Lyft Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited GNO for iPhone 8 Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon MozartintheJungle MozartintheJungle MozartintheJungle  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Tailgating ToyHW17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 939 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 1,221 reviews
on August 14, 2017
angelinina joley , plays a different kind of a role in this movie, her name in the show is Evelyn salt,
as a child she grew up in the soviet union and was trained to be a double spy and a killer
if she needed to be, as the years pass and she gets older, she comes to the united states and
works for the C.I.A. for the white house, she works with close government secrets
and becomes a trusted women to interrogate people , she eventually marries a man,
without knowing that's a soviet spy himself at one point she is doing her job
and a man from Russia shows up to the white house to give the the C.IA some
secret news to help them with a important investigation, he tells Evelyn this
long drawn out story and she does not believe a word of it and neither does her partner in crime.
he has a plane to catch a and Evelyn wants to go be with her husband, she tries to call him
on her cell and all she gets is a message, the man from Russia ends up escaping and killing
some of the security in a elevator and salt finds out she has been accused of being a Russian spy and she runs and
is on the lose herself there is a lot of fighting and gunfire and all she wants is her husband and to clear her name
this does not happen, but the rest of the show is very good and it turns out to be more than you might have thought,
the show will keep you on the end of your chair and you will enjoy all the action from Angelina and other actors you
might recognize, and a very good watch !
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 20, 2016
This film is similar to "Red" and "Knight and Day." An adventure that's really well made. The stunt doubles should receive academy awards for the extreme and incredible stuff they do. It's another unrealistic fantasy, filled with near death experiences and car chases. and fast paced shoot-em-up action. A lot of fun to watch if you aren't spoiled by analyzing all the improbable stuff that goes on. Kids would love it. Since I never grew up, I loved it too.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 6, 2017
I watched this several times when it was TV and decided it's really a very good movie and the intricate plot is just mind boggling. So I bought it so I can watch it again. it keeps you on the edge of your seat.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 9, 2017
I truly enjoyed SALT and Angelina Jolie's performance. I wanted a SALT II! Espionage and foreign diplomacy are awesome when telling historical fiction accounts especially with U.S., Russia, and North Korea's current relations. I don't know if its the video but sometimes, the quality was fuzzy. Nevertheless, SALT is one of my all time favorite films dealing with diplomatic relationships, spies, and action.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 1, 2012
Salt (2010 Columbia) starring Angelina Jolie and directed by Philip Noyce is a duplication and update of a well done French classic movie make in 1990 titled La Femme Nikita (1990 France) starring Anne Parillaud and directed by Luc Beeson.

See the "Alternatiave Ending" version of this movie.....it's better, makes better sense, should have been chosen as the "primary" or "main" version of the movie released to movie houses. The Alternative version ending is very intelligent and satisfying in a way the "official," "main" version of the movie is not. Nuff said!

Well....more about that....(to drive the point home!)......

The "Alternative Ending" version of "Salt" (2010) available on DVD's with several variations of the movie is the best one, and all interested in the great "Salt" movie should see that version, rather than the version which was released to the movie houses in 2010, and which is the "default" "official," and "main" version viewers see unless they visit the "special features" section of the DVD of "Salt" and choose the "alternative ending."

To get back to the comparison of "Salt" (2010) with "La Femme Nikita" (1990), both movies are about beautiful females who look like high fashion ramp models, both unusually underweight with exotic faces and thick, sensuous lips, who are recruited, manipulated, forced to become government assassins, and who murder many innocent people in cold blood 'doing their job" during the course of the story and the movie, but in the end "jump ship" and escape from their government manipulator puppet-masters, and disappear at the end of both movies to an unknown and uncertain future....the price both women pay for escaping from their roles as forced government assassins.

Both movies demonstrate and assert that the classical "femme fa tale" may be part of a story which has almost nothing to do with romance or connection with any male, and also that the female protagonist in an action/ mystery story (both Salt and La Femme Nikita are action/ mystery stories) can be capable of astonishing feats of physical prowess and strength against male antagonists in which the female wins physical fights and the males lose....repeatedly.

Both Angelina Jolie as "Evelyn Salt" in SALT and Anne Parillaud (one of the top fashion models in France before she became a movie star) as "Nikita" retire from the stories both star in "undefeated" in all serious contests they engage in....the men they come up against always lose, the female protagonists always win.

The female protagonists never face female antagonists in either movie, which is significant.

The Salt (2010) movie uses a lot of tricky editing and fast paced cutting to assist Angelina Jolie 'do her thing" beating up men and doing Harrison Ford style action miracles which would easily kill most people....

The La Femme Nikita (1990) movie is smoother, and more believable for that reason, and probably the better of the two movies for that reason.....it is much less a "video-game" Dark Knight type movie, relies far less on gimmicks and technical/ digital tricks.....

Salt (2010) starring Angelina Jolie lacks the needed humorous and human intervals provided in La Femme Nikita (1990). The main female character in Salt (2010) is much less lovable and far more driven...she really does stay "on task" and is almost a machine as military ideal soldiers are supposed to be. Women may or may not be capable of all the superstar action and heroic stunts Angelina Jolie performs as the "Evelyn Salt" character, but such ladies are like the napkins neatly folded for wedding anniversaries Angelina Jolie ("Salt") comments on at the start of the movie..."Not too sexy." How true, how true.

But Salt is a good movie worth seeing....so, of course is/was La Femme Nikita (1990).

The DVD disc version for home viewing I bought included three different versions of the movie, including an "extended cut" which showed and alternative ending and at least one key part earlier in the movie changed to fit the alternative ending. I can see why the version ultimately released in movie houses and offered as the "official version" was chosen. The released version (the "official" one) is more logical, and the ending is closer to La Femme Nikita (1990 French).

Both Salt (2010) and La Femme Nikita (1990) examine the potential and unexpected physical and mental power of beautiful females built like super-models one sees on Vogue Magazine covers, and almost never in Hollywood (or French) action movies.

Both are good movies. We need more just like them....odd that it took 20 years for Salt (2010) to pick up where La Femme Nikita (1990) left off.

--------

Written by Tex Allen, SAG Actor.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 19, 2011
Now, I am the first to admit that I am a big Jason Bourne fan. Matt delivers every single time. But I relunctly rented Salt because I was thinking what harm could be done watching this movie on a gloomy Saturday afternoon. Well imagine my shock when I realized anyone who wasn't working with Comrade Evelyn Salt was done serious harm. The movie proved that SALT is a force to be reckoned with. I was on the edge of my chair from the moment Orlov was seated in the interrogation room until the very end of the movie. I love suspense movies; and because I have seen enough of them; many are so predictable. Well as another poster mentioned, you didn't have to know what side Salt was working for (Russia or America) to be pulled into the action and rooting for her to find her husband. It wasn't until you see her husband killed, that you realize she really loved him and her adopted country. So except for the fact that I did sense Ted Winter might be the other assassin, especially when he was riding in the elevator with the President, that was fairly obvious. Otherwise, I thought the movie was brilliantly directly. Hope to see Miss Jolie in Tomb Raider next year. This actress got skills.
11 comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 2, 2017
Great action adventure film and one of ny favorites with Angelina. Also bought tgr bluray for a ridiculousky great price
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 15, 2017
saw this movie once before
i also like this concept for a movie
well executed
angelina jolie is a great star
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 16, 2017
Not one of her best. Watchable once. As soon as you know what the overall plot will follow it jus fizzled out for me.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 4, 2017
Angelina Jolie and Liev Schreiber are just plain, old fashioned, excellent actors. This is a fun show with lots of shooting and fighting and all the sort of shoot-em-up stuff I enjoy. But the acting is what makes this many times better than a Segal or Van Damme formulaic. The script gives all the actors something to work with and Jolie sells it like the pro she is. This is well worth viewing more than once so buy rather than rent.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse