Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Wickedly Prime Handmade Wedding Rustic Decor Book House Cleaning TheTick TheTick TheTick  Introducing Echo Show All-New Fire HD 8 Kids Edition, starting at $129.99 Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Water Sports toystl17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 2,025 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 3,979 reviews
on August 7, 2015
Blade Runner on Blu-ray is fantastic. With the Final Cut, and the earlier versions of this Sci-Fi classic, all in gorgeous Blue-ray picture and sound, Blade Runner is the perfect movie, and is the very best film adaptation ever done of a Philip K. Dick book.
The extras disc has some great interviews and much that will fascinate the Blade Runner lover or anyone interested in how a great film is made... And the enclosed booklet of images and production art makes for a wonderful package, especially as the Amazon price makes this all a super bargain and thus a 'must own' purchase for all Blade Runner fans... and anyone that loves a great Science Fiction classic movie.
Though the Final Cut DVD did look good on my Blu-ray player, I am very, very happy to now have this Blu-ray 30th Anniversary Collector's set! I am truly in Blade Runner 'heaven' now... A big Thank-You! to Ridley Scott and the team that put the Final Cut together... and another Thank-You! to Amazon...
11 comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 17, 2015
I saw the first release of Blade Runner in the theaters before the directors cut. When it first came out some years later on VHS I bought it but I was disappointed that the voice over had been removed.
While that may not have been Ridley Scotts artistic vision I felt like it added something to the movie that the directors cut lacked and that is the essence of the old film noir detective movies from the 30s and 40s. I missed that atmosphere and am glad now that I can enjoy the film in it's originally released form.
I will say that after watching the special features and documentaries I am more sympathetic to the directors cut. I think though it could be improved by adding some (not all) of the deleted scenes as they provide the atmosphere that is missing without the narrative track.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 14, 2015
I had seen Blade Runner many times way in the past. After seeing the Director's cut recently I was moved to buy a copy for myself. I chose this four disc version for a more than reasonable price and was absolutely blown away by the Final Cut. The original version on steroids, meticulously restored. I was particulary moved by the sound quality. I have Bose speakers and it sounds just beautiful. For those who don't have blue ray capability, like myself, this is a wonderful choice. One thing to note: on disc four there is a special feature discussion on whether Deckard is a replicant with some very intelligent observations on both sides. I prefer Deckard as human, myself, but it is really a personal choice. I like this idea because I find the thought of a replicant/human relationship to be very intriguing. This four disc set also provides hours and hours and hours of viewing pleasure! If Blade Runner isn't the finest film ever made, it is damn close!
22 comments| 48 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon December 20, 2013
I have been a fan of Blade Runner since it first came out; I have always been both intrigued and repulsed by the world of Blade Runner which has exercised a fascination over my imagination that will probably never let go. Every so often I have to revisit that world and watch each time with renewed interest as the story unfolds.

The movie is based on a novel by Philip K. Dick called, "Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep?" In this case I found I actually enjoyed the movie more than the book.

Were I to guess I would say that most people could be divided into one of two groups, those that are intrigued and repulsed and those that are only repulsed; if you've seen the movie before you probably already know which group is your group. I'll address my comments to the former group and those who have never seen the movie.

If you've never seen the movie and you're a devoted science fiction fan then you'll likely be part of the first group; if you’re not a science fiction fan then the jury is out on you.

This collection is, to the best of my knowledge, the ultimate collection for the Blade Runner fan; the collection includes Disc 1, "The Final Cut (2007), Disc 2, Original Theatrical Cut (1982), International Theatrical Cut (1982) and the Directors Cut (1991), Disc 3 includes "Workprint and Special Features"

Also included are 40 pages of assorted sketches, art work and photos of the making of the movie and scenes from the movie. I bought this version in spite of the fact I have two previous versions on Laser Disc and one on DVD; I guess that sort of marks me off as a fan of the movie.

If you're a fan of science fiction and you've never seen this movie, then you have a real treat in store; I encourage you to go ahead and get this version which has so much to offer. If you've got an earlier version, well I can say to you I'm really glad I added this one to my collection and suspect you'll be glad you did if you decide to take the plunge and buy another copy for your collection.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 13, 2015
This 3 disc blu Ray includes all of the content from the 5 disc version released a few years earlier. The extras discs of the previous version were on DVD, and this edition puts them all on 1 blu Ray. The extras are not upgraded to high definition though, they are in standard definition like the DVDs were.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 21, 2014
Roy Batty: "I've seen things you people wouldn't believe. Attack ships on fire off the shoulder of Orion. I've watched C-beams glitter in the dark near the Tannhauser gate. All those moments will be lost in time... like tears in the rain..." This 1982 production was Ridley Scott's first film (this third overall) after his breakout film, "Alien" in 1979. Taking a break from his Han Solo and Indiana Jones roles, Harrison Ford is perfect as the Blade Runner, Rick Deckard; and Rutger Hauer costars as the chief Replicant...it was his favorite role and probably his best. The film depicts a dystopian Los Angeles in 2019 in which genetically engineered Replicants (visually indistinguishable from adult humans), are manufactured by the powerful Tyrell Corporation. Their use on Earth is banned and Replicants are exclusively used for dangerous, menial, or leisure work on off-world colonies. Six Replicants have defied the ban and returned to Earth in an attempt to extend their short life spans. They are hunted down and "retired" by special police operatives known as Blade Runners. The plot focuses on the escaped replicants led by Roy Batty (Hauer) and the burnt-out expert Blade Runner, Rick Deckard (Ford) who reluctantly agrees to take on one more assignment to hunt them down. This is a sci/fi actioner, with awesome special effects (especially for 1982) but on many levels it is indebted to film noir conventions...the femme fatale, rainy atmospherics, dark and shadowy cinematography; and the questionable moral outlook of the hero. Speaking of special effects, my favorite is the "Spinner", the term for the flying cars used in the film, primarily by law enforcement personnel...they can be used as a ground based vehicle or a flying VTOL vehicle. In addition to Ford and Hauer, look for Sean Young, Edward James Olmos, and Daryl Hannah in key support roles. Among the best of Ridley Scott's work, it is among my favorite sci/fi films!
0Comment| 42 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 17, 2017
Decided to rent it since the sequel is coming up. The overall plot idea is cool and the movie has some cool visuals, but the character development is pretty shallow. The main conflict isn't super developed either and leaves you wondering about some parts of the plot. There's also some weird moments where you wonder if someone's fetish made it into the movie (Like, it gets pretty weird). I can see why some people like the movie; The visual story telling, sci-fi noir theme, and the overall concept are pretty cool. But it's also easy to see why some people hate it; The plot is stiff, its slow moving, and there are some questionable filmmaking decisions. So it gets an OK from me. Not a 'must see', but interesting.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 11, 2017
Do Androids Dream Of Electric Sheep? (1968) ...is a cultish favorite Philip K. Dick novel which young Sci-Fi aficionado's such as I went scrambling to unearth after we were mesmerized by his classic masterpiece The Man In The High Castle, the novel which brought him legions of fans. Philip was an unusual writer with an ability to write both in a very literary style and yet come across in a very contemporary ease. He was also a unique thinker in science fiction stories, being able to plow new troughs instead of retreading old worn out paths like most pulp novelists of the time were doing. This is still a fact today and yet amazingly enough, new readers of Dick's stories will find fresh ideas that were written in the 60's. The movie The Adjustment Bureau is a fine example of an old science fiction tale (The Adjustment Team) by Dick which is novel and intriguing in the 21st Century. This is probably a main reason his works are now coming to film and TV in abundance (Next, Total Recall, Minority Report, A Scanner Darkly, Screamers, The Adjustment Bureau, and now on Amazon TV, The Man In The High Castle). In 1981, Ridley Scott was making a new epic based on a relatively unknown (by public standards in 1981) sci-fi authors story!

So BLADE RUNNER had audience appeal as a spectacle film to the some audience theater goers, but to geeky Sci-Fi fans and not-so-geeky movie fans in general, it developed a near cult status over a period of just a decade following its theatrical release. It was not that successful on initial release because Indiana Jones now looked like a depressed Philip Marlowe and the Film Noir narration was seriously lacking even though the dystopian color affected a Film Noir feeling. The cinematic style was a huge leap far and above the actual plot and script, so you had a gorgeous film with rather weak main character delivery. If you are new to Blade Runner you may want to skip the Theatrical Version of the movie right away and save it for later viewing. The film went through several incarnations thanks to some interesting theaters that began showing "Road Show" prints of the film a decade after its initial run, these somewhat rare vault copies energized new interest in the film and what we got resulted in a 1992 "Directors Cut" without the tough guy voice over and without the "happy ending" (it in fact more closely resembles the original Dick story). Also included in this set is a 1982 "International" version which played mainly in Europe and had extended scenes to the Theatrical version.

The main draw here is 25th Anniversary "Final Cut" assembled by Ridley Scott and which is so superior in so many ways to any other version that it makes Blade Runner into a wholly new and absolutely perfect film. Now Harrison Ford seems to fit better and more interesting than before (or maybe it just is a matter of age and the era in which we live, post-911).

There are featurettes in abundance on the 4th disc (The Enhancement Archive), if you are a Sci-Fi geek somewhere on a par with Sheldon Cooper, this will be your pee-in-your-pants bonus disc, but even if you are not, Dek-A-Rep and the two about the novel and the author are very interesting to watch and highly recommended.

The Final Cut took over 10 years to complete by Ridley Scott and one can see how painstakingly meticulous he paid attention to detail, especially if you have the gumption to watch it back to back against the Theatrical version.

Without spoilers, when watching this film, you will find subtly a treatise on what it means to be human and what it means to have a personal identity, in a rough way it ponders (not nearly as well as) the same questions brought up in Steven Spielberg/Stanley Kubrick's classic AI, Artificial Intelligence.

Blade Runner had to work really hard to become a "classic", but when one considers the director and his many masterpieces delivered over the years (still going strong by finishing up the Alien series with finality and about to embark on making Justin Cronin's PASSAGE trilogy into three films), one has to give a big nod to this as a real work of cinematic art and Ridley Scott is truly one of the best directors of modern times.

I purchased this over 7 years ago and have managed to watch everything on the four discs at least once, and the Final Cut about once a year, the other versions at least twice each in that time, so entertainment value versus price is premium!
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 27, 2014
Wow… All 5 versions of “Blade Runner” all in one place! Although I primarily bought it for the purpose of having The Final Cut on Blu-ray, everything else is just icing on the cake. And it’s cool to show off to your friends and family who dig sci-fi. It looks marvelous in high-definition as well. I love the concept of this story. Deckard may remember passing the Voight-Kampff, but was that memory implanted…?... You may believe in your reality, but is that “belief” real? Philip K. Dick is masterful at presenting these questions through stories, and this movie is a masterful representation of the story.
If you like Philip K. Dick stories, Ridley Scott movies, or just generally a fan of sci-fi, then you better pick this up before your fellow nerds realize you haven’t seen it yet.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 5, 2014
Answer: This movie, appearing on every list of not only the greatest science-fiction films of all time, but the best movies ever made. "Blade Runner" is a movie that you have to not only see, but own, because it's one of the few monumental American classics, along with "Casablanca", "It's a Wonderful Life", "The Third Man", "Vertigo" and "The Godfather", that gets better by age. Like most of these movies, "Blade Runner" was a critical and commercial bomb, ludicrously dismissed as style over substance, for lacking a coherent story and for its one-dimensional human characters. Seen today, in a time of economic recession, class division and the state's utter disregard to come in human terms, "Blade Runner" feels more modern and relevant than ever.

Why is "Blade Runner" one of the greatest movies of all time? I could write a lengthy review describing the movie's greatness, but I'll do the movie greater service by listing the reasons:

1.) It's a simple story, brilliantly told, tightly paced and superbly directed. A retired police officer is forced by the police state to hunt down (or "retire") a group of bio-engineered cyborgs called Replicants. Under Ridley Scott's tight direction, the movie is a gripping experience as we see the main character struggle to fulfill his obligations and survive. The opening sequence where Leon is interrogated as rather or not he's a Replicant and the scenes where Deckard is pursuing Pris in a room cluttered with mannequins are as suspenseful as the best of Hitchcock.

2.) The acting is utterly terrific. Harrison Ford probably gave the greatest performance of his career as the replicant hunter Deckard. Ford hated the movie and called it a miserable experience, yet in some ways, this helped add greater depth to his character, as we see Deckard's anguish, frustration and anger simmering throughout the movie. Sean Young is outstanding as the Replicant assistant Rachael and her scenes with Deckard, where he tries to teach her about love in his apartment, have an emotional intensity barely found in other sci-fi movies. Darryl Hannah made a huge impression as the lonely and tragic Pris and Edward James Olmos provides comic relief as the officer Gaff, who raises an ambiguous question at the end that still resonates to this day. But the highest acting honor, of course, belongs to Rutger Hauer, as Roy Batty, the movie's main antagonist. Subtle yet dangerous, a menace to society yet one with tragic grandeur, Hauer's Batty may rank as one of the greatest and most memorable villains in movie history.

3.) "Blade Runner" successfully continues the tradition that has defined science-fiction movies in decades, in that it presents the central theme that the most humane characters are in the fact the most inhuman. Despite their supposed lack of humanity, Roy Batty and Pris are arguably the most sympathetic characters in movie, primarily because they are outcasts who refuse to blend in to an oppressive society (see below). In fact, the general complaint about "Blade Runner" when it was released was that the replicants were more interesting than the hero, when that was precisely the point. There's a disturbing sequence where Deckard is hunting down a female replicant and instead of having the audience root for him, the movie defies conventions and has us hoping that the replicant escapes (there's even a hint in the movie's finale that Deckard himself may be a replicant). At the end, when Batty chooses his fate, you feel a great sense of sadness for this inhuman yet paradoxically humane character.

4.) No other movie, not even "2001" or "Metropolis", captures the feeling of being displaced, oppressed and and dehumanized in an oppressive society. One of the biggest reasons for the movie's initial failure was that it presented such a dark vision of a world where privacy is lacking, noise is abundant and commercialism runs rampant throughout the city. The sets, outfits, the insufferable rain and the cluttering masses on the street create a feeling of powerlessness, a feeling that prevents people from having the free will to be themselves. Deckard is a perfect example of that, as he is powerless towards a quasi-fascist police state that determines his fate or he will be part of the "little people". The movie is, for all its futuristic technology, is an expressive drama.

5.) "Blade Runner" has one of the best musical scores ever made. Composed by "Chariots of Fire" conductor Vangelis, the music is a groundbreaking merge of futuristic synthesizers, organic compositions and even an element of jazz, as seen in the beloved "Love Theme", with its beautiful saxophone solo. You can listen to this music without seeing the film and imagine the whole movie in your head.

6.) "Blade Runner" seems more relevant and prophetic today than it was released in 1982. Critics and moviegoers were taken back by seeing such dark, dreary vision, a vision where the rich care so little about the poor that they form a hostile, miserable ghetto. Yet walk down the inner slums of any city, from Los Angeles in early 1990s and Moscow to Tokyo and that vision is there before our eyes. Technology, which was supposedly man's gift to preserve humanity, has slowly overtaken our human traits, making us cold, mechanical and increasingly dependent on machinery.

And yet...

7.) The movie, despite its darkness, ends with a suggestion of hope. When Batty spares Deckard's life and delivers that immortal monologue which has earned its place in cinema, this scene suggests a promising hope in the future: that machines and human, instead of striving to dominate the other, can live side-by-side in harmony. This is not a hippie message, but a heartfelt plea for everyone in diverse groups to coexist and accept one another.

"Blade Runner" is one of the American cinema's most towering achievements and an institution for every science-fiction entity that has come afterwards, from "The Matrix" and "Dark City" to "Ghost in the Shell" and "Cowboy Bebop", from the fantastical adventures by Hayao Miyazaki, to the grim, political fables by Guillermo Del Toro and Alfonso Cuaron. Even "The Fifth Element", in some ways, plays like a sunny, cartoony alternative to this grim classic. It is essential that you watch "Blade Runner", even if you don't like it (which is highly doubtful). If you even think of starting a Blu-Ray/DVD collection without it, then you are simply just one of the "little people".

Strongest recommendation to steal at all costs.

P.S. Like many great movies, "Blade Runner" has come out in a variety of editions, each of them a worthy purchase. There was a five-disc ultimate collector's edition that came out on both DVD and Blu-Ray. That is currently out of print. In its place, there was 30th anniversary edition released in two box sets: a multi-format version (with that memorable Asian face on the front cover) and a three-disc set released with only Blu-Rays (that's the one with the unicorn on the front cover). Either version you watch is fine, but if you just want the Blu-Rays in an affordable set, go with the three-disc set. Besides nearly a dozen hours of supplements, the picture and audio qualities are excellent. Since "Blade Runner" is an intensely visual experience, it is highly recommended that you watch it on a big screen and with big speakers. As the saying goes, the bigger, the better...in everything.
33 comments| 28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse