Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.

FREE Shipping on orders with at least $25 of books.
Temporarily out of stock.
Order now and we'll deliver when available.
Order now and we'll deliver when available. We'll e-mail you with an estimated delivery date as soon as we have more information. Your account will only be charged when we ship the item.
Details
Ships from and sold by Amazon.com. Gift-wrap available.
The Sassy Belles has been added to your Cart
FREE Shipping on orders over $25.
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: Eligible for Amazon's FREE Super Saver/Prime Shipping, 24/7 Customer Service, and package tracking. 100% Satisfaction Guarantee.
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See all 2 images

The Sassy Belles Paperback – May 28, 2013

4.4 out of 5 stars 75 customer reviews
Book 1 of 4 in the Sassy Belles Series

See all 8 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Price
New from Used from
Kindle
"Please retry"
Paperback
"Please retry"
$14.95
$0.06 $0.01

Everything We Keep: A Novel
On the day of her wedding, she buried her fiancé—and unearthed shocking secrets. Learn More
$14.95 FREE Shipping on orders with at least $25 of books. Temporarily out of stock. Order now and we'll deliver when available. We'll e-mail you with an estimated delivery date as soon as we have more information. Your account will only be charged when we ship the item. Ships from and sold by Amazon.com. Gift-wrap available.
click to open popover

Frequently Bought Together

  • The Sassy Belles
  • +
  • Saved By The Belles
  • +
  • Sleigh Belles (Sassy Belles)
Total price: $38.60
Buy the selected items together


Editorial Reviews

From Booklist

Blake O’Hara Heart has always taken pride in the fact that her lipstick doesn’t smudge, and her hair doesn’t frizz in the Tuscaloosa heat. When she finds out that her brother-in-law, Lewis Heart, has disappeared after a salacious midday romp with a close friend, the sweltering southern heat suddenly seems unbearable. Tasked with maintaining her friend Vivi’s innocence, uncovering as many details as possible about Lewis’ disappearance, coddling her husband’s shifting career ambitions, and trying to untangle new feelings about an old flame, Blake feels her poised and perfect southern facade slowly cracking. Albright gives readers a delightfully fun and flirty story, focusing on a group of strong, sexy southern women and the men they care about. Although Lewis’ disappearance doesn’t end in the discovery of a grisly corpse, Albright raises the tension by providing a series of glimpses into Lewis’ past and Blake’s future. By turns tender, witty, steamy, and sharp, Albright’s first novel proves she’s a gifted storyteller with intimate knowledge of southern culture. This charming tale is tailor-made for fans of Mary Kay Andrews and Anne George. --Stephanie Turza

Review

"By turns tender, witty, steamy, and sharp, Albright's debut novel proves she's a gifted storyteller with intimate knowledge of southern culture. This charming tale is tailor-made for fans of Mary Kay Andrews and Anne George." –Booklist on The Sassy Belles

"...with distinct nods to the strength of family, the friendship sisterhood and the indomitable Southern spirit...Albright's first novel is a frothy, frolicking story..." –Kirkus on The Sassy Belles

"Albright good-naturedly displays her inner redneck while steering this giddy Dixie romp with ease-leaving lots of room at the happy ending for another adventure starring these steel magnolias" –Publisher's Weekly on The Sassy Belles

"The Sassy Belles reminded me that the South is like no other place on earth. Kudos to Beth Albright for capturing its spirit so perfectly in this lighthearted debut novel." -Celia Rivenbark, New York Times bestselling author of We're Just Like You, Only Prettier

"Dripping with southern charm and colloquialisms, the novel once again proves Albright's firsthand knowledge of southern culture. The women in Albright's novels are especially well written-happy to challenge the status quo when necessary but also aware of that old adage: 'You catch more flies with honey.' This delightfully campy and romantic read will satisfy fans of Mary Kay Andrews, Alexandra Potter, and Lisa Jewell." –Booklist on Wedding Belles

"The Sassy Belles are back and sassier than ever! ... With clever dialogue and richly drawn characters, Albright shows once again she's a natural-born storyteller who knows how to pen a charming tale. Regardless of game-day colors worn, this sexy and fun Southern series will have readers coming back for more!" –RT magazine on Wedding Belles
NO_CONTENT_IN_FEATURE

The latest book club pick from Oprah
"The Underground Railroad" by Colson Whitehead is a magnificent novel chronicling a young slave's adventures as she makes a desperate bid for freedom in the antebellum South. See more

Product Details

  • Paperback: 304 pages
  • Publisher: Harlequin MIRA; Original edition (May 28, 2013)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0778315282
  • ISBN-13: 978-0778315285
  • Product Dimensions: 5.4 x 1 x 8.2 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 7.2 ounces (View shipping rates and policies)
  • Average Customer Review: 4.4 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (75 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #1,508,642 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Customer Reviews

Top Customer Reviews

Format: Kindle Edition
I received a copy of this book free of charge via Netgalley in exchange for my honest opinion.

The Sassy Belles are three friends who first met in school, the story focuses on the lives of two of those belles - Blake O'Hara Heart and Vivi Ann McFadden. The third belle is only mentioned a couple of times when we learn of how the Sassy Belles came together and I don't recall her name, but maybe she'll show up in one of the next books.

Blake has always been the one to help Vivi out of a tough spot, and what happens in THE SASSY BELLES is no exception.

For years Vivi has been secretly dating Lewis Heart - famous football announcer for the Crimson Tide. With Tuscaloosa being home to the Tide, Lewis is a beloved member of the community despite having past troubles and being estranged from his brother Harry, who happens to be Blake's husband.

When Lewis goes missing, Vivi enlists the help of Harry and Blake, two of Tuscaloosa's best lawyers. Blake's grandmother Meridee, or Mother as she is affectionately referred as, knows more than she is letting on and Blake wants to find out how and why.

In the midst of looking for Lewis, Blake is questioning the strength of her marriage to Harry and learning how different she has become since striving to be the model wife as Harry focuses on his political career. When an old high school boyfriend becomes part of the investigation into Lewis's disappearance, Blake must face some home truths and the accompanying consequences.

THE SASSY BELLES was so much fun to read. Before reading the book I really wasn't sure what to expect, was this just another romance novel?
Read more ›
Comment 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Paperback
4 STARS

The Sassy Belles does remind me a little about soap operas. They are strong women characters who all have good points and bad faults. Some characters grow up and some grow up too much. In some ways I figured out where the book was going to go but I had to keep reading to find out how it was going to go.

Some scenes just make me smile just by picturing it in my mind humming It's raining men. Other scenes I wanted to shout don't do that. Some scenes were perfect reminders of different southern ladies.

I really like the friendship between Vivi and Blake. They are strong friends because they see each others faults and still like each other and are their for each other. Also forgive each other.

Their are a few love scenes and way to much knowledge of one scene for the cops. Vivi calls Blake and since she is not answering the phone tries Blake's husband Harry. She is upset and tells him she thinks she has killed Lewis during sex.
So instead of calling 911 they both want to talk to Blake.

By the time the police get to the motel their is no body just a sex toy that they left in the room.

It keeps you wanting to read and find out what is going to happen next. I will read the next book in the series and see how the characters are holding up with all the new changes.

I was given this ebook to read and asked in return to give honest review of it by Netgalley.
05/28/2013 PUB Harlequin Mira ISBN: 9780778315285
Comment 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
I would have enjoyed this book much more if I had not read Magic In Dixie first. I felt I was a little beyond this series since a lot of these stories are alluded to in the Magic in Dixie novel. But, I love this author's storytelling. Lot of these characters could have been people I grew up with. She definitely knows the South! I just wish I had a guide on which books to begin first so my timeline would have been on point!
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition
The book has a colourful summer cover and I thought it looked just right for a summer read. This is a debut novel by Beth Albright and is the first book in a series. Beth is from Alabama and this is where she choose to set her story.
The story begins with Vivi's best friend's husband (a lawyer) receiving a phone call from her saying that his brother (Lewis) with whom she has just spent some time in a hotel bedroom is dead and she killed him. Why she didn't call an ambulance or even motel reception is a bit beyond me. When Harry receives the call about his estranged brother does he call for help? No, he calls his wife and they all arrange to meet at "mothers" house to discuss what to do.
Most of the book tells us in flashbacks the background stories of all the characters but I think that must be because there are a few more books to come.
Lewis is not dead, he is missing and although Vivi says she loves him she never seems too upset and is more concerned about herself. I began to think they had all forgotten that the poor man was missing.
Blake is unhappy in her marriage to Harry, but her childhood sweetheart (who never stopped loving her) is now a detective heading the investigation into Lewis's disappearance and she is drawn towards him again.
I liked Meridee who is Blake's grandmother, her house is the place everyone goes to when they need help or just to escape from the pressures of life. I would have liked to have read more about her and not just in the last few chapters. She was a strong southern woman with a mind of her own.
What kept me reading this was the descriptions of southern life, the beauty pageants, football and wrap around porches are all put together with a wonderful southern drawl as they call each other, "y'all!
Read more ›
Comment 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Most Recent Customer Reviews


Pages with Related Products. See and discover other items: doctors contemporary romance