Buy New
Free Shipping for Prime Members
FREE Shipping
Get free shipping
Free 5-8 business-day shipping within the U.S. when you order $25 of eligible items sold or fulfilled by Amazon.
Or get 4-5 business-day shipping on this item for $5.99. (Prices may vary for AK and HI.)
Learn more about free shipping
on orders over $25—or get FREE Two-Day Shipping with Amazon Prime
In Stock.
Ships from and sold by Gift-wrap available.
The Santa Fe Trail has been added to your Cart
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

The Santa Fe Trail

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
New from Used from
Audio CD, September 9, 2013
Note: This product is manufactured on demand when ordered from [Learn more]

Editorial Reviews

Low & Lonesome Sea (3:53)
Little Musgrave (6:32)
Arkansas Sheik (2:44)
I Ride An Old Paint (2:40)
John Hardy (7:12)
The Santa Fe Trail (3:37)
Jack Hagarty (3:24)
Whiskey Before Breakfast (3:00)
Pais Dinogad (2:46)
Bury Me Not On the Lone Prairie (4:47)
Total running time, 40:34

“The Santa Fe Trail” is a set of ten traditional songs — cowboy, early country, a little Celtic. “Little Musgrave” is Child ballad 81, also sometimes called “Matty Groves,” and set here to the tune of “Shady Grove.” I’ve adapted “Arkansas Sheik” from the work of Riley Puckett. The title song is an authentic cowboy song collected by John Lomax. “Jack Hagarty” is a 19th century American logging song written by an Irish immigrant named Dan McGinnis.

“Whiskey Before Breakfast” appears of be of Canadian maritime origin, and owes something to the parent tune “Speed the Plow.” “Pais Dinogad” is my rendition of an early Welsh lullaby, in which a mother sings to her infant son of his father’s hunting prowess. The other tunes are pretty well established in tradition.

Dean Rathje: vocals, guitar, banjo, mandolin, bass.

When sold by, this product will be manufactured on demand using CD-R recordable media.'s standard return policy will apply.

Track Listings

Disc: 1

  1. Low & Lonesome Sea
  2. Little Musgrave
  3. Arkansas Sheik
  4. I Ride an Old Paint
  5. John Hardy
  6. The Santa Fe Trail
  7. Jack Hagarty
  8. Whiskey Before Breakfast
  9. Pais Dinogad
  10. Bury Me Not On the Lone Prairie

Product details

  • Audio CD (September 9, 2013)
  • Original Release Date: August 28, 2013
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Label: New Leaf Music
  • Run Time: 41 minutes
  • ASIN: B00F2O36FU
  • Average Customer Review: Be the first to review this item
  • Would you like to tell us about a lower price?
    If you are a seller for this product, would you like to suggest updates through seller support?

Customer Reviews

There are no customer reviews yet.
Share your thoughts with other customers

Set up an Amazon Giveaway

The Santa Fe Trail
Amazon Giveaway allows you to run promotional giveaways in order to create buzz, reward your audience, and attract new followers and customers. Learn more about Amazon Giveaway
This item: The Santa Fe Trail