Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: My Rotten Redheaded Older Brother (Aladdin Picture Books)
Your Garage Up to 80 Percent Off Textbooks Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Happy Belly Snacks Totes Summer-Event-Garden Amazon Cash Back Offer ElvisandNixon ElvisandNixon ElvisandNixon  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis Shop Now STEM

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
66
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$6.59+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on March 11, 2003
A great book that shows the relationships between brothers and sisters, both good and bad. The author Patricia Polacco writes about her and her own brother and how she had always wanted to beat him at some thing. Trying as hard as she can, she fails every time, until one day she wishes upon a star, and her relationship with her brother changes forever.
This book has unique and colorful illustrations that help to show the sibling rivalry between Patricia and her brother. A must read for sibling of any age, and even adults who haven't spoken to their brothers or sisters in a long time.
by Jordan Miller
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 2, 2008
There is an older brother and a girl who live with their grand parents. Babushka the grandma tells great stories. The older brother is mean to his sister when Babushka is not there. Older brother thinks he can do everything better den his sister. The older brother can get more berries than his sister. The sister said she can chew more sour rhubarb than the brother. He brother likes the rhubarb and the older brother still beats her. The girl sees a shooting star. She wishes to do anything better than her brother. The carnival comes to town. The older brother says that he can eat more hot dogs. The girl rode the merry go round even after her brother got off. The girl fell down. Her brother took her ton the bed. The girl woke up. Everyone was worried. The girl had fallen off the merry go round. Her brother had carried her home. She said "Thank you." The older brother and the sister felt happy. They were friends. I liked this book because the boy is mean but after he is nice.

By Jujay
11 comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 6, 2003
This story, based on Polacco's on experiences as a child, tells how Tricia's older brother does everything faster and better than she can, but soon she discovers that brothers aren't so bad after all, at least sometimes. The pencil and marker cut-out illustrations show Polacco's expertise with the media, highlighting the expressions on the characters' faces and giving a glimpse as to the lengths young Tricia will go to try and best her brother. This autobiographical story looks at one facet of Polacco's life, one that most children can relate to and understand, that is, if they have rotten older siblings like Tricia's.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 25, 2000
My daughter is a Patricia Polacco fan. She has read almost all the books Patricia Polacco has ever written. Rotten Red-Headed Older Brother is one of her favorites. Everyone can relate to a mean older sibling. Best of all, the book is based on the author's real brother.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 26, 2014
This is a delightful book about a sister telling about how annoying her brother is.
The reader can really 'feel' the character and voice of the sister throughout the book.
The brother repeats a phrase that makes his personality jump right off the page!
There is a surprising pivotal point in the story where the sister comes to appreciate her sibling.
The pictures not only illustrate the text, but also show things going on in addition to what is written.
This is a perfect book for enjoyment for 2nd and 3rd graders. An excellent mentor text for grades 3 - 5,
in that Patricia Polacco does some very interesting things within the text such as illustration of a complaint
by the sister by using a conversation between herself and her brother.
This is a book not to be missed!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 21, 2009
I liked this book because it also reminds me of my brother. He also think he's is better than me. He use to call me names and tease me. One day I beat him at a jump rope. The contest was who could jump the longest. That's why I gave this book a five. I would recommend this book to other children.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 21, 2009
I liked this book because it was funny. I liked it when Patricia rode the carousel the longest. It is a kind of a long book. I recommend this book to 1st, 2nd, or 3rd graders. Everyone would like the pictures but the words would be hard.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 21, 2014
My daughter loves this story. We homeschool and this book is on our reading list. The great part is that the SAG Foundation (http://www.storylineonline.net/) has certain actors/actress read certain stories. My little one can follow along w/ the book as they read. I believe Melissa Gilbert reads this story. Check out the site, very cool.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 18, 2014
Kids like the book. Although, on the Kindle app on iPad, we could not figure out how to access the audio, which is what the kids wanted to be able to hear and follow along when mom and dad aren't around to read to them.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 19, 2007
I loved this book! It was hilarious! Trisha has a very mean older brother named Richard. Richard could do everything better than Trisha. He could: sit the longest, burp the loudest, get the dirtiest, run the fastest, climb the highest, and throw the farthest. Trisha was so angry! She wanted to be better at something than Richard. When she saw a shooting star she wished for something she could do better.

Her wish comes true-but you'll have to read the book to find out how!

Patricia Palacco is a great story teller. Sometimes she writes funny books and sometimes she writes sad and thoughtful books. All of her books are great!

by Rachel from Stockbridge Central School.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

$4.15

Need customer service? Click here