Industrial Deals Beauty Summer Reading STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Wickedly Prime Handmade Wedding Shop Shop Popular Services _fof _fof _fof  Introducing Echo Show All-New Fire 7 Kids Edition, starting at $99.99 Kindle Oasis Shop Now STEMClub17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 25 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 54 reviews
on April 29, 2017
Ever since I have been reading all 28 manga volumes of Rurouni Kenshin and watched 2 seasons of Rurouni Kenshin on Toonami and as well as borrowed single individual volumes on dvd at my local library and now ever since I have looked back at owning my first dvd box set of my first season complete dvd set of Rurouni Kenshin which is the Wandering Samurai arc and now I have finally now owned the complete season two dvd box set of Rurouni Kenshin which is basically known as the Legends of Kyoto arc which I don't have back then but now I have finally owned it on my anime dvd collection library as part of my anime library and surprisingly both first two seasons of Rurouni Kenshin which is Wandering Samurai arc and Legends of Kyoto arc we're originally both aired on Toonami which it was originally on Cartoon Network but too bad that they didn't air the third and final season of Rurouni Kenshin which is the Tales of the Meiji arc on Toonami on Cartoon Network due to the Home video releases of Rurouni Kenshin Tales of the Meiji arc which is the third and final season of Rurouni Kenshin on both DVD and VHS releases which the VHS releases of have both English dubbed versions and the original Japanese Dub with English subtitled versions from Media Blasters entertainment.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 30, 2014
What this product is:

Rurouni Kenshin Season 2 Media Blaster Dub (The better of the 2 english dubs)

Physical condition of product:

I am a huge fan of the Rurouni Kenshin series. I have all 28 manga and all Samurai X movies. I have season 1 and 3, and now season 2 as well. The issue I have is that the condition of both the DVD set case and the last DVD in the set were poor. Now, I know issues can occur during shipping, but this is obviously not from shipping. The plastic on the front of the case was pealing off, and the disc on the inside was scratched. Luckily it still plays. Had it not played I would have asked for a refund. I didn't spend 130 bucks for a product in poor condition. I would buy this product from another seller if possible. If not, be warned that you may end up with something in poor condition.

Content:

Now as for the content, this is the best season of Rurouni Kenshin, hands down! If you have never seen it, you are in for a real treat! This is why I love this anime! The fights are amazing and the storyline is great! If you have read the manga series, it follows vol. 7 - vol. 17 (roughly give or take). The soundtrack is amazing and the voice acting is some of the best I have ever seen in anime.

Final Verdict:

Great product, just poor condition of packaging and last disc. I would say find another seller, but if this is the only seller you can find, I say go for it. Rurouni Kenshin is the best anime I have ever seen, and it's well worth the money.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 5, 2008
Season Two is much better than Season One, which was good, but two involves more action, intrigue and adventure. I think this series is appropriate for older children, although there are people killed by swords, and blood appears in a cartoony way, but it teaches good morals and offers lessons in being strong and kind. (You don't get much morality in modern American cartoons...) If you like classic samurai movies, you will like this. It's quite thoughtful. But be careful where and how you buy this multi-dvd set, because mine largely fell out of the case when opened, and won't fix on their little holders, and two out of eight so far either won't play or are a struggle and freeze up. It's worth any difficulty though. I'm going to buy it again until I get a workable set! Very bad production quality on this!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 6, 2010
There are already a number of reviews here praising the Kyoto arc of Rurouni Kenshin, so I'm not going to dwell on how great this arc is. It is visually stunning, emotional, and supplies some of the greatest antagonists of any anime. It should serve as an example to compare all other swordsman titles to. That said, the dvd set itself could have been better.

The Extras in this set are pretty lackluster. You get translation notes for some of the historical Japanese terminology, creditless OP/ED, and a blooper reel. The blooper reel isn't nearly as fun as the ones that ADV typically puts out. It's just a lot of scenes where the dub cast flubbed their lines. Not that entertaining, though hearing "Jigen" stumble all over while trying to say "Ama-Kakeru-Ryu-No-Hirameki" is pretty entertaining.

Speaking of the dub voice cast. Eh, I'm not incredibly impressed with the dub of this series. It feels pretty phoned in at times. The Japanese cast really conveyed great emotion through their voices that the English cast just didn't replicate all that well.

Another thing to note is that the "Sobakasu" opening is used and not the translated "Freckles" song.

Video is crisp and clear. The translation is pretty decent. They definitely tamed the profane language a bit. Chou's swearing doesn't come across in the subtitles at all, for instance. I personally dislike "de gozaru" being translated into "that I know." There just isn't a logical way to take a manner of speaking ("de gozaimasu" being a masculine phrase commonly used by samurai) like that and translate it into something in English, so just leave well enough alone. It's like taking someone who refers to themselves with "Ore" and saying "I, punk so and so...." It just does not translate period.

But I digress, this is just a small complaint. I suggest that everyone picks up this series on dvd. It's worth it just to see the animation with such crisp quality.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 4, 2010
If You have seen Samurai x You'll love this action packed season of rurouni Kenshin. I have seen Samurai x and urouni Kenshin season one this second season was excellent the show just keeps getting better!...I definitely recommend this series to any one who is looking for an anime based on post samurai days after the revolution. This series is one of the best i've seen! Full of values and morals.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 7, 2017
Mini box case was intact. Every DVD was scratched and well used. Haven't got the season before it and don't know if they will play without fail, right now I am a little disappointed, let's hope they work. Stay tuned!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 14, 2014
this show is amazing and who had cool fighting scenes, a lot of wisdom in each episodes, and lastly humor.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 20, 2005
The only way to describe this anime is "WOW!" A perfect blend of action, comedy, romance, and sadness. This anime is a perfect choice for anyone who likes action or samuai epics. From the first episode with the blood soaked streets of Kyoto to the last with the cherry blossom leaf filled air of tokyo this is a FANTASTIC anime. The animation in the fight seens are unbelievable(especialy between Kenshin and Saito). The origional Japanese dialoge is great and the english dub is pretty good too. The very ,VERY few flaws with this anime are easly overlooked by how great this anime is, once again if you like action anime or samurai epics GET THIS SERIES.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 31, 2005
I finally got around to purchasing and watching Rurouni Kenshin: The Legend of Kyoto. I was expecting it to be as good as the first set (Wandering Samurai) but I got a whole lot more than I bargined for. The "Legend of Kyoto" set is superb! The english voice cast was wonderful! The voice actors that were particularly impressive include Richard Hayworth as Kenshin (Fantastic job! This man has talent!), David Lucas as Mokoto Shishio (Beautifully performed! He really makes you want to hate him by the end of the series.), Sparky Thornton as Hajime Saito (Very well done! The "Wolf of Mibu" indeed!) and of course, one of the best known english voice actors in anime, Wendee Lee as Yumi (She's a seasoned pro. Nothing short of excellence in her performance.)

In these episodes much is revealed about Kenshin's past, as well as that of many of the other central characters that will appear in this series. The character development is excellent. There is no useless information, and it never becomes dull or confusing. The animation is beautiful, and the swordfight scenes are executed magnificently. There are no repeating frames or sloppy drawings in any of the battles. The music is wonderful and helps to emphasize many of the intense moments in the "Kyoto" series. I especially adore the opening theme "Half" by Makoto Kawamoto, and I love the closing themes, "Heart of the Sword - Before Daybreak" performed by L'Arc-en-Ciel, and "Let it Rain" by Bonnie Pink. And finally there is the story.

Kenshin Himura, commonly known as "Battousai: The Manslayer," was the strongest fighter in the Revolution 10 years ago. But since then he has opened his eyes to the sins of his past and decided to become a wanderer, never to kill again. He is now a kind, gentle, wise, and sometimes goofy, young man who always captures the hearts of the people he aids. Instead, he uses his unique reverse-blade sword to protect his loved ones and anyone who is in need of protection.

In the "Legend of Kyoto" series Kenshin is asked by one of the top men in the Meiji government to go to Kyoto and stop Makoto Shishio from trying to take over Japan. This is no simple task because Shishio, like Kenshin, was also a Manslayer. In fact, Shishio inherited the title from Kenshin after he became a wanderer. Kenshin makes the most painful decision of his life and leaves his friends and his new home to go back to Kyoto, the place where he became a manslayer. Kenshin joins forces with ultra-cool, and equally dangerous Hajime Saito, who now works for the police force, but was once a manslayer of skill equal to that of Kenshin. However, Kenshin's friends are not about to sit idly by and watch their beloved friend go to Kyoto and fight alone. Kaoru, Sanosuke and Yahiko will all travel to Kyoto to help Kenshin.

Aoshi Shinamori, an old rival and leader of the Oniwaban group returns with a vengence seeking a rematch with Kenshin, and the remaining members of the Oniwaban group are met by Kenshin and his friends in Kyoto. Also, Shishio has a lethal group of warriors known as the Juppongatana who each have their own reasons for working with Shishio. And finally, we get to see the man responsible for training Kenshin in the Hitten Mitsurugi Ryu, Seijuro Hiko the 13th (My favourite character. I love this guy!). Hiko is a tall, handsome, menacing-looking man with unmatched skill and knowledge in the Hitten Mitsurugi Ryu. He is very wise, intelligent, and incredibly arrogant (Or he has extremely high self-confidence, depending on how you look at it), and he has a relentless love for saki. Kenshin visits his master and asks him to teach him the ultimate technique of the Hitten Mitsurugi Ryu. He goes from wanderer to pupil once more for the sake of defeating Shishio. How Hiko and Kenshin met is revealed along with some funny and touching flashbacks from when Kenshin was under Seijuro's training when he was younger.

The "Legend of Kyoto" set is, without a doubt, the most powerful set of episodes in the entire Rurouni Kenshin series. Here, it is emphasized that a fighting style cannot rely on mere strength alone, but requires a strong spirit and extensive skill that can only be acheived by years of intense training. In other words, it's not mindless fighting that holds no meaning. The mood of the series becomes much darker and more serious than in the first set. But it also contains several genuinly funny moments. Kenshin continues to teach others that killing is never the answer to anything, and that living your life peacefully may be difficult, but is what will ultimately bring peace to your heart. The "Legend of Kyoto" episodes of the Rurouni Kenshin series have become the best set of anime episodes I have ever watched. Nothing is sacrificed here. This series is beautiful, touching and, in my opinion, a masterpiece onto itself. Buy this box set and see for yourself why this series is one of the greatest ever made!
0Comment| 26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 6, 2008
I bought the first season of Rurouni Kenshin and was rather drawn between liking and disliking it - season 1 stuck to the manga version pretty closely for half the season, but the filler episodes about killed me...

After purchasing and watching the second season of RK, I just about died of happiness. The Kyoto arc really does follow the manga rather well, and for that I was most ecstatic. Each episode was packed with amazing animation, beautiful artwork, thrilling stories, and marvelous dialogue. I highly recommend this season/box set to Rurouni Kenshin fans!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse