Your Garage Luxury Beauty Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Mother's Day Gifts hgg17 Shop Popular Services animestrike animestrike animestrike  Introducing Echo Look Starting at $49.99 Kindle Oasis Trade it in. Fund the next. National Bike Month on Amazon disgotg_gno_17

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 3,563 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 4,011 reviews
on August 30, 2011
I am a big old fat geek that recently got into doing...(GASP!)...exercising.

I have many MP3 capable products and reasons why I am very fond of this little one for my new found effort. I have the following list of products and have tried my:

Nexus S (too big and heavy for running, no physical buttons)
iPod touch 4th Gen (Big, expensive at the storage size i wanted and no buttons for music controls)
iPod Nano 4thGen (little, has a clip, but why the hell can't they include buttons?)
iPod shuffle (not enough storage and I don't want to mix in my metal songs from lifting weights into my up beat running songs...)

Likes:
The clip Zip sounds great, is very small, has a clip and has physical buttons.

It fits every need i want. The bonus is the MicroSD slot, I can not stress this enough. Skip the 8GB version and get the 4GB and pair it with a 16 or 32GB card. Bam 20-36GB of storage, insanely small and still clocks in under $100.

FLAC support.

Low rez color screen does what it needs to. Won't knock people over but tells you whats playing with album art.

As for the other areas, the stop watch works like a stop watch...It keeps time and does splits. Not a huge thing and if you are using a polar watch or at a gym, the machine you are on will do just as well and be more convenient. In a pinch it works.

The FM radio works fine. I live in a rural area, so my station choices are limited. From my experience, it works just fine if you are in an area with good recption.

Dislikes:
*UPDATE* MM works on updated firmware...still broken on stock firmware. Drag and drop also works, so you have that going for you.

General gripe: The included headphones are perfect for giving to people you hate. You can use them, i guess, if you want to torture yourself, but like any MP3 player, Apple or otherwise, get some better phones...your ears and your music will appreciate it.

Considering you would need to pay twice as much for an iPod with fewer features, no physical buttons and no storage expansion, just to run in a hampster wheel, save your scratch and get this guy. You will be glad you did, as it looks good, sounds good and does a it in a small package that just screams to be used in your fitness routine.

Update of an update: A new firmware patch was released, make sure to update your new Clip Zip or you will experience the "Static Blast" between some of your songs...not fun, but it has been addressed, so make sure to update right away.
9595 comments| 1,949 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 4, 2011
The Sansa Clip Zip sounded like just what I wanted -- a small, inexpensive, clip-on mp3 player to use while I exercise. I was wrong. I listen to audiobooks while I exercise, and despite Sansa's product description the Clip Zip doesn't do that.

When I manually load audiobook mp3 files on the Clip Zip, it classifies them as songs on different albums by one artist. If I select "artist" it plays all the 'track #1s' in sequence and then all the 'track #2s', etc. If I choose "album" it plays that set of files but then I have to search around for the next cryptically-named "album" in the book. That works, sort of, but who wants to stop exercising to fiddle around with an mp3 player for 10 minutes searching for the next section of a book?

When I use Windows Media Player to make a playlist of an audiobook's tracks and then sync them with the Sansa, the process fails -- no playlist is on the Sansa and the book is organized exactly as it was using drag-and-drop.

Same thing happens with iTunes, except iTunes itself crashes half the time too.

Audible.com books? Sorry, the audible format is not supported.

If you want to listen to music on a cheap mp3 player, buy the Clip Zip. If you want to play an audiobook, forget about it -- it's useless.

Addendum:
Several people have offered comments and work-arounds that have been very helpful. First of all, the problem with Audible compatibility apparently belongs to Audible.com, not SanDisk. Second, Windows Media Player does work with the Clip Zip. Third, even without built-in Audible support, you can manually add Audible books to the Clip Zip.

I've added one star to my rating. It's OK as it is now and when Audible.com (an Amazon subsidiary, BTW) changes the Audible Manager it should move up to "pretty good" rating -- actually a "good for the price" rating.

Second addendum (December 15, 2011):
1) I'm told that Audible.com now supports this device.
2) There's a workaround for the problem I had with playing mp3 audiobooks. Both Andy Sexton and John R. Ridley came up with the workaround and posted it in the comments to this review. Quoting Mr. Ridley: "If you put audiobooks into the audiobook folder, or set the genre in the MP3 tags as "AUDIOBOOK" the Clip Zip will handle them properly, with proper resume points and no need to make playlists or anything." Thank you Andy and John!

Third addendum (April 26, 2013)
Apparently here are workarounds for the mp3 file order problem that I experienced.
Fred Langa with WindowsSecrets.com says: "There are other tricks and workarounds, too, that enthusiasts have developed for copying and playing audiobook chapters, MP3s, or other media files in a specific order. For example, see the AnandTech forum thread, 'Tell Windows the order in which to copy files?' ([...] or the MurrayMoffatt.com article, 'Sort MP3 files on MP3 player' ([...]"
112112 comments| 733 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 3, 2012
Let me start off with the bottom line. Buy this player. Period.

Ok,with that out of the way let me tell you why. I am a complete tech geek. I built my own computer AND server and have the usual assortment of laptops, mobile phones, netbooks, and other assorted tech items. I decided I wanted a compact music player because there are times I don't want to use my mobile phone as a music player. Sometimes I want something really small and light. With my tech background my standards were pretty high for what I wanted out of an MP3 player and of everything I looked at, including the various iPods, this was the ONLY player that met all my criteria.

PROs: Super small and light. In fact, if it had been any smaller it would have been TOO small. One complaint some people have with the newest generation iPod is that it's so small they have a hard time manipulating the controls. The Clip Zip has actual buttons you can press which makes control very easy. And don't worry about accidentally hitting a button and screwing up your music. If you tap the power button on top it locks all the buttons except the volume control so that won't happen.

Has a small screen so you can actually select what you want to hear and displays album art if you have it installed.

All the usual music selection options. You can search by artist, album, song, genera, or even by folder or playlist.

SD CARD SLOT!!! This was the most important feature to me. It will take up to a 32 GB MicroSD card. 32 Gigs. Do you understand how much music will fit on that? I have every CD I own installed to an SD card, over 7500 songs, and it only takes 18.5 GB using Windows Media format. Even better, when you pop in an SD card the player takes only a few seconds to scan it and update its internal database. So even if you have 50,000 songs you could just copy them all to a couple of different SD cards and switch them in and out. There are only a small handful of players on the market with this feature and it gives you AMAZING flexibility in using your player. Want to just cram a ton of music on there? Go for it. Want to use a lossless, high quality format like FLAC so your music sounds perfect but don't want to be stuck with only a handful of songs on your player? No problem, grab a few cards and take as much as you like.

When you first get a blank card install it in the player and go to "system settings". Chose "format" and select "external card". The player will format your card for you and install a folder titled "MUSIC" on it. Just drag and drop any music folders you have saved on your computer here and install it in your player. The player reads the card, organizes the files, and you're ready to listen to music.

File Options. It accepts an amazingly wide range of file formats. MP3, WMA, Flac, even the various iTunes formats.

Built in FM radio. Less important these days but still a nice option to have sometimes. And it even does autoscan for stations.

SANSA Updater. If you go to the Sandisk website to the clip zip page you can download their installer. First, it upgrades the firmware on the player. DO THAT. But more important it also installs a small updater program. When you connect your player it pops open and gives you different options including syncing with different folders or just dragging music onto your player. You can use it to create playlists right on the player. Or, if you already have playlists on your windows media player you can sync with those instead.

CONs: Nothing is perfect and this is no exception. First, it is a very light plastic player. If you step on it or sit on it you WILL break it. Duh.

It seems to have a problems with songs recorded in iTunes format. Checking on line it has to do with the way iTunes tags certain songs. A few years ago iTunes adjusted the way they tag songs based on if they were DRM protected. I had a mix of old and new songs in my iTunes folder and if I tried to install them the player would hang up. Deleting the music from the player solved the problem. There is no such problem with ANY windows based format. Personally, I have seen this as yet another problem with Apple being not quite compatible with everything else and not a player problem.

Slow file transfer. Dragging music onto your player is kinda slow. Not a huge deal since you are unlikely to do it very often. It's even less of a big deal because you can take the SD card out and copy music directly to the card, then just pop it back in. In truth, even burning directly to an SD card can take a while if you have a lot of music. I copied 12 GB at once at it took almost an hour. But again, how often are you going to need to do that?

