Kindle Price: $4.99

Save $9.96 (67%)

kindle unlimited logo
Unlimited reading. Over 1 million titles. Learn more
Read for Free
OR

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Mrs. Saint and the Defectives: A Novel by [Timmer, Julie Lawson]
Audible Narration
Playing...
Loading...
Paused
Kindle App Ad

Mrs. Saint and the Defectives: A Novel Kindle Edition

4.1 out of 5 stars 2,085 customer reviews

See all 5 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Price
New from Used from
Kindle
"Please retry"
$4.99

Length: 338 pages Word Wise: Enabled Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
Page Flip: Enabled Audible Narration:
Audible Narration
Switch back and forth between reading the Kindle book and listening to the Audible narration with Whispersync for Voice. Add narration for a reduced price of $1.99 when you buy the Kindle book.
Ready
Matchbook Price: $0.99 What's this?
For thousands of qualifying books, your past, present, and future print-edition purchases now lets you buy the Kindle edition for $2.99 or less. (Textbooks available for $9.99 or less.)
  • Thousands of books are eligible, including current and former best sellers.
  • Look for the Kindle MatchBook icon on print and Kindle book detail pages of qualifying books. You can also see more Kindle MatchBook titles here or look up all of your Kindle MatchBook titles here.
  • Read the Kindle edition on any Kindle device or with a free Kindle Reading App.
  • Print edition must be purchased new and sold by Amazon.com.
  • Gifting of the Kindle edition at the Kindle MatchBook price is not available.
Learn more about Kindle MatchBook.

Best Books of the Month
See the Best Books of the Month
Want to know our Editors' picks for the best books of the month? Browse Best Books of the Month, featuring our favorite new books in more than a dozen categories.
click to open popover

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.


From the Editor

It’s funny how some of the best times of our lives are born out of adversity. That is the central premise of Julie Lawson Timmer’s vibrant, soulful, and profoundly human story that explores the power of new beginnings.

At a crossroads, Markie’s life is turned upside down by an all-around unreliable ex-husband. Forced to confront her situation, she and her petulant teenage son, Jesse, rent a modest home in a new neighborhood where she intends to lick her wounds and embrace isolation. Add a meddling next-door neighbor, Mrs. Saint, and a cast of misfit “defectives” that hang around said neighbor’s house, and you have a recipe for life-changing transformations—forgiveness, connection, hope—that neither Markie nor her son could have ever predicted.

I’ll admit that I both laughed out loud and cried in embarrassing situations while reading this novel—while serving jury duty, on the bus, in a laundromat. Mrs. Saint’s initially unwelcome and unconventional wisdom, the secrets that are revealed on both sides, and Markie’s journey to become whole again captivated and touched me as the story unfolded. I felt I really knew these characters as I turned each page, and I felt the lessons learned as deeply as Markie and her son by the end. I hope you will, too.

- Danielle Marshall, Editor


Editorial Reviews

Review

“Another winner from the very talented Julie Lawson Timmer. Fans of Matthew Quick's The Silver Linings Playbook will devour this sweet, surprising story.” —Sarah Pekkanen, internationally bestselling author of The Perfect Neighbors

"Warm, witty, and with the most satisfying ending I’ve read in years, Mrs. Saint and the Defectives is absolutely delightful. This novel won’t just keep you turning the pages; it will inspire you to be a better person.” —Camille Pagán, bestselling author of Life and Other Near-Death Experiences

“I savored every page of this delicious novel. Charming and poignant, funny and wise, Mrs. Saint and the Defectives is perfect for fans of Fredrik Backman and Anne Tyler.” —Lori Nelson Spielman, author of The Life List and Sweet Forgiveness

“An uplifting journey…” Kirkus Reviews

About the Author

Julie Lawson Timmer grew up in Stratford, Ontario, Canada, and graduated from McMaster University before earning a law degree from Southern Methodist University in Texas. By turns, she is a writer, lawyer, mom/stepmom, and fledgling yogi. Her first novel, Five Days Left, received starred reviews from Kirkus Reviews and Library Journal; her second novel, Untethered, received a starred review from Library Journal and was praised by Kirkus Reviews as a “thoughtfully written and ultimately uplifting celebration of families that are not bound by blood or by law but by love.”

Timmer lives in Ann Arbor, Michigan, with her husband, Dan, their children, and two dogs. Visit her online at www.julielawsontimmer.com, on Facebook at www.facebook.com/JulieLawsonTimmerAuthor, on Twitter @JulieLTimmer, and on Instagram at www.instagram.com/julielawsontimmer.


Product details

  • File Size: 2415 KB
  • Print Length: 338 pages
  • Publisher: Lake Union Publishing (August 1, 2017)
  • Publication Date: August 1, 2017
  • Sold by: Amazon Digital Services LLC
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B01N1QH96F
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Enabled
  • Lending: Not Enabled
  • Screen Reader: Supported
  • Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #2,937 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  • Would you like to tell us about a lower price?


Customer reviews

Rated by customers interested in
Literary Fiction
4.1 out of 5 stars
4.1 out of 5 stars
Romance Novels
4.2 out of 5 stars
4.2 out of 5 stars
Sports Books
4.1 out of 5 stars
4.1 out of 5 stars

Top customer reviews

TOP 1000 REVIEWERon July 1, 2017
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
0Comment| 177 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 1, 2017
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
0Comment| 169 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 2, 2017
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
0Comment| 64 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 1, 2017
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
0Comment| 148 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 10, 2017
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 23, 2017
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 12, 2017
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 21, 2017
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Most recent customer reviews

Set up an Amazon Giveaway

Mrs. Saint and the Defectives: A Novel
Amazon Giveaway allows you to run promotional giveaways in order to create buzz, reward your audience, and attract new followers and customers. Learn more about Amazon Giveaway
This item: Mrs. Saint and the Defectives: A Novel