Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: SANYO Eneloop Spacer Packs with 2 AA with 2 D-Size Spacers (Discontinued by Manufacturer)
Amazon Vehicles Up to 80 Percent Off Textbooks Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Happy Belly Snacks Totes Summer-Event-Garden Amazon Cash Back Offer TheKicks TheKicks TheKicks  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Celine Dion Shop Now

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

The two rechargeable batteries in this package (SANYO Eneloop Spacer Packs with 2 AA with 2 D-Size Spacers) are the best-quality low-self-discharge NiMH cells currently available. The two spacers are made of high quality plastic without any rough edges, and they looked great. The price is also very reasonable. So normally I would call this a good deal. However, if you intend to use them in appliances that accept D-cells, please beware of the following limitations:

1. The capacity of each eneloop AA cell is just 2,000mAh. In contrast, capacity of a typical alkaline D-cell (such as the Energizer E95) is rated at around 20,000mAh when delivering a low current of 50mA. For a larger load current of 500mA, its capacity drops to around 10,000mAh. Still, this is five times the capacity of eneloop AA cell. What this means is that: you need to remove and recharge your eneloop cells five times more frequently, compared to when using alkaline D cells.

2. The base of the D-spacer is hollow. It uses the negative terminal of the AA cell for contact. The battery compartment designed for normal D-cells typically have much larger springs, so the base of the AA cell may fail to make contact with the spring. Check the picture I uploaded to the Customer Image section, and you'll see what I mean. This problem can often be solved by inserting a copper penny or nickel between the battery base and the spring. But it does not always work.

There are some other rechargeable D-cell options available. For example, consider the Rayovac Platinum LSD NiMH D cells. This package is currently priced similar to the eneloop package, but it gives you two real D-sized cells, with 50% higher capacity (3000mAh vs 2000mAh). The down-side is that you'll need a battery charger that can handle D-cells.

If longest run time is your first priority, then consider buying full-capacity D cells such as the 9500mAh IMEDION D Rechargeable Batteries. Those are priced 3-4x higher, and you need an expensive charger that can handle full-capacity D-cells. (Most low-cost chargers cannot fully recharge cells with capacity over 3000mAh)

No matter which option you pick, using rechargeable batteries will save you money in the long run. You just have to know your batteries' limitations, and set your expectation accordingly.

[Updated on Nov 22, 2012]
One good alternative to consider is the Tenergy Centura D Size Low Self-Discharge Batteries. The price is about 2x that of this eneloop AA + D spacer package, but you get 4x the capacity (8000mAh).
review image
1818 comments| 75 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 26, 2010
Have been using Eneloop batteries for a couple of years now for all the remote controls, video games, calculators, cameras etc. - they last a long time, the rechargers work great, and they do hold their charge, the batteries that have been sitting in reserve for awhile last just as long as those freshly charged. I have yet to use up an Eneloop so that it doesn't hold a full charge. The C and D spacer kits are good in certain situations but you still have a AA battery in there so they don't last as long in the device as a "real" C or D battery (flashlights are what we have mostly tried this in). They do tell you this in the fine print that comes in the package. But since they are always fresh you have something there to power your flashlight when the electricity goes off or any short-term need so it's great in that way and I recommend having some on hand. But for a camping trip or any extended use, get the real C or D batteries. I wish Eneloop made them, I would definitely buy them rather than disposable batteries!
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 8, 2009
We were really surprised to see that Sanyo Eneloop has devised a way to make AA batteries fit in all C and D products. We were doubly surprised that Sanyo Eneloop AA batteries can power our virtual walls for our iRoomba robotic vacuum cleaners, speakers, small lights, flashlights and other products.
What a great idea! I love the new ideas that Sanyo Eneloop is developing -- they produce by far the best rechargeable batteries on the market.
11 comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 18, 2010
These Eneloop spacers are decent quality, unlike some of the other battery adapter brands. However, they may not work for your application with out some messing around.

First, when you slide the AA battery in, the positive end slides inside four little arms to make contact with the positive terminal of the adapter. On a couple of these spacers that I have, you need to use a little screwdriver to move one of the arms back so that the battery will slide in - no big deal. The bottom, negative end of the spacer is just open, so that the AA battery will slip out if it is not firmly retained by a spring or terminal inside your device.

Another potential problem is that some of the springs designed to hold D batteries will have an inner coil that is too big to hold the AA battery base (as in many flashlights). The solution to this is to use a 50 cent (half-dollar) coin or similar sized 1-1/4" diameter, thin, round metal disk on the bottom of the adapter to make electrical contact. You can tape it on with a small piece of masking tape if necessary. (Obviously, just tape the outer edges of the coin/disk to the adapter, so you still get electrical contact with the spring). Note that a quarter may work in a pinch, but since it is smaller in diameter it may tilt and fail to make contact.

UPDATE: I had previously suggested using a metal washer, but most washers have a hole that is too large to make electrical contact with the base of the battery.
11 comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 26, 2010
I received the items in excellence conditions, comes fully charged and can be use immediately. The spacer is a good gadget and I feel that its a good invention that helps to reduce the amount of different batteries I need.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 14, 2014
Loved buying these sets. I've bought about 8-10, but plan on buying several more for everything from kid's toys to flashlights. I have some regular D Duracells on hand as well, but love the idea or reusable batteries, and both the C and D-Size Spacers fill a niche quite nicely.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 8, 2014
I love love love ENELOOP batteries. They last so long .... WOW. These adaptors are handy too. I have a Large Mag Flashlight, I use a reg. battery at the back where the spring is. I read you can use a coin or a punch slug too?
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon January 12, 2009
I love low discharge Nimh batteries and Eneloop is one of the best of the brands that offer them. Usually the "C" & "D" Eneloop spacers are sold with a larger combo pack. You can not buy just the spacers by itself. But if you want only additional spacers, this is a good combination.

Sanyo has already announced the introduction of their "C" & "D" batteries last year. It will have 3000mAh and 5700mAh capacities in that order. And you will probably need a new charger to accommodate their larger sizes.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 16, 2011
I like to purchase things in the packaging unless I specifically choose NOT to. In this case these items arrive "loose pack" without any manufacturer packaging. Buyer should be made aware of this before purchasing.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 27, 2011
Buy these and stop getting the throw-aways... They last for ever! Buy one pack and you'll know what I mean. The best bats on the planet... Google them and you'll see that they are #1.. I spent hours of research looking for the best rechargeable..
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See 1 answered question

Need customer service? Click here