CONCLUSION: The bottom line here is this is an amazingly good MP3 player. Is it perfect? No, obviously not. But there are a lot of players on the market with fewer options for a lot more money. I spent several days researching every player on the market and the Clip Zip has the best combination of options at the best price, hands down.
22 comments| 272 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 18, 2011
I bought this little guy to replace a 6th Gen iPad Nano. My main complaints about the Nano:

1. No buttons, difficult to work with it when you are running or working out. Difficult to pause when a co-worker arrives at your desk.
2. I'm a Linux guy. The 6th gen iPod nano is not compatible with any Linux drivers. Will not work with gtk-pod. Running a VM just for an iPod is a drag.
3. You're stuck with the storage size you buy.

Don't get me wrong, I really did like the Nano, but for my usage patterns it was not ideal. The Zip Clip takes care of the above problems and then some.

1. Buttons are easy to find and navigate, even when you are not using your eyes.
2. You can load it just using your raw MP3's or MTP mode using Rhythmbox on Linux, and lots of other music managers on other platforms.
3. Stick a microSD card in it and bam, you now have a 36 GB portable music player.
4. Bonus, the Zip Clip has a custom EQ mode as well as presets, so you can make your music sound just the way you want.
5. Bonus, the Zip Clip supports the leveling encoded in your MP3's or albums. Yes, the iPod has sound check but that's all secret voodoo stuff and only works with their own files.

The size is a bit bigger than the nano but it's made of plastic and is nearly the same weight (Zip Clip is 25 grams, nano is 20.) I clip it on my watchband when I'm working out. It also dangles from my lanyard when I'm working. My RSA fob and badge weigh way more than the Zip Clip.

I'm really happy with this thing, it does exactly what I want it to do. Dealing with the iPod was becoming rather frustrating to a non-Apple guy and I find that the Zip Clip has a couple added features that make it work and sound better than the iPod. Me like.
11 comment| 92 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 1, 2012
To be honest, I have to say that this product has quality sound, good size and weight BUT it has a weak mini USB port '
It only last 2 months of regular usage ...
I tried to make the warranty valid and here is what I got:

Hi good morning,
I need to send my SanDisk for repair ... can you help me ?
Thanks,
Rubén Anuar .'.

Dear Ruben,
Thanks for emailing SanDisk Technical Support. It is our goal to make sure you have all the resources you need to get the most from your product.
I understand that you player is broken and not working.
We really apologize for the inconvenience, SanDisk does not provide any repair services or replacement parts for Sansa players. We only replace the product if they are not functional. We just want to know how did it break.
Please provide the following information to register the product:
1. Your Phone Number, Exact Model and Capacity of your Player?
2. Product code written on the Sansa player (Please provide all the codes written on the Sansa player)
3. Your complete physical address ( No P.O. Box please )
4. From where did you purchase this product?
5. Exact or approximate Date of Purchase of the product in the format of MM/DD/YYYY
6. Is there any R or Refurb logo on the player?

1.- (XXX) XXX XXXX, Clip Zip 4G
2.- BH1111CFEK-4GB
3.- XXXX XXXXX 79907 El Paso, Tx.
4.- I bought it @ Amazon.com
5.- The exact day was: February 15, 2012
6.-There's no R logo on the player
Thanks and have a good weekend,
Rubén Anuar .'.

Dear Ruben,
Thanks for emailing SanDisk Technical Support. It is our goal to make sure you have all the resources you need to get the most from your product.
We appreciate your continued response and we will be glad to assist you again. Please provide the following information in order to isolate the issue and to assist you better:
- How did the port break on the Sansa Player?
- Was the port on the player overstressed in any manner?
- Was the Player fell from a height?
- Is there any other sign of physical damage on the player?

- How did the port break on the Sansa Player?
I connected it and I felt it rare ... I disconnected it and reconnected it again and I noticed that it was misaligned but it charged it full ...
Then I used it until next charged need it ... I tried to connected it again but I couldn't because the port was loose ... after a couple of tries, the port fall off ...
- Was the port on the player overstressed in any manner?
No, just regular plug in and out ... I have like 5 other products that I use the same USB charger cable and they are just fine ...
- Was the Player fell from a height?
No, I am very careful with ALL my electronics
- Is there any other sign of physical damage on the player?
No, is just the connector ...
I actually send you pictures of the mp3, you can corroborate that information
Rubén Anuar .'.

Dear Ruben,
Thanks for emailing SanDisk Technical Support. It is our goal to make sure you have all the resources you need to get the most from your product.
We appreciate your continued response and we will be glad to assist you again. However, after reviewing the pictures provided by you about the Sansa Player, we have concluded that this is a physical damage to the player and physical damages are not covered under SanDisk warranty policy. Therefore, we would not be able to replace the player for you.
In case you want to purchase a new Sansa Player from our online store, please click on the link given below:
- Sansa Players:
[...]
If you wish to purchase any one of our Sansa Players from our online store, then you can avail a 10% discount on your purchase. You can use the promo code: X998W to avail this discount while placing your order. This promo code is case sensitive.

I'm an Engineer and I have been working in validation of products for several years ...
I know there are different test to ensure performance for a few years of regular usage ...
This mp3 player should survive to thousands of plug-ins and outs ...
But it's ok, I just wanted to let you know the weaknesses of your product ... in fact I have the responsibility to share this story with other costumers at Amazon ...
Thanks for your valuable support,
Rubén Anuar .'.
review image review image
66 comments| 78 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 2, 2011
While the smartphone replaces most pmps and mp3 players, would you want to drop your 500-700 dollar phone while running or at the gym and risk breaking it? Enter the Clip Zip. For a mere 100 dollars you can have a 36gb mp3 (4gb + 32gb microsd card) player that is the size of a book of matches, and has amazing sound quality. The improvements over the clip+ include a color screen for album art, support for your aac files, and alphabetical browsing. You can either drag and drop files directly onto the player, or use third party software (I prefer media monkey.) The only con is battery life, but you will still get around 9-12hrs of playback if you are not listening to flac files. Bottom line, if you workout, run, cycle, lift weights or are just an active music listener, the clip zip is a must.

Pros:
Portability
Sound Quality
Expandable Memory
Does not tie you down to specific software
Supports flac, wav, mp3, aac.
Price

Cons:
Battery Life could be better
Included headphones definitely do not do the player justice.
0Comment| 56 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 22, 2014
The Sansa Clip Zip seems to be mostly solidly-built. The size is small, and the buttons are easy to press.

Positives:

Small size.

Good sound quality.

Supports multiple file formats, including MP3, FLAC, WMA, WAV, and more.

Radio.

Color screen, which is a little low-res, but still does the job of displaying important information.

Supports album art.

Supports MSC mode.

Battery life seems to be good.

Allows charging and playing at the same time.

Uses standard micro USB connector.

Expandable via microSD card up to 32GB.

Allows you to display all music from both internal memory and microSD in one list.

Menu UI is simple and easy to use.

Negatives:

Firmware has some problems. Freezes up on some MP3 files, seems to be an issue with tags. The player has a problem with certain tags. Shipping firmware reintroduces a bug from a former version, sometimes a burst of static or noise will be played between tracks.

Does not support PNG files for album art, only JPG. And album art has a limit of 100KB.

Changing tracks on a microSD card has a delay of several seconds. If the song has album art, it's even longer. Each time you switch tracks if the track doesn't have album art, the player loads up another generic background image. So if you have several tracks without album art, it will reload a new image each time, slowing it down. There is no way to turn this off.

No time elapsed/time total or track position info when playing music, despite being requested over and over on SanDisk's customer forums.

Player removes "A" and "The" from the beginning of the display of track titles. This cannot be turned off.

Every time you connect the player to a computer, when you unplug it, it refreshes its database, and goes into "Refreshing your media" mode, where the player is unresponsive, and unable to be used until this completes. The more music you have, the longer this is.

The "up" button is slightly harder to press than the others, but that's because the others have a free side, and the "up" one does not, so it's not a really big deal.

Included cable is ridiculously short, like all Sansa Clip players. It's 3 inches long. Fine for a laptop, but no other applications. Be sure to buy a longer micro USB cable if you intend to use this with a desktop computer, or charge it with an adaptor.

The firmware which is included with it is problematic. I had a specific MP3 that it would freeze on, and the player wouldn't do anything until several seconds had gone by, and it would skip to another one. The firmware which comes on shipping units is a version number higher than the available one on SanDisk's website. It is recommended if you get this player to downgrade to the previous firmware, because the current one introduces several bugs, and sometimes plays a burst of static or noise between tracks.

Features such as elapsed time/total time and track position info for music have never been implemented, despite being asked for for years in threads for feature requests by SanDisk employees on the SanDisk forums.

I haven't had it long enough to see if there is any longevity problems, but it seems like there are hit and miss players. Some work fine, others stop working fast.

The hardware of the player is good, but the firmware is flawed. Using Rockbox is recommended. It fixes all of these problems but one (album art still cannot be in PNG format, but there is no size limit.) Boot time is also much faster. The stock firmware takes 10-15 seconds to boot. Rockbox 1 second. Shutdown also takes about 1 second, where the stock firmware takes about 5 seconds. Battery life has been reported to be even longer under Rockbox in most cases. There is also a theme available which reproduces the default firmware look about 90% (it doesn't reproduce the main menu of the firmware, it uses Rockbox's instead), if you are interesting in keeping the default look. My rating for the player with the default firmware is 3 stars. But I didn't think it was fair to rate it that. My rating is the player with Rockbox installed. If you get this player, Rockbox it.
22 comments| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 18, 2015
I have probably owned close to a dozen Sandisk Sansa players over the years. I have had the Clip, Clip+, Clip Zip, and even had a Sport for a short while. While I did have a couple of the early Clip versions freeze up on me with no recourse other than to discard and buy another, most have served me well considering the torture I put them through. Working in a factory with welding, grinding and a dust that permeates everything is hard on any electronic device. Add to that the incessant button pushing, constant strain and pulls on headphone cord, and more than occasional drop to cement floor it would be easy for any device to prematurely fail. Yet all but the afore mentioned Clip versions have survived, that is until some point where either the battery began to not hold a charge long enough or some freak accident caused serious irreparable damage (stepped on usually). I can honestly say that I have never broken the spring loaded clip that clips the player to your clothes. While I have worn off the button symbols from use I have never had a button failure. Never had a screen crack. Never had a headphone jack failure or short (wish I could say the same for headphones). I have also never had an issue with connecting to, downloading from, or charging from the USB port. Battery life has been nothing short of excellent. My current 2 year old player will hold a charge and play at full volume for nearly 10 hours still, and it has seen daily use. Unfortunately these won't be around much longer. Starting with the new Sport version Sansa has gone cheap. Which was why I returned it and paid more for this version, I know it will last.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 13, 2013
Recently got fed up with my iPod Color Photo 4th gen MP3 player because it kept locking up for no apparent reason.
After searching the net I found the Sansa Clip Zip 8GB at a reasonable price through Amazon
Also got a 32GB micro class 10 card to slip into the Clip.

Very easy to operate and Windows XP and 7 don't have any problem finding it when I hook it into a USB port.
Just about everything is Drag and Drop through Explorer and you have the ability to make folders and playlists as well.
It even has a "Go-List" that lets you add favorites as they're playing.

I'm using Skull Candy Ear Buds which have a good frequency response.
The built in graphic equalizer allow you to taylor the sound to the ear buds that you're using.
The buds that come with the unit are marginal at best, but hey, I didn't buy the Clip for the ear buds I bought it for the music capabilities.

The FM radio and Recorder function, to me, are nice plus as well.

I've got over 20GB of music on mine in various directories and playlists.
I use it for the gym and in my car through the cassette adapter in my radio.
No complaints, in fact, I like this unit better than my iPod, (I'm so fed up with Apple and their proprietary software anyway), I'm not even gonna look back.

Absolutely worth the price and very easy to use - That's the bottom line.

-v-

Update: 08-21-2013

Have had the Sansa Clip Zip just over a month and absolutely no problems at all.

Battery life is around 10 hours on average. I let the battery drain and then recharge.
I found an LG phone charger that that I wasn't using anymore that outputs the same voltage that's needed to charge the Sansa.
It works very well so I don't have to plug the unit into my computer for charging.
I plug it into my computer for updating and moving music around.
I've not experienced any lockups nor have I had to reset the player.

I have about 7GB of music on the player, (8GB player purchased), and another 20+GB on the 32GB card.
Still using the standard Sansa interface, (GUI), with no problems whatsoever.
So there's no reason for me to use Rockbox or any other interface.

The unit is simple and dependable. It does what it's supposed to do - It plays music.
The FM radio works great in the Gym for listening to news and the Voice Recorder also works without having to remove the Gummie Protector that I purchased for it.

Bottom line:
To me the Sansa Clip Zip is an excellent piece of equipment for MP3's. Simple to use and reliable.
If you want more you'll have to look for something else to use.
This unit puts my iPod Photo to shame and I don't even know I wearing the Clip half the time it's so light.

Enjoy
-v-
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This mp3 play is the best of the best! I have had tons of them in the past going back at least 15 years now. Technology has improved through the ensuing decades from when this type of devise was first introduced. One cannot do much better than the SanDisk Sansa Zip. it is tiny but can store tons and tons of books or music files. I clip mine onto my shirt pocket and use a unibud short cord earphone when I am gardening or doing projects which don't involve a lot of concentration. I also subscribe to audible hence have a large supply of downloaded books which fit very nicely on this devise. I prefer this product over the Sandisk Fuse, esp when driving - because the fuse has a "hair trigger" screen. Seems like you just think about touching the fuse and it reacts. The fuse is totally unsuitable for driving because you need to actually look at it to change tracts or pause or backspace or whatever. Not so with this devise. it is NOT touch screen (unlike the Fuze) so you have to physically click it to make it respond. In short order, you will memorize the location of the buttons and you can do so without looking at the devise - handy when driving. Also, it does not have a "hair trigger" so you can't change it by breathing on it (I exaggerate but you get the point). It is hard to say enough positive comments on this little devise. it is the best all around mp3 player I have ever owned - and I have had a ton of them. Several points which folks might find useful. When listening in the car or at home doing desk work - during times when one is likely to pause the devise to concentrate on something - keep it plugged in vs running on battery. Why you ask? Well if you run it on battery and you pause it, the devise will shut off in short order. Then when you are ready to resume listening - say after a tight spot in traffic wherein you shut your audiobook off - you have to restart the devise and it will need to reboot. If you keep it plugged in to your cigarette lighter jack and you pause it, the devise will not shut down. Now when you hit the replay button, it will start up immediately where it left off without the need to turn on and reboot. Not a huge deal but it makes life simpler. Same with desk work. If you plug it in to an outlet vs running it on battery. Now - when plugged in and you need to pause it - say to answer the phone, or concentrate on something you are doing - it will start right up again after you hit the resume button. No need to wait for the thing to reboot. Other times you DO need to run it on battery - say when you are gardening or cleaning the house or whatever. Here, however, you are less likely to pause it. No need to concentrate much in these settings so you are less likely to shut it off.

Now the way you keep it plugged in is to also buy either a dc or an ac (depending on whether you are in your car or at your desk) charging devise. Here are links to both and a highly recommend you get one of each.
AC: http://www.amazon.com/Belkin-Micro-Charger-Charge-iPhone/dp/B004CLYIZG/ref=pd_bxgy_cps_img_y
DC: http://www.amazon.com/Belkin-F8Z446ttP-iPhone-Charger-ChargeSync/dp/B0047T79TU/ref=sr_1_cc_1?s=aps&ie=UTF8&qid=1404782931&sr=1-1-catcorr&keywords=belkin+micro+charger

The devise comes with the cable so you don't actually need to buy a usb cable to plug into these charger but one can never have too many usb cables. I personally like the colored ones so I have something akin to this item http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00KIBPOUC?psc=1. I like to use a different color for my various devises but that is just me. If your budget is limited, the cable with comes with the devise is enough.

One last thing. It is a very tiny devise and easy to get lost if you are not wearing a shirt with a top pocket. Accordingly, I have also purchased something akin to this item
http://www.amazon.com/Fuel-Card-Key-Ring-Specialist/dp/B004LU5SPW/ref=sr_1_19?ie=UTF8&qid=1404783298&sr=8-19&keywords=plastic+credit+card

I attach a lanyard to it and wear it around my neck when gardening, traveling on a plane, walking/hiking etc. The devise is small enough to fit inside along with a short unibud ear piece. The devise will not get lost and it is ever handy esp on a plane when one can simply pull it out and start listening. Audiobooks makes a 5 hour flight go buy much more quickly and saves the hassle of rummaging through the carry on bag looking for the devise. This devise is very tiny so it can easily slip out of a pocket. This system is esp useful when checking into a hotel after listening to it while driving for several hours. It keeps the devise safe and handy so you can pick right up where you left off when you arrive in your room and start to settle in. A small earbud will fit right into the plastic case as well so you will have both at your finger tips at all times. Handy when you are listening to a really good book. I also keep a charger and an extra cable in my toiletry kit so it is always handy once I arrive at my hotel room. These items are cheap enough that an extra can be stowed away and one need not worry about forgetting to pack the charger. There is nothing worse than being engrossed in a great book while traveling, having a dead battery on your mp3 player and then remembering that your charger is on your nightstand at home. Questions? email me at brennele@npceu.com
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse