& FREE Shipping on orders over $49. Details
Only 2 left in stock.
Sold by IMS Distribution and Fulfilled by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
S'Wonderful 1949-50 Recor... has been added to your Cart
+ $3.99 shipping
Used: Very Good | Details
Sold by Zoverstocks
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: All Discs are inspected and guaranteed. All dispatched with 1 - 3 working days from the UK
Other Sellers on Amazon
Add to Cart
& FREE Shipping on eligible orders. Details
Sold by: Amazon.com
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

S'Wonderful 1949-50 Recordings Import

4.0 out of 5 stars 1 customer review

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
New from Used from
Audio CD, Import, May 7, 2002
"Please retry"
$4.25 $3.00

Stream Millions of Songs FREE with Amazon Prime
Get Started with Amazon Prime Stream millions of songs anytime, anywhere, included with an Amazon Prime membership. Get started
$17.92 & FREE Shipping on orders over $49. Details Only 2 left in stock. Sold by IMS Distribution and Fulfilled by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.

Frequently Bought Together

  • S'Wonderful 1949-50 Recordings
  • +
  • Live At The Hollywood Palladium [ORIGINAL RECORDINGS REMASTERED] 2CD SET
Total price: $27.91
Buy the selected items together

Editorial Reviews

Les led maybe the best post-war band of all, and attracted top-notch talent like Dave Pell, Abe Most and Buddy Rich. You'll hear them all on this collection of 1949-1950 studio recordings for Columbia, which also feature vocalists Lucy Ann Polk and Betty Taylor. Includes Slaughter on Tenth Avenue Parts 1 & 2; Dig, Dig, Dig for Your Supper with the Modernaires; Choy-Choy-Hoy-Toy; the Carioca; a Fine Romance; Where's Prez; Columbia, Gem of the Ocean, and more. 22 tracks, many never before on CD!

Track Listings

Disc: 1

  1. A Fine Romance
  2. Where's Prez
  3. Tenderly
  4. Carioca
  5. 'S Wonderful
  6. Tico tico
  7. Lolly Bop
  8. Star Dust
  9. Sixpence
  10. Easy To Love
  11. A Foggy Day
  12. Drifting And Dreaming
  13. I Could Write A Book
  14. Cabin In The Sky
  15. Ebony Rhapsody
  16. People Will Say We're In Love
  17. Dig, Dig, Dig For Your Dinner
  18. Slaughter On Tenth Avenue (Parts 1 & 2)
  19. Rock Me To Sleep
  20. Runnin' Around
  21. Choy-Choy-Hoy-Toy
  22. Columbia, Gem Of The Ocean

Product Details

  • Audio CD (May 7, 2002)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Format: Import
  • Label: Jazz Band
  • ASIN: B00005U5FE
  • Average Customer Review: 4.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (1 customer review)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #364,231 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)

Customer Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
See the customer review
Share your thoughts with other customers

Top Customer Reviews

Format: Audio CD
The cuts on this CD were recorded 50+ years ago for COLUMBIA
RECORDS and master tapes were NOT USED, but were derived from existing LP's,45's or 78's. Let me tell you, however, that this is the VERY BEST reconstruction I have ever heard, and not because I helped in it's production...(Personel, recording dates,
etc.) Today's technology has magicly transposed the old originals to fresh sounds...without detracting from original takes....Three of the cuts feature the late great BUDDY RICH on
drums...(You MUST hear CARIOCA...unbelievable how Buddy drives
the Brown Band), and this was never issued on CD! If you like the Brown band from this time period, but are cautious about purchase based on past experience where PD material is offered,
FORGET ABOUT IT! Buy this baby...You will LOVE IT!
1 Comment 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse


Set up an Amazon Giveaway

S'Wonderful 1949-50 Recordings
Amazon Giveaway allows you to run promotional giveaways in order to create buzz, reward your audience, and attract new followers and customers. Learn more about Amazon Giveaway
This item: S'Wonderful 1949-50 Recordings