Industrial Deals HPC Best Books of the Year Holiday Dress Guide nav_sap_hiltonhonors_launch Listen for a chance to win STEM $34.99 for a limited time only Try it first with samples Handmade Gift Shop Holiday Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon TNF TNF TNF  Echo Devices starting at $29.99 Save $30 on All-New Fire HD 8. Limited-time offer. $20 off Kindle Paperwhite Shop Now HTL17_gno



on June 14, 2013
Superb escapist book! The action is heart-stopping. You keep muttering to yourself, "What else could possibly happen? and before the thought is completely formed, Scarecrow is shouting orders, saving someone, or taking a chance that should be impossible. But this story isn't just action (although the action is so non-stop, I could live with that alone). The plots are always complex to the point where you have to pay attention. International in flavor, the plots offer lots of political insights and a wider range of characters. If you want literature, go to the classics. If you want excitement and a protagonist who never gives up and is constantly and successfully thrashing the odds, give Scarecrow a chance. It's a lot of money for a Kindle book, so I'll try to compare it to something for you. There are definitely flavors of John Gilstrap's Jonathon Grave and Lee Child's Jack Reacher. All three authors have bold side characters who constantly add to the stories. You become as attached to them as much as the main characters. Hope this helps you decide!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 2, 2016
It's hard to review books honestly because different people have different taste and interest in books..I, personally have read every book by Matthew Reilly and I like all of them equally..his writing is extremely fast paced, very graphic and chock full of swearing..but I dont really mind that, personally..Sean Mangan reads all of Matthew's books very well and changes his ton of voice depending upon the tempo overall I would definitely get any Matthew Reilly book on audio
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on December 9, 2009
This is my third book by the author. Previously I had read Ice Station, which I very much liked, and Area 7. I like super hero's such as Vince Flynn's Mitch Rapp and David Hagberg's Kirk McGarvey. But I prefer that their exploits seem reasonable. They can be somewhat over the top. But not totally. That's the problem I have with Matt Reilly's Shane Schofield. He's,for my taste, just too far over the top. The plot of this is basically about a group of 12 extremely wealthy industrialists who want to remake the world to their preference. They plan on doing this by exploding nuclear devices in key cities around the world. Of course they will make it seem that others have launched the missiles. For example Israel against Mecca. They also have hired groups of well trained well armed mercernaries to eliminate fifteen top notch men who might be able to stop the attack. Naturally Schofield is the only one of the fifteen to survive. And yes, he does abort the attacks. The highlight is Schofield flying in an X-15 next to a missile in trajectory and managing to disarm it while an AMRAAM is launched at him. A new character is introduced The Black Night who is a former marine turned mercernary who was hired by a wealthy french woman to protect Schofield from the bounty hunters after his head which was valued at some $18.6 million. Perhaps the Black Night will surface in a future book. So, there was plenty of nonstop action. But.....
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on September 1, 2017
Fast read, it kept me involved, wanted to know "what next". Love all the Matthew Reilly books.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on March 11, 2017
I had a chance to read more about the main character and loved him in the end
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on May 26, 2017
I love all of Matthew Reilly's books. This one is no exception. Highly recommend.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on August 6, 2017
Always action packed and not bad on character complexity and development.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on September 13, 2017
product as described
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on July 24, 2011
what a man! i dont know about the rest of you Matthew Reilly fans but i LOVE his books. I read for the entertainment. I dont read to sit back and say Boy this is so unrealistic so what!!Matthew's books are fast action-packed little romantic and all guts and glory. i sit on the edge of my seat reading his books. they are page turning dont wanna put down books.i don't believe evrything i read because it's just a book, like going to the movies or playing video games(which i do).learn whats real and whats not people!!! Matthews books are fun and should be enjoyed as fun.If you want to real stale same story books read true life or biographies that way you will know the difference between fun and just plain dull.lighten up boys!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on September 13, 2013
This is a great story line and fast paced. Some of the scenes are outrageously unbelievable but that is why I love to read...one must know the difference between reality and make believe yet enjoy the book. The author did a good job of incorporating the hunt with Shane's lust for love and protecting his country and the world in this book. I was sad to see Gant die hoping he could have a good personal life. This series is fast, easy to follow, and I look forward to more - highly recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here