watched and listened to the fabulous "Live at Montreaux" DVD before this one. Here, Rory and his band are as good as ever, however, the sound quality, especially on the first DVD, is compressed and sounds "bootleggish". Also, this German TV announcer breaks into the concert every now and then, with this inane and very annoying chatter. Those quibbles aside, this is fine stuff that encompasses the time period 1976 - 1990. Highly recommended.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 18, 2008
Absolutely amazing. Again Rory at his finest. Absolutely a must have for any Rory fan. I own all of his concert dvd's and this 3 disc set covering 5 appearances. The humbleness of this guitar Master brings you right down to earth. I espically enjoy the 2 jam session gigs on disc 2. I won't spoil it, you will just have to watch it your self. I know it has been said of others but where would his music be today had we not lost him at such a young age and definately in his prime. ROCK ON RORY, YOU'RE FOREVER IN MY HEART.I just wish I could touch that old Fender, once.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 9, 2012
These are some truly classic Rory Gallagher recordings starting early in his career and progressing as he ages. Some of the recordings are in a studio audiance format and some are in concert venues.All the performances are great the only comlaint I have is some of the performances are interupted by the tv host breaking in to tell you what is coming up. Rory is one of the best guitarist (blues and rock) you could have seen. His life was too short. So enjoy these recordings.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 23, 2008
Any one who knows the name, will jump at the chance of seeing Rory on stage once again. In a world of "American Idol," created self importance, to remember a time when a musician learned his craft, on the back roads, and small dives, around the world, will enjoy watching a master, playing his music, because of love and passion, and not for the fame and celebrity. The discs are filled with Rory`s energy, spirit, and most of all amazing musical talent. Even the interviews, make me smile, and most of all, remind me how much we lost, when Rory left us. Love music, buy this package !
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 8, 2008
Have been a big fan of Rory's since the early days of Taste. This DVD is a Great Tribute to the musicians of yesteryear. Today everything is so commercial hardly anyone creates music that is Great, song after song. There is not a bad song to be found on this collection. I personally liked the begining and last shows on the DVD the most. If you like Stevie Ray, Alvin Lee, Jimmie Page you will not be dissapointed. I never really new Rory as an acoustic player, where he is equally Fantastic. Very intimate sets, with pretty good sound for the time.
Enjoy!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 18, 2014
Rory was one of the best guitarists, if not THE best on the planet! He put his heart and soul into everything he did.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 31, 2016
enjoyed it very much.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse



Need customer service? Click here