Bubble Witch Saga 3 Industrial Deals Best Books of the Month Shop new men's suiting nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc New Album by Noah Gundersen Get 10% cashback on thousands of musical instruments with your Amazon.com Store Credit Card Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Fall TV Binge-worthy season premieres are here Fall TV Binge-worthy season premieres are here Fall TV Binge-worthy season premieres are here  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Shop Now PSFF17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 66 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 148 reviews
on February 4, 2015
This is a very nice package. Exit Stage Left is a classic show and actually has a few more cuts on the DVD than the album. I'm a 70s Rushian mostly but I found The Grace Under Pressure concert to be pretty darn kick-@ss.. They are are just amped during this show.. It's really got a high energy level and they cover a lot of classic tunes that I'd never seen them do.. "Witch Hunt", "The Weapon".. After this show I actually popped in the CD of this SAME SHOW and listened to the whole thing again while I worked. Better than coffee! Finally A Show Of Hands.. while least memorable for me, is still Rush and I'll watch it again at some point. Anyway, just want to say this is a nice package of DVDs + a CD of the Grace concert thrown in (3 chunky liner notes booklets as well). I listen to these songs and words I've heard a thousand times sometimes stand out all of a sudden with new meaning or meaning I'd never noticed before. The effect of a live show I guess. Nice.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 26, 2007
The three live recordings of Rush contained in this boxed set are all very good examples of the band at different moments in their development. They are also examples of the style of their times in terms of editing and pace.

The first is just plain good, with lingering camera work and reasonable sound. The enthusiasm of the band shines through and the shots of the audience are just hysterical: "Did we actually dress like that?"

The second shows the pervasive nature on the then rising MTV in its Miami Vice clothing styles and relentlessly quick intercutting during each song. Sound is good but you wish the camera could linger to see what each of the musicians is actually doing. Again, "Did we actually dress this way?"

It is a deep seated peeve of mine that directors insist on this frenetic style of intercutting. Rush is composed of three of the finer musicians out there and getting an extended look at picking techniques, fingerings and the like would be wonderful. But, alas, it is not to be...

The third is just plain fun.

I recommend this to all fans of Rush, and to casual fans who may have an interest in looking at one of the finest prog-rock ensembles to ever come rolling along.

Now, if Geddy would just put down the Fender and pick up his Rickenbacker once again...
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 20, 2013
This is a very welcome release for RUSH fans such as myself. Faithful-or-better reproductions of long out-of-print live VHS titles, as well as nifty mini-replicas of the tour booklets for the corresponding tours. My only quibble is that "Exit... Stage Left" is half concert film and half "rocumentary", resulting in edited songs and people talking over songs. The other two shows do not have that problem, and we get the bonus of both DVD and CD renditions of the previously-unreleased "Grace Under Pressure" tour, featuring the entirety of the "Fear" trilogy played in title order. Again, more for true RUSH fans, as you get to hear more than one version of several songs, which for the more casual fan may be an annoyance. Silly casual fans.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 23, 2012
If you were going to the Rush shows in late 80's, you must have this set. The DVD of the Hold Your Fire selections, plus older songs such as 2112 and Quarter to 8, has not left my home theater in a month. Opens with Big Money and 3 stooges theme, but the Stooges theme is played over by intro music (just silly sounds not Rush stuff) You MUST have home theater to hear this as it was meant to be heard. When played thru standard TV speakers the sound is just awful. The other disc, video taped in 1980, has a poorer look to it, but that was just the state of theart in 80, however home theater brings out the sound. If you are into Rush this is a must have.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 13, 2006
Rush has been flooding the market the last few years with top quality concert DVD's and this is another outstanding release. For the price, this is a bargain: three different tours (3 DVD's) and a bonus CD of the Grace Under Pressure show. Each DVD has the following audio options: stereo, DD 5.1, or DTS, and there is a detailed booklet for each show, sort of a program if you will, that is excellent but you need a magnifying glass to read it. No interviews, behind the scenes, or extras are included.

It's cool to see the band changing through the years - Neil adding electronic drums, Geddy and Alex experimenting with different basses, guitars and synthesizers. Even the stage show was more elaborate (better lasers, videos, etc.) and the notable difference in clothes and hairstyles is amusing. However, the music, professionalism, and their ability to play it live as good or better than the record always stayed consistent. These are still some of the best musicians around and no question one of the greatest three-piece rock bands ever.

If you only could have one Rush DVD, which one should you get? Tough call and I think this release is more for diehard fans, like me. Therefore, that leaves Rio or R30. Rio is raw, loud and exciting and includes a great behind the scenes feature. R30 is slick, polished, and sonically better than Rio and has some great extras. If I could only pick one it would be Rio.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 20, 2017
I like this phase of Rush, Moving Pictures, Subdivisions, P/G I had this before and thought it was 5 Star material, but it feels more like 4 Star to me now? maybe Im getting on, lol I also bought the Rio Concert DVD, Im very happy with my selection.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 16, 2006
I recently had a chance to watch the core of this DVD set for the second time and it reinforced what I felt when I had originally watched it: Having these tours, e.g. Exit Stage Left, Grace Under Pressure and A Show of Hands re-mastered and released on DVD is totally priceless for any longtime Rush fan who remembers their early days.

The 4-disc set consists of the following:

Exit Stage Left - DVD

Grace Under Pressure - DVD

A Show of Hands - DVD

Grace Under Pressure - CD(Audio)

The video and sound quality on all are excellent. What a gift it is to see Rush in these three tours from the '80s, representing the escalating prominence of their careers. Also of particular significance is a very different Neil Peart, always the drummer virtuoso, yet playing with much more fervor, smiling constantly and occasionally standing up behind his kit to play the tubular bells, chimes, etc. (before it became all electronic and more easily transportable).

Easily a 5-star rating, this is a must for all Rush fans.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 29, 2013
Without writing a lengthy review here,I would just like to say that this collection is a must for Rush fans,however I must add that I am very disappointed with the sound quality of the Exit Stage Left dvd. I had a vhs copy,and the original Terry Brown mix is so perfect for this band,and with modern remastering much of the depth and impact of Rush during this time period is lost. Still,being able to see these shows again after all these years is worth it,thus my 4 star rating!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 4, 2014
Iv'e seen all these shows before but figured it was time to buy this set to complete the Rush collection. Exit and the Grace show are my favorites wish they were complete concerts but it is what it is. Seems they could have cleaned up the video quality a tad as well or put all of the bands videos on here. Oh well ...again.. it is what it is. Recommended if u would like to witness Rush live in the 80s. Don't expect HD picture.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 23, 2014
A gift for a good friend of mine. Boy, he's going to be happy. I already have it. With "Exit Stage Left", " Grace Under Pressure ", " A Show of Hands" and a bonus cd! He will rip into into it. Mybud learned to play bass by watching Geddy Lee play, so I KNOW he'll looove it! A must for RUSH fans!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse