Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Snl: Best Of Dana Carvey
Amazon Vehicles Up to 80 Percent Off Textbooks Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Totes Summer-Event-Garden Amazon Cash Back Offer ElvisandNixon ElvisandNixon ElvisandNixon  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis Water Sports STEM

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon January 6, 2006
Dana Carvey is one of the funniest and most talented comedians to have ever appeared on SNL. Although his film career did not truly take off, like many other SNL alumni to follow, he is among the finest when it comes to comedic material and timing.

Best known for his impressions, his "Best of" DVD is loaded with them. George Bush, Regis, Jimmy Stewart, Ross Perot, George Michael, Johnny Carson, etc... Some of our old favorites are also revisited: The Church Lady, Garth Algar, Hans and a Grumpy Old Man. Whichever is your favorite, you will enjoy them all. This is some of the best material Saturday Night Live has to offer, courtesy of their best impressionist to date.

Also included on the DVD you will find Carvey's original SNL audition tape footage and appearances on Jay Leno and Conan O'Brien.
0Comment| 37 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 27, 2005
In my opinion, out of the three SNl Best Of's that i have watched so far (Will Ferrell volumes 1 and 2, and Chris Farley) this is the funniest and best yet. Dana Carvey is a brilliant impressionist and is able to transform his own natural voice into anything he wants to. Whether it be The Church Lady, Hans, Garth, George Bush...etc. The other two Best Of's that i watched actually left out some of the more funnier sketches. I believe the sketches compiled into this DVD are the funniest Dana Carvey did. Also, the extras are great too. You can watch Dana's original audition for SNL, watch many outtakes, a sketch that was actually completely cut from the actual show, and his appearances on Jay Leno and Conan O'Brien. Highly recommended for Dana Carvey fans, SNL fans, or just comedian fans in general...Expect to be laughing to the point of tears in this great DVD!
33 comments| 54 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 26, 2011
Well, any SNL or Dana fan will be very disappointed in this DVD.

The Church Lady and the Church Chat bits. One of his classic characters right? NOT one entire sketch. They cut up several of them. Just ruined the whole thing.

Wayne's World, cut up.

Other sketches cut up.

This has been done on several of the SNL Best Of DVD's.

Very disappointing, a let down.
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 19, 2011
Most of your favorites will appear, even some you forgot about like: "you like-a de' pepper?" An uproarious sketch I forgot all about. It's on of those sketches even they can't stop laughing at.

And, that is why you don't edit the sketch down to SECONDS long in some cases. SNL is funny because we love to watch the actors feed off of each other. Seeing a few minutes of Church Lady is like seeing none of it once I get mad at the TV for cutting the sketch short. And, some of them are literally seconds long. We need to see the whole sketch to watch all of the subtle looks and expressions that happened on the show then. At points I feel like I bought a DVD that is an infomercial for another seperate real DVD I can't buy. I'm not showing this to a room full of ADD patients, I am sitting back on my couch trying to enjoy Dana Carvey change the face of comedy and save SNL from near insignificance...following the years when Joe Piscopo was the anchor of the cast AKA the funniest of the non-funny. Don't play any of the sketch if you plan to edit out any of it, please!

You decide for yourself, knowing the above, if you think it is worth it. I am a massive Dana Carvey fan and would probably pay to see him read from the phonebook so it was worth it to me. But I am left with a sour taste in my mouth from the editing.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon April 29, 2013
"Saturday Night Live" fans will be disappointed with this Not Ready for DVD release. The badly edited compilation offers few sketches in their entirety. Dana Carvey's versatile talents occasionally rise above the Veg-O-Matic presentation.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 16, 2013
A collection of the best SNL sketches in which Dana Carvey participated. This is a good collection but it is a sometimes collection. What I mean by that is, you want months, if not a year or two, to go by between viewing sessions. Stand up comedy, regardless of the medium you find it in your collection, a dvd, an album, a saved show from Comedy Central on your DVR, it is really only entertaining to its fullest when the jokes are a novelty, a surprise. The first viewing has all of that. If you watch or listen to it too much though, then it loses its magic. So buy it, add it to your collection, but don't spam it. The exception to the rule is if you are entertaining one or more people who like comedy but aren't all that familiar with Dan Carvey and his work. In cases like that, the joy comes from watching the mirth other people get from the feature.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 24, 2015
My favorite character of Dana Carvey is the Church Lady. I was hoping to find a DVD with all of those skits but had to settle for this one. It shows many of his other characters, some clips were short and others longer. He is a talented comedian and I enjoyed the DVD.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 10, 2011
Not a perfect DVD, but worth the $ I spent on it. Love Dana Carvey and think he's one of (if not the best) talent to come through the SNL revolving doors. Weird how they clipped apart some of the sketches, but I still enjoyed watching this!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 2, 2013
This DVD contains some of Dana's funniest moments & characters from Saturday Night Live, during it's relevant 80's heyday. It's just a shame that he could not transfer some of his other hilarious caricatures (not counting Wayne's World) into a funny scripted motion picture. I would still pay to see him, in a live comedy show anytime!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 7, 2011
I call this the second generation SNL funny people, and I'm collecting them too. Dana and Mike Myers were the leaders of the pack, but brought some more subtle humor to couple with the gut busting laughter they generated.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse