BCA Month Salon Beauty Most Anticipated Fall Children's Books Hallo nav_sap_hiltonhonors_launch New Album by Wonderstruck PCB for Musical Instruments $69.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags hgg17 Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon outlanders3premiere outlanders3premierealtText Watch Outlander on Starz with Amazon Channels outlanders3premierealtText Watch Outlander on Starz with Amazon Channels  Three new members of the Echo family Now shipping All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 All-New Kindle Oasis GNO Shop Now HTL17_gno



on April 3, 2017
This book deserves the 5 stars it was given. It was one of the best books I've read in the last six months. Before the end of the first chapter I was already trying to read the next and the next. I could not figure it out. The descriptive writing was perfect and I could actually visualize each character in the book, especially Meagan. When the scenes were described about what the serial killer did I could close my eyes and practically see the area and the victim. Great job!

For all those who enjoy mystery, thrillers and serial killers then this book is for you. You will not be disappointed. The only thing I felt the wasn't the perfect ending was the graphic sexual seen in the last chapter. But I suppose that's one of the things many readers enjoy today-I think the exact same point could have been made without the graphic stuff and more tenderness mainly because Meagan has been through so much I believe a more tender moment of holding her in his arms where she felt safe and woke up in the morning knowing she had a wonderful man and protector and let the reader use their imagination on everything else.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 30, 2016
I went into this book thinking it was a romantic suspense, when I would actually term it more of a mystery/thriller. Though there is a romance, the main characters don't meet until 55% in and the love story takes a back seat to to the mystery and wasn't well developed. I did enjoy the story for the most part however, which was fast paced and exciting. The writing was good and I read it in one day which I rarely have time to do. I liked both Meagan and Thomas even if at times I didn't think their feelings and reactions were very appropriate or believable. The murders were pretty graphic and gruesome and literally made me cringe. Thankfully the killer wasn't too predictable and there was a surprise along with his reveal that was a big shocker.

There were a few things that annoyed the heck out of me though, such as every man falling in lust with the heroine at first sight. I had to roll my eyes by the third time. Even when being rude and grumpy they still can't get enough of her. Then there was Meagan who ogled every good looking guy she met and dated every lunatic in southern California. Honestly, how many psychos can one woman attract? I also wish the author had given more insight into the killer's thought process and spent less time on Meagan's dating life. With that being said, I did find the story intense and engaging and had a hard time putting it down. Overall it was a gripping read that held my attention and I'll probably give the next book in this series a try at some point.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 9, 2017
Sandman is a series book of 5, but is a stand-alone so there is no need to read in order. Although it is a stand-alone this book does provide you with the characters in order to better understand the next books.

Sandman takes you on a journey of J. Thomas and Shadowhawk investigating what turns out to be a serial killer dubbed "Sandman". They call him this because when they find the victims they are either buried in sand or near sand. When they find these women they are missing body parts and have marks on their hands and legs.

Meagan McGinnis is a woman who attracts the wrong men and now she has a stalker calling her, leaving her messages. It could be any of the men in her life or out of her life.

When Thomas is called to a crime scene it is known that the cases of Sandman and Meagan may be connected. It is now a race to find out who is the Sandman before Meagan becomes his next victim
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 26, 2017
Homicide detective J. J. Thomas is called to the scene of a homicide; a mutilated body is found buried in the sand on a beach. Just another routine killing is the way his bosses look at it, but Thomas suspects that this case is related to another similar killing, and is sure that there’s a serial killer on the loose.
Meagan McInnis is a hairdresser who lives alone with her dog. She has a bad track record with men, seeming to attract nothing but louses. Then, she begins to get strange phone calls. When she answers, she’s met with silence until a bloody present is left in her backyard, and the caller is no longer silent. Her best friend’s severed head is left for her, and she gets a strange call asking if she likes her ‘present.’
Thomas knows that somehow Meagan is the key to catching the killer, but how is he to do it before she becomes the next victim?
Sandman by Morgan Hannah MacDonald is a chilling thriller that follows Thomas in his desperate mission to nab The Sandman before he leaves even more bodies buried in shallow sandy graves. The tension begins with the first page of this well-crafted story, and doesn’t let up until the explosive ending. This author puts you, the reader, in the middle of the action and takes you on one hell of a scary ride. Don’t even think about reading this book if you don’t have time to finish it in one sitting. Oh, and you might want to make sure that if you’re home alone when you read it, all your doors and windows are locked.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 24, 2017
Just finished reading Sandman and found it to be a very good read. I am a Patterson, Sandford, Custler fan. I also am an old fan of L'amour westerners so you can see that I am well read. This book was very easy to follow and that made it more desirable to read. It also makes me want to " look up" the Author so I can learn more about her books. The characters were interesting enough to give me a desire to follow them. I am going to tell my " reading buddies" to choose this book for their " fast read dept. ". Looking forward to reading Night Screams. Thank you, April Tagliaferri. apriltagg@cox.net. Lv2read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 17, 2016
Okay so youve read other serial killer books. This ones better! You arent sure who the killer is, until he.....

You are reading this book and thinking well it could be this one! Oh wait, what about this one!?

Heres something that went thru my mind as I finally got up to get my dinner made....how many girls out there have no idea who they are talking to on line or dating on line or from meeting in a bar/ club? Yeah, you know im talking to you! So next time get the info on the guy first! Then get on line to one of those sites that spills the beans! Yeah, you need to do it! You will be surprised and forewarned about the person. Just think a couple of dollars and you might be saving your own life!!! This book makes you realize you need to be cautious! It can save your life!
Or even your bestie's. Read this story it shows youve got to be careful.
This story was one I didnt put down from friday thru saturdsay's nite I read it! Its that good! Now before you read it....go lock up the house.
Morgan MacDonald does NOT leave you having to buy another book to get the ending ! Thank you Ms MacDonald! Because of this im changing it from 4 stars to 5!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 10, 2017
5 stars. Non stop action. Meagan is being stalked and she doesn't know why or by whom. The town is in terror over the recent "Sandman" killings. Dubbed such because he likes to bury his victims in the sand. Enter JJ Thomas head detective of a too small task force, along with Shadowhawk his partner. Can they find the Sandman before he strikes again? Can he keep Meagan safe after he finds she is right in the middle of this? Read and find out. Will definitely recommend to family friends and fellow readers. Looking forward to more by Ms. MacDonald.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 11, 2017
This is first in a series featuring Homicide Detective J. J. Thomas and Detective Fawn Shadowhawk. All the books in this series are stand alone. There is no need to read them in order. No cliff hangers.

They are investigating the discovery of a woman's body. She's missing some body parts, her eyes and lips are sewn shut with thick black thread. This is not the first body found in this condition .... and it won't be the last.

They call him the Sandman because he dumps the body in the sand. Some are partially buried, some are not.

Meagan McGinnis has a stalker. She thinks it might be her ex-boyfriend. But it could be her ex-fiancee or her manager at the salon where she works. He made a play for her and she declined. He has not been happy since. And then there's the younger man she met recently. Are any of these responsible for all the hang-up calls ... the mechanical voice who sometimes speaks her name ... the man who kills her beloved dog .... the man who leaves her friend's head on her picnic table?

Det. Thomas is called out to another crime scene and finds that the cases may be linked ...and Meagan maybe the key to learning who the Sandman really is. Thomas wants / needs to find that info before Meagan becomes his next victim.

This is the beginning of what looks like a terrific series. J.J. has a brother who is a forensic psychologist and another brother who is an FBI Agent. I can only surmise that future stories will highlight their lives.

The book is a well-written serial killer chiller with credible characters. The story is told from the viewpoint of several different characters ... he killer's voice is quite interesting. There's a lot of action and the ending is almost breath-taking.

My thanks to the author who offered a free digital copy on her website. The opinion expressed here is unbiased and entirely my own.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 16, 2015
Creepy, with creepers creeping up and doing really creepy things.

This is a wonderful suspense story, and a fine use of instinct to guide the efforts of law enforcement and victim alike.

It's nice to jump into a story that has a previously developed subplot already lurking in the pages, and that is the case in this story.

The young and lovely heroine is well developed and stands her ground against her fears and her feints at love. The detective who is assigned the case remains carefully poised to fall for her at the right moment.

Enjoy this one with any warm beverage and a few cold nights. You might not want to walk on the beach after reading...
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 10, 2015
'Sandman' pulled me in from the beginning and I had a hard time putting it down when things like eating and sleeping begged me. The storyline was well written and extremely thrilling. Full of mystery, action, suspense and great characters. J.J. was a great lead. He's hot, smart and a great detective. Meagan made another great lead. She's unpredictable, sarcastic at times and isn't the usual size two, salad eating character. I liked that she felt real. The way this story played out had me guessing and questioning who the Sandman was. I love when a story isn't too obvious or predictable. I look forward to reading more of this series.. A great add to your tbr list. Definitely recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here