Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Scents and Sensibility
Your Garage Editors' Picks Amazon Fashion Discover it $5 Albums iPhone 7 CM4 Fire TV Stick Halloween Amazon Cash Back Offer Transparent Transparent Transparent  All-New Echo Dot Introducing new colors All-New Kindle for Kids Edition GNO Shop Now STEM

Format: DVD|Change
Price:$24.95+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on March 5, 2014
I'm pretty sure I could have written a better script. And I'm barely paraphrasing this -
Lady at spa: "My foot really hurts."
Marianne: "Oh, I just happen to have this wonderful lotion - here try some." [squirt]
Lady at spa: "Oh wow - my foot feels all better now! I'm going to tell all my friends about this wonderful lotion!".
And one line I especially thought interesting was when Mom says "I've lost too much. I'm not going to lose your sister too." Like the death of her own daughter would just sort of be the last straw in her bad day.
Almost every line in the movie was either awkwardly phrased or totally unrealistic. I just wanted something light and fun for the end of my work day. It was light - but not all that fun. I fell asleep through a big chunk of it toward the end and didn't even go back.
11 comment| 37 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 4, 2013
Obviously more of a chick flick but still good. It is very clean, no swearing or sex scenes, which is so hard to come by anymore. Not super realistic but the girls do try to "earn" a living rather than giving up. There are some laughs, and it is fun to see how it relates to Austen's "Sense and Sensibility", even using the same character's names.

This is fun to watch with daughters and girlfriends. I've watched it a few times now and will continue to with friends who haven't seen it. I also bought it for my married daughter for her birthday.
0Comment| 37 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 19, 2014
I rate this movie as one who thoroughly enjoys Jane Austen's works. While there is at least one movie that modernizes an Austen story and maintains the essence, this movie does not meet the bar. The only similarity appears to be the liberal use of the original names for the characters. The two eldest girls go job hunting but are unable to find jobs because of the scandal surrounding their father who has been convicted of fraud and is currently in prison. This sounds more like a Dickens update than an Austen update. I simply turned the movie off when we got to the hackneyed scene where one inept daughter has landed a job as support for copying documents. No one trains her on the equipment and about 15 minutes into her first day a man requests 50 copies of a document that appears to be about 200 pages long. He needs this in 1 hour. Other audiences might well appreciate the modern situation, but it did not work for me.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon November 23, 2012
This modern day version of the great Jane Austen novel holds on to the original by the slimmest of threads while providing a predictable but cute romantic comedy.

Using similar character names, e.g., the Dashwoods, and very general storyline, three sisters and their mother(although this movie's mostly about the two older sisters, Elinor and Marianne)struggle to make it in the world after their great fortune is lost.

*Spoiler Alert*-Here the father is imprisoned for being a financial, Madoff-like crook. Elinor and Marianne find desperate employment cleaning toilets and such at a spa and working as a copy girl, respectively. Marianne has a gift for making lotions from flowers that the no good Fran Ferrars(sister of kindly Edward) steals. Their little sister needs medicine for her leukemia, and mother is rarely seen.-End Alert- It sounds worst than it is for there is romance in the air, and overall, everything is mostly lighthearted with a few dramatic moments.

Of course, Elinor is the more responsible one, but surpresses her angst and Marianne is bound to make stupid romantic choices with the ever worthless John Willoughby over the heroic, and in this tale, young, handsome Brandon. It's only about hour and a half, so things really have to move along and character development is limited.

The actors do alright. Marla Sokoloff is the queen of this genre(Christmas in Boston, The Chateau Meroux, et al.) and is good at it even in a fairly low budget flick. The music bounces along nicely; most of the shots are at their apartment, spa, or workplace and are pretty meager, but there are a couple outdoor scenes that are beautiful and romantic.

The ending is sweet. What more could one ask for? Except to pop in one of the old Austen movies or read the book, again.
0Comment| 31 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 24, 2013
This is a cute movie and an acceptable way to fill a boring afternoon, but this book bears very little resemblance to Jane Austen's book. The main characters have the same names, but that's where the similiarities end. Also, most of the funniest parts of the original book (Mrs. Jennings & Sir John, in particular) are missing from this story. This movie is not funny and doesn't have much drama, either. It was OK, but I would rather have waited for this to come up on cable than to have bought it. I gave it 3 stars because it is a cute story, but to call it an adaptation of S&S is REALLY a stretch. Clueless is a better adaptation of Emma than this is of Sense & Sensibility.
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 15, 2013
I'm a Christian mom and loved this movie. It was wholesome, funny, and had some excellent life lessons, including some on character (being honest even when it hurts). I highly recommend this to those who like this kind of movie. It would be appropriate for ages 8 up, if the 8-year-old is mature. My husband liked it as much as I did.
11 comment| 42 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 23, 2013
Cute movie. Only an hour and half long but has a good story to it. Nicely made movie for the whole family to watch.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 5, 2013
The plot has a good basis, but the story lags. I appreciated the "clean" and unabjectionable content. This is a safe dvd, but not a great inspirational movie.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 17, 2016
So stupid it's beyond boring and becomes actually painful to watch. After the first 15 minutes I trudged on, hoping for a single moment of humor or wit, only to reach the end in a state of benumbed horror that the hallowed name of Jane Austen could be even remotely associated with this trite insipidity.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 22, 2016
This is actually a film for 2nd graders. Maybe. Unbelievable plot, terrible dialogue, some acting OK given the horrible lines. You just kind of feel terrible for the actors. Waaay too much senseless perkyness happening here.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

$5.99

Need customer service? Click here