BCA Month Beauty Ali: A Life Hallo nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited PCB for Musical Instruments $69.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags hgg17 Save $30 on a Deep Cleaning Appointment Baby Driver Available to Rent Baby Driver Available to Rent Baby Driver Available to Rent  Three new members of the Echo family All-New Fire HD 8 Kids Edition, starting at $129.99 All-New Kindle Oasis South Park Shop Now PSFF17_gno



on May 3, 2015
This book could have been written today, except much of what the author has written about has since disappeared. Published in 1949, the book is a thoughtful look at conservation then and a warning for the future. In some ways it is hopeful to see that people more than half a century ago recognized the need for less chemicals and the natural order of nature. In other ways it is disheartening to see that it has taken almost 70 years for sustainability, permaculture and the like to come back into vogue, when this is the way we should have been farming all along. The book is rich with description, filled with a thoughtfulness unlike what many in our face-paced world today take time to see. This is a book I will read and re-read many times.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 29, 2017
Haven't finished it yet but his writing is much more expressive and poetic than I thought it would be. If you like trees, animals and nature you will like this clasic.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 14, 2015
Written in 1949..a great read for those who are interested in and love nature. A secular viewpoint from Aldo Leopold, a naturalist, who knew and walked with the environment. Lovely descriptions and stories about animals, trees, etc.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 8, 2017
Classic! The book is memorable for its spiritual value.
A must read for anyone who wants to think out of the square.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 17, 2017
If you like nature and only somewhat like to read this is the book for you. It is written as short stories or essays, it is very interesting, and very easy to read. This is the 4th copy I've bought the first three I gave to others as gifts and all said they really enjoyed the read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 16, 2017
Beautiful book with stunning pictures that go well with the Essays by Aldo. :)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 9, 2017
I was introduced to the author by researching and constructing a comfortable wooden bench he designed during his career as a conservationist. Join Aldo and his dog as they rise early and watch the sun come up over the pine woodland he and his family restored from a worn out Wisconsin farm. It has helped me to further appreciate the glory of Creation in my own neck of the woods.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 14, 2017
Absolute poetry to read. I got it for a class but I ended up reading it out of enjoyment as well.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 9, 2001
I have read this book again - and it's even better the second time around. If anyone is remotely interested in the "man vs. nature" debate - this book is a must read. "The last word in ignorance is the man who says of an animal or plant: 'What good is it?' If the land mechanism as a whole is good, then every part is good, whether we understand it or not. If the biota, in the course of aeons, has built something we like but do not understand, then who but a fool would discard seemingly useless parts? To keep every cog and wheel is the first precaution of intelligent tinkering."
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 26, 2012
I read this book for an environmental history class my freshman year of college and the ideas from this book sprung up all over the place in the environmental classes I have taken since. This is definitely a must read for anybody interested in environmental issues. It reads smoothely, quickly and it just makes sense. It will definitely open your eyes to new ways of thinking about the environment.

As far as this printing goes, the book is in a nice small racksize or mass market paperback format, with illustrations. Amazon (and maybe bookstores in general) don't have any new printings available other than that ~$30 hardcover one. Getting an older, paperback printing from a third party seller for ~$6 is definitely the way to go, but I am disappointed that I can't seem to find a new printing reasonably priced in paperback.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse