Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Skyfall
Your Garage Editors' Picks Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Songs of Summer Fire TV Stick Health, Household and Grocery Back to School Totes Amazon Cash Back Offer PilotWave7B PilotWave7B PilotWave7B  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis DollyParton Shop Now

Format: Amazon Video|Change
Price:$14.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on November 10, 2012
Being the year of the 50th anniversary of the beloved super spy, the 23rd Bond installment had a lot to live up to. While Casino Royale was a worthy and thrilling reboot to the franchise, Quantum of Solace fell flat with critics and fans. To make matters more interesting, MGM has had financial woes over the last number of years and needed a hit to reinvigorate the studio. Ladies and gentlemen, I give you Skyfall.

Not only does the movie qualify as one of the most action-packed and entertaining movies of the year, it ranks on my list as one of the best Bond flicks to date. As has come to be expected, Craig is terrific as the British spy, portraying the character with charm and intensity. The action is top notch and the story is superbly written. Among my favorite moments were the blistering opening sequences, the introduction of the film's villain, and the intense final act, which finds Bond cornered yet unafraid. The real treat, however, is Bardem's role as the sinister Silva. Rivaling any villain in recent memory, save Heath Ledger's Joker, Bardem is intimidating, powerful, and irresistible to watch. You'll find yourself glued to the screen whenever he appears, and hoping he'll show up again soon when he's gone.

Another huge nod has to go to Mendes, whose vision of Bond is spectacular. The movie is tightly scripted and the director does a very fine job of bringing out great performances from his cast. The cinematography is some of the best I've seen in a film for a long time; the production crew did a remarkable job utilizing light, colors, and atmosphere to really draw the audience in. Another treat is the glimpse the audiences gets into Bond's past, which plays a crucial role in the film.

The transfer to Blu-ray is beautiful; the colors are pin-sharp and the picture is clear, crisp, and detailed. In a film that contains such vibrant colors and contrasts, this was immensely important for home release. All of the great cinematographic moments you saw in the theater look just as great here. The audio is equally perfect. The disc's DTS-HD MA 5.1 track contain all the intensity and clarity contained in the theatrical release so you can enjoy the crashes, explosions, gun shots, and dialogue in high definition.

By way of special features, there's just under an hour of behind-the-scenes featurettes that are an interesting watch, as well as the original action-heavy trailer for the movie, "Skyfall Premiere" feature, and two different audio commentaries; a detailed and information-rich feature from Mendes and a not-so-interesting one from producers Barbara Broccoli and Michael G. Wilson and production designer Dennis Gassner. The insight from Mendes is fascinating and any fan of the film will be sure to enjoy it. The commentary from the producers felt more like a promotion of the film and could have been left off the disc in my opinion.

Whether your a die-hard Bond fan or a casual observer, Skyfall has something for everyone. There are multiple references to past Bond adventures, yet enough new and innovative ideas to please newcomers to the franchise. I highly recommend this film. This BD set doesn't boast hours and hours of extra footage but it has enough to please fans that are curious about the making of the film. Overall a terrific movie, beautiful disc transfer, and engaging Blu-ray set.
8585 comments| 647 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 28, 2012
I am a die hard Sean-Connery-as-James-Bond fan. I like most of Roger's and a couple of Pierce's. I was not happy when I first learned of Daniel Craig as the new Bond. Daniel who? Was my first reaction. Not another Lazenby, I thought...
I like Casino Royale, but it took me a couple of watches on DVD for it to grow on me. I didn't hate Quantum of Solace as much as others seem to, but then I saw Skyfall..... I love this movie so much that not one day has gone by when I haven't thought of it at least once. I saw it twice in one week, and I never do that when movies are in theaters. The writers of this film must be brought back for the next one, yes it has some minor similarities to The Dark Knight movies, but so what. I can not wait for the Blu Ray release. I hate to admit it, but this may just be my new favorite Bond movie. The only thing that would make it perfect for me would be if Connery were still young enough to play Bond. The opening sequence, the action, Javier as the creepy villain, the surprises in the end.. It's almost perfect. Bravo Barbara Broccoli and Michael Wilson. Now do it again for Bond 24....

Oh...and did I mention the awesome theme song by Adele?? How perfect for the 50th year! Slightly reminiscent of Goldfinger theme, the Monty Norman 007 theme, very well done. Nobody does it better these days. Pun intended....
2828 comments| 268 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 14, 2015
Although my family has rented Skyfall several times, we finally bought the DVD, because the movie is perfect; and perfection is rare, should be rewarded, and relived (in this case vicariously). Skyfall is visually astounding; the plot is clever and surprising; the suspense is pretty much constant and intense; and the casting and acting are spot on. Oh, and there's a perfect balance of humor and drama. We love all of the Daniel Craig Bond movies, but Skyfall is the best. We hope Spectre lives up to the rest of the series.
11 comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 9, 2015
Great movie! It's action packed from the start
review image
0Comment| 27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 3, 2014
As a diehard Bond fan since I first saw "For Your Eyes Only" in 1981 I still have some bias against Daniel Craig. Wilson and Broccoli intentionally put Craig into a different Bond mold. Casino Royale and Quantum of Solace, although good action films, are not really Bond films. Skyfall however on the surface gives glimmers of a real Bond film, but there's still a long way to go. Wilson and Broccoli's self-admitted heavy influence by the Bourne movies negatively affected the Bond franchise- not financially, but in undermining who Bond is. This Bond character is more a robotic brute, a shell of a person, and not the cool, in control spy. Let me get to the point. The movie Skyfall is a really good movie, maybe even great. I love the action, and Daniel Craig does a really good job being a Jason Bourne like character. It's far better than Quantum of Solace. Skyfall was worth seeing in the theaters, and is a good purchase on Blu-ray. If I had to rate this as a Bond movie, it would be 2 stars. It's not Craig's fault. That blame falls on Wilson and Broccoli. If you watch the movie as a Bond fan, you might be disappointed. If you watch as a big action movie fan, you'll love it.
44 comments| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 3, 2015
Not as good as previous Bonds although opening sequence was excellent.
review image
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 14, 2013
Well, Daniel Craig actually.
After years of the Bond franchise looking for it's footing in the 21st century. Ms Broccoli has struck gold with Daniel Craig as James Bond. At last, a Bond that has flaws and issues!! And the character still has a lot of the baggage from the previous efforts, but Craig's take on Bond brings a whole new "Edginess". Sadly, we loose one of Bonds closest at the end of the film; but it is a re-launch of the institution - isn't it??
We have a brand new Q (Quartermaster). The character is now fully fleshed out and no longer the long suffering foil to James Bond. Along with this is a fresh take on the Moneypenny character; no longer just a pretty face behind a desk.
Great Score, amazing visuals and probably the creepiest villan to come along in a long while.
This adventure marks the third installment of Daniel Craig's James Bond. It's high adventure at it's best and well worth the look !!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 24, 2015
Oooh Mr. Bond! You are the best! Absolutely love this one! Such well written characters and storyline that keeps getting better and better as the movie progresses. Saw it at the theater and couldn't wait for the DVD to get out and it doesn't happen often. The well written script had so many catchy lines that my sister and I couldn't stop repeating them over and over to each other "Oooh Mr. Bond" "Mommy's been bad!" "What makes you think this is my first time?" and so on.

Dashing Daniel Craig is the best Bond ever in all Bond movies and in Skyfall he's just terrific! He portrays a Bond that is so vulnerable and yet so strong! Javier Bardem is irresistible to watch with superb acting that you can't help to momentarily sympathize with him until he starts blasting things here and there and threatens Mr. Bond. Can't say we love Q but he helps Mr. Bond a lot so we forgive him. Love Judi Dench as M so tender at heart and yet so ruthless at work. Ralph Phiennes is great as usual. All together we can sense the emotion of all the characters in this one and can somewhat understand the reason why they act the way they do however unjustifiable.

Can't stop watching Skyfall again and again over time. It's a brilliant movie and we'll recommend it to all.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 14, 2013
Skyfall is my favorite Daniel Craig - Bond movie by far, and one of my favorite Bond movies period. It's a perfect callback to previous Bond films through nostalgic canon references, but also stabilizing and establishing the future of the franchise through brilliant storytelling.

The cinematography is absolutely stunning and it's a beautiful film. Hopefully Roger Deakins finally wins his long deserved Oscar for this great movie.

The digital transfer is fantastic and the colors look great on Blu-ray. The special features are great for some behind the scenes exploration of the making of the film.

Bond fans can enjoy the fact that this installment of the franchise is one of the best in it's 50 year run.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 10, 2013
Will not spoil it for anyone but expect the unexpected with the plot twists. James is James, got a new Q (geek with lots of attitude and personality definitely a great pick) got the movie on Instant Video and keep watching over and over because this one has many things you can miss in the background and up front. Daniel Craig still one of the best replacement Bonds. His acting is always dead on and he puts on his Bond suit and becomes Bond. The ending will be something you haven't seen in a Bond movie before,
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

$14.99
$14.99
$14.99
$14.99

Need customer service? Click here