Customer Reviews: Salads for Every Season: 25 Salads from Earthbound Farm: A Workman Short
Amazon Vehicles Oct16 Amazon Fashion nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Electronics Holiday Gift Guide Starting at $39.99 Subscribe & Save Cozy Knits Book 2 or More Hours of House Cleaning on Amazon fin fin fin  All-New Echo Dot Starting at $89.99 All-New Kindle Oasis hhnsweeps Shop Cycling on Amazon

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on November 17, 2011
This review is for the Kindle version, here: Salads for Every Season

Wonderful book for salad-lovers! Salads are organized (in the detailed table of contents) by season (2 sections: Spring and Summer, Winter and Fall), and each season has both salad recipes and recipes for home-made salad-dressings. Recipes all include very clear directions, info on how many it serves, and color photos (a feature I LOVE! Can't see color photos on my Kindle-Keyboard, but they are beautiful in the Cloud reader, or Kindle-for-PC, iPod, and probably Fire).

There is also a really helpful section on identifying different greens/salad ingredients ("Field Guide to Salad Greens), with nice clear pictures of each type. The author has also added many little inset sections with helpful info that relates to the recipe is it near - examples: Salad Green Yields, About Ferro, How to Segment Citrus Fruits, About Jicama, Sesame Seed Oils, and many more - lots of helpful info in these.

There is a chapter about "Twelve Important Reasons to Choose Organic"

Recipes include many salads centered around "greens" but there are also many recipes for salads made with other ingredients as the main attraction - fruits, tomatoes, persimmon, bulgur, apples, and roast beef being examples.

I am definitely going to be using several of these recipes to expand my salad repertoire!
0Comment| 26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 17, 2011
Freebie Kindle book with pictures. Looks great on the new Kindle Touch. In addition to the salad recipes, there are pics of different lettuce types, how many cups each variety of lettuce yields, how to roast bell peppers, roast hazelnuts, make croutons, grow sprouts etc.. The author has included information on different salad ingredients which I found educational. For example, I have never eaten nor used persimmons in a salad before, so it was nice that she included the two main types, what to look for, when they are available and their taste/texture characteristics and if to cook them or eat them raw.

The book has a nice chatty feel to it. The author is actually one of the first people to market packaged salads and spring mixes for retail. She is an environmentalist and there is some "green speak" in the book.
11 comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon November 25, 2011
I wasn't expecting much from this Kindle book, esp. with only 25 recipes, beyond a disconnected compilation of salad recipes(which is what you often see in a short Kindle cookbook).

Instead, this book sets the bar higher for _all_ eBook cookbooks. It's very professionally done, with a colorful picture for every recipe and well-written intros, directions, ingredients and boxes with helpful information on unique salad ingredients or technique. The layout makes reading on a screen easy on the eyes.

Salads for Every Season is at its best on a Kindle Fire: Vibrant, colorful and very much like a nice cookbook in print (but more concise).

The content is divided into seasonal salads for Spring & Summer, Fall & Winter. The recipes follow through using seasonal ingredients--like fresh raspberries, bell peppers, basil for summer or pomegranate, apple, walnut for winter. The salads have fresh flavor combinations, for example:

Butter lettuce, raspberries and hazelnuts (summer)
Escarole with walnuts, dates, and bacon (winter)

Even better than the salads themselves, this cookbook has luscious-sounding homemade dressings and vinaigrettes. I can't wait to try the orange walnut vinaigrette or the tofu dill dressing.

Earthbound Farms founder, Myra Goodman, wrote the eBook recipes which are in fact compiled from two of her cookbooks, listed at the back of the eBook.

I absolutely recommend this ebook (even for a B&W kindle), and get it while it's still offered for free.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon January 6, 2013
I was delighted to get this short ebook for free, though it's totally worth the current $1.99 price (reduced from $2.99). I love salads, so maybe I'm a tad prejudiced?! In terms of size, shorter often is better than longer when it comes to choosing a recipe. Author Myra Goodman of EarthBound Farm reminds us salads "redefine fast food," and gives us a dozen reasons for going organic.

Useful guides and instructions include: "A Field Guide to Salad Greens" with descriptions and pictures; a chart of how much to buy and how much to allow per person for side salad or main-course salad; how to grow sprouts, roast sunflower seeds, toast nuts and seeds in oven, microwave, stovetop; how to blanch fruits and veggies; how to seed and peel a tomato...

You easily could scroll through the varieties of flavors, colors, textures, and tangs in Salad for Every Season to find something that fits the ingredients on hand, or you could vary any basic recipe to your own taste. A reader recommendation? I'd especially like to try some of the vinaigrette variations. Besides Salads and Salad Dressing divided into Spring and Summer / Fall and Winter sections, beautiful full-color photographs are worthy of a book you'll love to have on your bookshelf and hold in your hands.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 1, 2012
If you're stuck in a salad rut, this book will definitely kick-start you out of it!

After the introduction, there is a list of reasons to choose organic. Next there is a list of different types of greens, each with a color photograph and a description - very nice! The author also provides a list of yields by weight for different types of lettuce.

Nearly all the recipes have professional color photos. I like how the cookbook is organized by seasons as we shop the farmers markets a lot. There is a lot of good information tucked in throughout the book, from descriptions of ingredients many cooks may be less familiar items (persimmons, kohlrabi, Thai vs. Vietnamese fish sauce) to growing your own salad sprouts.

Every recipe in here looks marvelous. Some are similar to salads I already make, but many are very new to me. I have seen Grilled Romaine Salad on a restaurant menu, but never a recipe for it.

The book is formatted beautifully and very well-written. The Table of Contents lists salads in regular type and dressings in italics. There are many hyperlinks throughout the book.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 7, 2012
25 of the author's favorite salad recipes from her two cookbooks, divided into Spring/Summer and Fall/Winter sections, and a preachy "Twelve Important Reasons to Choose Organic" in a "special e-book short." Also includes a pictorial guide to the various kinds of salad greens.

I picked up this book free during an Amazon giveaway. I don't know that I agree with some of the "pleasantly bitter" comments on some types of greens, as I don't enjoy the bitter greens. I do like salads, but I'm not a big enough greens fan to want to try the Farm Stand Greek Salad, and I'm not a big fan of fruit and lettuce together, so wasn't interested in the fruit-intensive salads like Chopped Autumn Salad. Many of the recipes featured ingredients I don't care for (carrots, beets, radishes, goat cheese, dates) but the Strawberry-Tarragon Salad looked good. I can't wait to try the Caesar Vinaigrette and Spiced Candied Walnuts (not together). Goodman included an unusual potato salad recipe - neither mayo nor mustard based. There are a lot of tips/techniques boxes that are almost worth the price of the book by themselves. Spelling, grammar, and recipe organization were fine, and there are lovely color photos of the salads. The fully interactive Table of Contents was a joy to use (although a few of the links went to the wrong locations), as were the links in the recipes to referenced recipes and techniques. This would be a great gift for a salad fan or someone who has been griping they need to eat more greens.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 16, 2014
Yum! I've tried a number of salads from this book and I'm serving another tonight. Some of my family's recent favorites come from this collection. The Earthbound Farm recipes have stretched my imagination concerning what I consider "salad" and all to the better.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 23, 2013
I am a huge fan of cookbooks and salads, so this was just the book for me :) Not only did she give you a lot of information on some of the foods that she chose to put into her salads, but also had some recipes for some very delicious looking ones. A few I have even made. Quite good. Definitely recommend for people who like salads - or at least want to add a few more to their menus, especially since salads have the potential of being very boring.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 2, 2011
A small e-cookbook all about salad, one of my favorite things!

The author shows how you can eat salad year round using fresh in-season ingredients, whether it be light for summer or hearty for winter. In the beginning she gives a wonderful quick history of how earth bound farms came to be and also why going organic is best. The author also takes you through the different types of greens used in salad, what they are best used in and the flavors they impart. Along with many wonderful salad recipes there are also delicious dressing recipes throughout.
11 comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 13, 2012
True to the title this is packed with salads for every season complete with interesting and informative information about ingredients, (Jalapenos, oils and much more...) and healthy eating. The instructions are easy to understand and well formatted. Many of the recipes are beautifully photographed. I highly recommend!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here