Buy new:
$6.01
List Price: $28.00 Details
Save: $21.99 (79%)
$3.99 delivery: May 19 - 26
Fastest delivery: May 14 - 19
Only 1 left in stock - order soon.
As an alternative, the Kindle eBook is available now and can be read on any device with the free Kindle app. Want to listen? Try Audible.
$$6.01 () Includes selected options. Includes initial monthly payment and selected options. Details
Price
Subtotal
$$6.01
Subtotal
Initial payment breakdown
Shipping cost, delivery date, and order total (including tax) shown at checkout.
Your transaction is secure
We work hard to protect your security and privacy. Our payment security system encrypts your information during transmission. We don’t share your credit card details with third-party sellers, and we don’t sell your information to others. Learn more
Ships from the_book_lady
Sold by the_book_lady
Ships from
the_book_lady
Sold by
Return policy: This item is returnable
You may be charged a restocking fee upto 50% of item's price for used or damaged returns and upto 100% for materially different item.
Other Sellers on Amazon
$8.20
+ $3.99 shipping
Sold by: Abercrombie Books & Toys
$8.34
+ $3.99 shipping
Sold by: musicogswell books & more
$9.50
+ $3.99 shipping
Sold by: tcswiz
Have one to sell?
Loading your book clubs
There was a problem loading your book clubs. Please try again.
Not in a club? Learn more
Amazon book clubs early access

Join or create book clubs

Choose books together

Track your books
Bring your club to Amazon Book Clubs, start a new book club and invite your friends to join, or find a club that’s right for you for free.
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more

Follow the Authors

Something went wrong. Please try your request again later.


Saturn Run Hardcover – October 6, 2015

4.0 out of 5 stars 1,898 ratings

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Price
New from Used from
Kindle
Hardcover
$6.01
$5.95 $1.25

Enhance your purchase


New from James Patterson
Aaron Paul leads an all-star cast in the Black Book audio drama. Listen now
click to open popover

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
    Apple
  • Android
    Android
  • Windows Phone
    Windows Phone
  • Click here to download from Amazon appstore
    Android

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.

kcpAppSendButton

Frequently bought together

  • Saturn Run
  • +
  • The Night Crew (Prey)
  • +
  • Dead Watch
Total price: $44.34
Buy the selected items together

Special offers and product promotions

Editorial Reviews

Review


“John Sandford is an amazing, protean writer, and Saturn Run is a terrific story of alien first contact. It’s a book Michael Crichton would have enjoyed, but never could have written; he didn’t have Sandford’s gift of good humor and his uncanny ear for dialogue. With the able partnership of Ctein, it’s fast, scientifically believable, and peopled by characters who become good friends. Fans of Lucas Davenport and Virgil Flowers will eat this up.”
— Stephen King 

“Three things to know: First, I’m the world’s biggest John Sandford fan.  Second: I saw this book and thought ... what?  Third: I needn’t have worried.  It’s vintage Sandford all the way, with all his trademark strengths and insights, except set in the future, not the present.  You won’t be disappointed.”
 — Lee Child

Utterly captivating! With the heart of a breakneck thriller and the mind of the best science fiction (Bradbury and Heinlein come to mind), Saturn Run keeps us enthralled from beginning to end. Sandford and Ctein have brilliantly pulled off the difficult task of making a very different world very  familiar, proving that a born storyteller is a storyteller, whether he sets his books on mean streets or in deep space. I, for one, want more. 
— Jeffery Deaver

"My compliments to Ctein and John Sandford for Saturn Run. I enjoyed it greatly. It's a meticulous novel, 100 percent hard science fiction. A space war is the most difficult thing to portray, and the authors have pulled it off. I was reminded of Footfall, my and Jerry Pournelle's own work, and Carl Sagan's Contact."
  — Larry Niven, Hugo and Nebula Award-winning author of the Ringworld series

“Sandford and Ctein conjure up some delightful chemistry among these characters, making their journey as harrowing as it is entertaining. Here is a prime example of the principle that in a sci-fi novel about space travel, half the fun is in getting to the destination.”— Washington Post

“The combination of both hard and soft sciences makes this story an excellent read. The central characters are well developed, compelling, and realistic. Highly recommended for the multitudes of Sanford fans and all those who revel in speculative fiction.” —  Library Journal

 “James Bond meets Tom Swift, with the last word reserved for…international piracy, state secrets, and a spot of satisfyingly underhanded political pressure.” —  Kirkus

“A must-read…Scenes of beauty collide with catastrophes, as technology takes over in this incredible tale [with] a fabulous ending for all Sandford fans to thoroughly enjoy.” — Suspense Magazine

"Scenes of wonder and beauty are joined with moments of helpless calamity at a pace that leaves the reader no time to look back and consider what just happened. The authors include plenty of fascinating technology and inside jokes for SF fans, and the conclusion is inevitable and satisfying."—Publishers Weekly, Starred Review

“Traveling vicariously with these daring space pioneers makes for a riveting read....And it isn't a spoiler to reveal that it has a perfect ending.” — St. Paul Pioneer Press

“A gripping, futuristic tale. The overall experience of "Saturn Run" is like a mixture of Arthur C. Clarke's "2001: a Space Odyssey" and "Rendezvous With Rama." Readers looking for a great sci-fi story won't be disappointed. At almost 500 pages, the pace and compelling characters keep things moving and nothing seems padded.” — Associated Press

“ Ambitious and alluring, “Saturn Run” is sci-fi in the Arthur C. Clarke tradition, but stepped-up and updated. It’s still powered by romance—not of the unknown, but of what could—just possibly—be within our reach.” — The Wall Street Journal

About the Author

John Sandford is the author of twenty-five Prey novels, most recently Gathering Prey; eight Virgil Flowers novels, most recently Deadline; and eight other books, including the Young Adult novels Uncaged and Outrage, written with Michele Cook. He lives in Santa Fe, New Mexico.
 
Ctein is an internationally known photographer and expert on photographic printing. The holder of a double degree from Caltech in English and physics, he is the author of more than 500 articles, columns, books, and manuals, and is a well-known member of the science fiction community. He lives in San Francisco.

Stories unite us
Asian Pacific American Heritage Month. See the collection

Product details

  • Publisher : G.P. Putnam's Sons; First Edition (October 6, 2015)
  • Language : English
  • Hardcover : 496 pages
  • ISBN-10 : 0399176950
  • ISBN-13 : 978-0399176951
  • Item Weight : 1.6 pounds
  • Dimensions : 6.25 x 1.44 x 9.25 inches
  • Customer Reviews:
    4.0 out of 5 stars 1,898 ratings

Customer reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
4 out of 5
1,898 global ratings
How are ratings calculated?

Top reviews from the United States

Reviewed in the United States on December 17, 2017
Verified Purchase
17 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on December 29, 2017
Verified Purchase
18 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on July 27, 2017
Verified Purchase
15 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on May 6, 2017
Verified Purchase
16 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on January 27, 2020
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on July 14, 2020
Verified Purchase
Reviewed in the United States on November 24, 2017
Verified Purchase
4 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on February 18, 2019
Verified Purchase
2 people found this helpful
Report abuse

Top reviews from other countries

Strv 74
3.0 out of 5 stars Surprisingly weak effort
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on December 23, 2016
Verified Purchase
3 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Ken
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful. I'm probably not the best person to write ...
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on May 23, 2016
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Report abuse
Amazon Customer
3.0 out of 5 stars John Sandford should stay with his established novels.
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on March 28, 2021
Verified Purchase
Mr Careful
5.0 out of 5 stars A bit simplistic
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on November 8, 2019
Verified Purchase
west coast fan
4.0 out of 5 stars Really good novel. A totally different side to Sandford
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on August 30, 2017
Verified Purchase
Pages with related products. See and discover other items: best science fiction books