Industrial Deals HPC Rebound Introducing Prime Wardrobe nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Unlimited Music. Made for you. Learn more. GNO for Samsung S9 Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Personalized Jewelry Home Gift Guide Mother's Day gifts across Amazon Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon westworldS2 westworldS2 westworldS2  Echo Fire tablets: Designed for entertainment Kindle Paperwhite GNO Shop now Start your Baby Registry



on July 22, 2014
So here's my sob story.
I was living in Vienna. I was running low on Schillinge (this was before the Euro) and I was feeling low. At this point I thought movies in general a waste of time, especially those that had any hint of commercial success. But I also knew movies cheered me up, and I really needed some cheer. There must have been loads of great movies to see in that metropolis (not to mention live theater, dance, improv, cellar tavern brawls) but for unknown reasons I committed what shall be known as "the mistake."
I bought a ticket for Scream...4? I think it was 4. Oh, God, how dreary. A movie at the end of a dying franchise is so pathetic. Neve Campbell looked like she was coming back from rehab. The plot was made out of styrofoam. Forget it. I give lots of movie a second chance, that one I will never watch again unless forced to do so by an act of torture ironic seeing how many torture porn films I've watched. But I digress.
Months into my improvised exploration of the horror genre and all its related sub-genres and crossover genres, I realized that there was a reason the franchise lasted that long. The first movie really meant a lot to people, people who had skin in the game then like I do now. I want nothing more than peace, health and wealth for me & my family, and a thriving world horror cinema industry. That's why I get ecstatic over movies like Cabin in the Woods.
And that's what Scream must have felt like when first release.
You have a genuinely scary killer, a gorgeous leading actress (Neve Campbell), a gorgeous comic foil (Courtney Cox) and a gorgeous "decoy" (Drew Berrymore)—and you've got a script that speaks EXACTLY to the frustrations that fans were having with mainstream and probably even side-stream horror movies back then: boring, predictable, cheap and obviously mercenary. Tired. Worn.
Movies, yes, like Scream 4.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on September 2, 2014
Directed by: Wes Craven
Written by: Kevin Williamson
Starring:David Arguette, Neve Campbell, Courteney Cox, Skeet Ulrick, Drew Barrymore, Rose McGowan, Roger Jackson, Matthew Lillard.

This is an excellent story about a killer who dresses in a dime store ghosty face costume. He sneaks around the little town of Woodsboro heckling people with vicious phone calls (thanks for the terror Roger Jackson) and stabbing them if all goes as planned. He is an uncoordinated villian and ends up sprawled on the ground as often as his victims. It is an off beat approach to a horror movie that paid off at the finish line like Seabiscuit to win. Many a risk was taken in this film and one has to give credit to Craven and Williamson for pulling it off. What's so unusual? The dialogue in this movie drops the name of about a dozen other movies. The result is not meltdown, but upbeat. Also the so called objective reporter is a main character exploiting the story for her own book sales. So Gale (Cox) becomes a character with a past who has angered many with her selfish style. Another odd thing: Craven goes for laughs here and there. Usually a horror flick is serious and goes for fear. Other things you don't often see in a shocker is very good to excellent photography: inspirational sunsets, sweeping panning shots.

Campbell and McGowan do a great job as two feisty friends both with some smarts. Barrymore shows some very good acting during the film's opening scenes. A strange sound occurs in this movie as Neve opens a closet. I have never heard a kind of electronic moan and thought it added some freshness. Music was good featured by an acoustic version of "Don't Fear the Reaper". One more comment: there were of course scary bloody moments in this movie. When Wes goes for terror, he doesn't mess around. He'll make you feel like it's all happening outside your bedroom window. Maybe it is? The phone will ring first.
This movie gets my vote as a groundbreaking great idea. Give it a try.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 13, 2017
I have always loved this movie! Scream it s not your average horror film as it is cholk full of comedy, mostly from Matthew Lillard. Keep an eye out for a cameo of Linda Blair (The Exorcist) in this film, as the other reporter. I am not the one who would normally own a horror film, but this movie is one worth owning. It is a widescreen copy, for those who do not widescreen DVDs and prefer full screen. It doesn't bother me. The DVD works perfectly.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on March 6, 2018
This movie spawned so many imitations, it's hard to remember just what made it so great in the first place. The script, full of pop culture references and horror tropes, is tight and fun. It's got great performances by a stellar cast and assured direction by one of the horror auteurs, Wes Craven. The opening bit is scary and engaging. The ending is truly surprising. This is one that still holds up, even twenty years later, and manages not to seem dated at all.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on August 29, 2016
A Wes Craven Masterpiece! It was 1996 and the horror genre was literally DEAD. Oh sure, horror movies were still being made but most of them lacked any real creative writing instead focusing on rehashing the same old formula over and over (with the exception of Wes Craven’s New Nightmare which did break new ground). Only the very best of them were (Wes Craven’s New Nightmare, In The Mouth Of Madness, Silence of The Lambs, Seven) were lucky enough to break even or do really well in the box office. Certainly the sub-genre of “slasher” movies were scraping the bottom of the barrel at this time in film history. Thus sets the stage for December 1996 and the previous high points for Dimension Films were “The Crow” and “Halloween: The Curse Of Michael Myers”. The 4-year-old studio is still looking for their crown jewel project that would put them on the map as legitimate contender among the big boys.

At this same time an unknown but determined writer named Kevin Williamson has locked himself into a hotel room for 3 weeks determined to not go home until he completes the writing of a screenplay for his newest story which he is simply calling “Scary Movie”. To make a long story short, he completes writing the screenplay and begins to shop it around to film studios. The Weinstein brothers at Dimension films love it, they sign Kevin Williamson to write the film and after initially being turned down by Wes Craven, Wes gave it a second chance and agreed to come aboard to direct the film whose name was later changed to “Scream”.

Wes Craven has an incredible legacy in the horror genre that shaped and re-shaped the entire genre over the course of 40 years of his films. He revolutionized the genre in the 80’s with “A Nightmare On Elm Street” and now over ten years later he was about to do it once again with the Scream franchise. Scream is a genuine masterpiece because it not only contains all of the elements needed for a fulfilling horror movie, it goes one step further and introduces new ideas while being done with a keen sense of self-awareness throughout the movie that had never been done before in the genre. Wes Craven’s New Nightmare started to explore this idea of self-awareness of the actors within the movie but in Scream he took it to the next level. We see the now famous “Rules To Survive A Horror Movie” as perfectly explained by one of my favorite Scream characters Randy. Moreover, this thread of self-awareness runs throughout the picture from multiple characters but never done in an “over the top” manner where it does not “work” within the context of the moment.

It is the story of a small town where people are being brutally murdered and the killer’s attention begins to focus on the lead character Sydney Prescott and as the film unfolds there is revealed a much larger back-story that is under girding all of the events which are happening. No one can create tension and suspense in a scene better than Wes Craven and he is arguably the star of this film because of how brilliantly he tells the story visually from behind the cameras. Scream delivers at all the important angles and keeps you guessing as well as jumping throughout! The ending is fantastic and very original!!

I am a STICKLER for not giving spoilers and even though this film is now TWENTY years old I will still not reveal anything more specific about the film other than to say, this is a MUST watch film for anyone who enjoys a top-shelf murder mystery, suspenseful thriller and slasher horror. Wes Craven’s direction and tone for the film is nothing less than SUPERB and combined with brilliant writing this is an instant classic and is no surprise to this fan/viewer that it turned the entire horror genre upside down upon its release. Horror movies are not supposed to make hundreds of millions of dollars in the box office but Scream and it’s sequels have done just that. It is NO accident!!

This is the film that sparked a myriad of “copy-cat” films in the late 90’s and early 2000’s who were desperately trying to reach the success of the Scream franchise but all of these far more inferior films failed miserably to do so.

Finally, if you have never seen Scream and perhaps you’re not a fan of the horror genre please hear me out, you owe it to yourself to watch this film at least once! Twenty years later it still stands up tall and towering over the genre. Sadly, Wes Craven passed away in August of 2015 but thankfully he was able to see the incredible fingerprint he left on the film industry which he helped shape since the 1970’s. I can only imagine what new projects he would be working on right now which upon completion would once again revolutionize the genre. Rest In Peace Wes Craven and thank you for over forty years of SCREAMS!!!!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on March 17, 2017
Daughter had teenagers over for Halloween. They said, "Scream looks stupid". An hour and a half, 100 screeches, 10000 years, and 36 hidden eyes later, their time changed!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon May 21, 2011
Finally we get all the SCREAM films on blu ray and here we have the first and best that was hugely original and put a much needed original kick in the horror movie genre. We all know the story and we also know that when an older classic film comes out on a blu ray transfer it is really important to find out the quality and if the transfer succeeded. I was thrilled when I popped this movie into my blu ray player and was itching to see the infamous opening scene with Drew Barrymore. Sadly it was a huge disappointment. The audio was great but the video totally lacked clarity and seemed blury and overly grainy. For me the full effect of the scene was lost. Luckily when we get to the next scene with Neve Campbell at her computer the video had hugely improved. The picture was pretty crisp, colors were vibrant, flesh tones realistic and I was then impressed. Throughout the rest of the movie the video quality gets about a B. The dark scenes work well. Black and white ratio is clean and the colors do blend in well. The graininess after the opening scene is there on purpose and looks fine. When the villian dashes in and out of the picture the black and white of the costume looks great. But the part of the movie that is a truly huge improvement over the dvd is the audio. The DTS HD Master 5.1 audio track uses all surround speakers to full effect. Dialogue is crisp and you will be jumping out of your seat in all the right moments. The track is perfect for this classic horror movie and shines. The soundtrack blends in with all the films sounds perfectly.

But the video is where opinions will clash. For me the upgrade to blu ray is much better than my dvd version. I never liked the dvd presentations and the blu ray is in a 1080p enhanced widescreen which makes viewing the film better. There is some fine detail but the picture overall just does not POP like a quality blu ray does. I think when most people watch a blu ray they want that crispness and clarity that just makes it far surpass the dvd. It can become almost like you are in the movie. I think people forget the film is 15 years old and overall the picture is acceptable but the poor quality of the opening scene just leaves it lacking for me. When the movie is offered on blu ray at a steal price which Amazon seems to be doing now it is definitely worth a buy but if you are pretty satisfied with a dvd version you own I would think before purchasing it at full price.
33 comments| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on March 20, 2002
In the grand tradition of unforgettable slasher flicks such as "The Texas Chainsaw Massacre", "Halloween", "Friday the 13th", "A Nightmare On Elm Street", and all the not so memorable imitations to arise in their wake, comes "Scream", a film about a small group of high school friends (Neve Campbell, Skeet Ulrich, Rose McGowan, Matthew Lillard and Jamie Kennedy) whose lives are turned upside down when fellow members of their student body start turning up dead, brutally murdered by the hands of a mysterious masked killer who could very well be one of their own.
This 1996 effort written by Kevin Williamson and directed by modern fright master, Wes Craven, truly is "clever, hip and scary" in its ability to successfully combine elements of horror, mystery and comedy into one nice, neat, little blood-soaked package. Along with an exceptional leading cast, "Scream" also features strong supporting performances from both David Arquette and Courteney Cox, as well as an unforgettable cameo appearance by Drew Barrymore. Buffs of the genre will also have fun picking up on the various references to older films which helped pave the way for this modern horror "classic". Two sequels soon followed, "Scream 2" in 1997 (the better of the two) and "Scream 3" in 2000, neither of which are necessarily bad films, but they're certainly not able to compare to the original as far as wit, character strength and story development go.
However, as is the case with any ground-breaking motion picture, numerous rip-offs and imitations are bound to follow. A slew of "whodunnit"-type slasher flicks have been released over the course of the past few years in an attempt to cash in on the popularity of the "Scream" franchise, including films like "I Know What You Did Last Summer", "Urban Legend", "Valentine" and the direct-to-video quickie "Bloody Murder", all of which range from being merely mediocre to downright awful. So forget the rest and go with the best!
"IT'S A 'SCREAM', BABY"!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on November 1, 2015
If you are looking for horror especially near Halloween, this well-worn movie provides it. It isn't entirely predictable and the cast makes some attempt at getting into their roles. It also gives a sometimes interesting view of how much our technological world, at least, has changed in only a couple of decades. It is not an unattractive film and it likely provides what the viewer is apt to be looking forward. Don't take it seriously; just smile and enjoy.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on February 16, 2011
I have just recieved the scream trilogy on blu ray, and I must say, they look like new movies! If people are tired of waiting for the U.S. release of the blu ray, this set is great. I have read other reviews and the only complaint people have is of the packaging, but there is a solution. The get scream 2 and 3 out of the packaging, there are two prongs at the bottom of scream 2, just push them down and break them, and the movie comes right out. There are two prongs at the bottom of scream 3 also, and you can do the same with that movie. There are no special features, but I have enough special features from the regular dvd editions of the movies, so that doesn't bother me. So, I recommend that if you are a scream fan, then you must buy this set.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse