Buy New
Free Shipping for Prime Members
FREE Shipping
Get free shipping
Free 5-8 business-day shipping within the U.S. when you order $25 of eligible items sold or fulfilled by Amazon.
Or get 4-5 business-day shipping on this item for $5.99. (Prices may vary for AK and HI.)
Learn more about free shipping
on orders over $25—or get FREE Two-Day Shipping with Amazon Prime
Only 14 left in stock (more on the way).
Ships from and sold by Gift-wrap available.
I Said, She Said, Ah Cid:... has been added to your Cart

Ship to:
To see addresses, please
Please enter a valid US zip code.
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

I Said, She Said, Ah Cid: The Exploito Psych World Of Alshire Records 1967-71


3.3 out of 5 stars 3 customer reviews

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
New from Used from
Audio CD, Import, January 1, 2018
$19.55 $19.54

Frequently bought together

  • I Said, She Said, Ah Cid: The Exploito Psych World Of Alshire Records 1967-71 /  Various Artists
  • +
  • Marshmallow Skies
  • +
  • Am I Dreaming? 80 Brit Girl Sounds Of The 60S /  Various Artists
Total price: $55.95
Buy the selected items together

Editorial Reviews

2018 three CD collection. Probably the most prolific budget label of the '60s, California-based Alshire was also the most interesting, with owner Al Sherman and his equally notorious hustler sidekick Dave Miller employing leading LA session men and local studio auteurs to supply finished masters that were then issued (and endlessly repackaged) in a variety of fictitious group names. Initially a US-only concern, by mid-1969 Alshire had become something of an Anglo-American enterprise after Sherman hired Pye producer Jack Dorsey - who, in addition to taking over the label's long-running 101 Strings series, brought in a number of English pop and rock bands who contributed to Alshire's bulging release schedules. I Said She Said Ah Cid gathers together the cream of Alshire's late '60s/'70s roster, incorporating key LPs (including The Animated Egg and the extraordinary Astro-Sounds From Beyond The Year 2000) in full, an entire CD of music from scandalously overlooked California psych/rock band The California Poppy Pickers and selected highlights from elsewhere in the Alshire catalog, stretching from obscure UK acts like Autumn and Amalgamation to an attempt to update the music of Hank Williams for the acid-rock generation. The result is the first-ever anthology of Alshire's work, while the accompanying 32-page booklet includes many rare photos, band quotes and a 10,000 word essay that examines in detail the murky, labyrinthine world of Alshire for the first time.

Track Listings

Disc: 1

  1. A Love Built on Sand
  2. Inside Looking Out
  3. I Said, She Said, Ah Cid
  4. "T"Omorrow
  5. Sure Listic
  6. Sippin' and Trippin'
  7. Dark
  8. Down, Down and Gone
  9. Sock It My Way
  10. That's How It Is
  11. Ode to Billie Joe
  12. I'm a Man
  13. Karma Sitar
  14. California Dreamin'
  15. Stone Baroque
  16. San Francisco (Flowers in Your Hair)
  17. A Whiter Shade of Pale
  18. Blues for the Guru
  19. Never My Love
  20. Strings for Ravi
  21. Flameout
  22. Re-Entry to Mog
  23. Space Odyssey
  24. Astral Freakout
  25. Orbit Fantasy
  26. Barrier X-69
  27. A Disappointing Love with a Desensitized Robot
  28. Trippin' on Lunar 07
  29. Where Were You in 1982?
  30. A Bad Trip Back to '69

Disc: 2

  1. Wipe Out '69
  2. Come Back
  3. Clean Up Your Own Backyard
  4. Crystal Blue Persuasion
  5. Bun Buster
  6. Why Don't We Do It in the Road
  7. Sunshine Summer Days
  8. Get Back
  9. Do Ya Do Ya
  10. Aquarius/Let the Sunshine in
  11. Hair
  12. It's Written All Over My Face
  13. Horsefly
  14. Special Delivery
  15. Back in the USSR
  16. Augie from Bakersfield
  17. Hushabye
  18. Yellow Submarine
  19. With Vigor
  20. Narrow People
  21. Blues from Berkeley Street People
  22. Spirit in the Sky
  23. Born on the Bayou
  24. Get Together
  25. Brick Walls
  26. Honky Tonk Women

Disc: 3

  1. Sabre Dance - John Bunyan's Progressive Pilgrims
  2. My Bucket's Got a Hole in It - Modern Sounds
  3. My Little Girl - Autumn
  4. Troubled People - the Heads of the Family
  5. Visions of a Hobo - Doctor Marigold's Prescription
  6. Golden Gate Freakout - the Mustang
  7. Thing's Thing - Icarus
  8. Street King - Jane & Eve and the Creations
  9. Mozart's Dilemma - John Bunyan's Progressive Pilgrims
  10. Chick-A-Boom - Capt. Skid Marks
  11. Land of Fuson - Doctor Marigold's Prescription
  12. Pigeon - Brownhill Stamp Duty
  13. Sun Sunshine - Autumn
  14. Spaced Out - John Bunyan's Progressive Pilgrims
  15. Long Gone Lonesome Blues - Modern Sounds
  16. Lodi - the Heads of the Family
  17. Haight-Ashbury Time - the Mustang
  18. Can't You See I'm Right? - Doctor Marigold's Prescription
  19. Love Is a Thing - Icarus
  20. Apricot Brandy- John Bunyan's Progressive Pilgrims
  21. Kaw-Liga - Modern Sounds
  22. More Than Now - Jane & Eve and the Creations
  23. Tie Me Down - Doctor Marigold's Prescription
  24. Whiplash - 101 Strings
  25. Instant Nirvana - 101 Strings
  26. All You Need Is Love - 101 Strings

Product details

  • Audio CD (January 1, 2018)
  • Number of Discs: 3
  • Format: Import
  • ASIN: B077MT96BR
  • Average Customer Review: 3.3 out of 5 stars 3 customer reviews
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #34,237 in CDs & Vinyl (See Top 100 in CDs & Vinyl)
  • Would you like to tell us about a lower price?
    If you are a seller for this product, would you like to suggest updates through seller support?

Customer Reviews

Share your thoughts with other customers
See all 3 customer reviews

Top customer reviews

January 27, 2018
Verified Purchase
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
January 28, 2018
Verified Purchase
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
February 1, 2018
Verified Purchase
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Set up an Amazon Giveaway

I Said, She Said, Ah Cid: The Exploito Psych World Of Alshire Records 1967-71 /  Various Artists
Amazon Giveaway allows you to run promotional giveaways in order to create buzz, reward your audience, and attract new followers and customers. Learn more about Amazon Giveaway
This item: I Said, She Said, Ah Cid: The Exploito Psych World Of Alshire Records 1967-71 / Various Artists

What other items do customers buy after viewing this item?