Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Wedding Rustic Decor Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book House Cleaning TheOnlyLivingBoy TheOnlyLivingBoy TheOnlyLivingBoy  Amazon Echo now $99.99 Limited-time offer: All-New Fire 7, starting at $39.99 Kindle Paperwhite GNO Tailgating STEMClubToys17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 13 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 15 reviews
on April 10, 2011
Maybe I am biased since my first sailboat was a Macgregor 25 but I really like Chips stories. Their story is not about something that is a impossible dream for most of us. It is about their adventures doing what anyone serious about sailing can do. All this for $1? beat that McDonnalds. Books like this are what I enjoy most about my Kindle. I don't know if it is even in print and if it was where it could be found. With the Kindle you are reading it in a few seconds and never leave your recliner!

If you are wanting a story about rich people cruising on thier $500,000 yachts with AC a fridge and a big diesel then don't waste your dollar. If you want to read about a working guy and his wife living the dream on a boat that you can't even stand up in then don't miss it.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 11, 2012
No sailor admits his or her failures until after a couple of beers, and then it is only among friends and experienced sailors. Every person who has a boat has committed some less-than-wonderful mistakes such as forgetting to tie off the bitter end on your anchor rode, capsizing because you were dozing off instead of paying attention to the wind conditions, or accidently kicking your GPS into the drink (Of couse, I haven't done ANY of those kind of things).

WIld Hair is a boat in which the owner/captain has made several screw ups, admits them in public, and has written a tongue-in-cheek book that is worthy of a quick read. Personally I found this a great book to hit before I sleep because I chuckle, laugh a bit, and drift off contentedly dreaming of the Bahamas, bright days, smooth sailing, and good times.

That's a pretty good deal for the price of this book. Buy it and pass it on. You'll like it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 8, 2012
If you are looking for literature go elsewhere. If you are looking for a how to sail book go elsewhere. If you are looking for a why go sailing book this is it. Probably not well written, but an important and fun story.

Chip may not have been the best prepared sailor. He just did it. Had fun doing it, and wrote about it in a way that proved inspiring.

As stated in a prior review. If you want to read about big expensive boats going to faraway lands this in not for you. If you want to read what a sailor with a basic boat and a big sense for fun and adventure read this book.
I enjoyed it and wish there were more books like this.

Thank you Chip for writing it and thank you Amazon for making it available. If you have a trailer sailer and have just been putting it in your local water and having short day sails you may be inspired to go further afield. It also shows the independence that sailing offers.

Use your boat as a magic carpet.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 25, 2012
Giles captures the excitement and mishaps of sailing. The writing is self-depricating and funny, which I think is the best way to write about sailing adventures. If you sit back and wait for the perfect boat, with all the right equipment and all the latest electronics most people will never leave the dock.
I think the writer knows a great deal more about sailing then he lets on to, and this couple has had some amazing experiences.
The section about crossing the Gulf is equal parts terrifying and inspiring! Every story in this book has the unmistakeable(sometimes unfortunately) ring of truth, and it has a great positive vibe.
Worth the money.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 2, 2016
? never ordered, never received
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 5, 2011
I bought and read this (Kindle)book last year during the summer. It was light, enjoyable reading. This year, a year later, I re-read the book and probably appreciated the adventures even more. Chip's misadventures sound just like the the ones I would have had I a boat. A good primer!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 11, 2014
Great stories- well written. Look forward to reading more from Chip Giles. Recommend to anyone interested in boats and Florida.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 6, 2013
Fun read, enjoyable. The misadventures of a young couple's attempt at trailer sailing along the Florida coast. It tells of storms and other things they ran into along the way.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 10, 2012
Very difficult to read as it sounds as though he's just rambling on and on. The grammar was incorrect most of the way through, so it made it for an unpleasant read, as well.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 18, 2013
Great read. I laughed out loud. It's nice to hear that other people have unfortunate adventures. Made me wish I were on the water.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here