Industrial Deals Rebound Introducing Prime Wardrobe nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Unlimited Music. Offline listening. Learn more. GNO for Samsung S9 Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Mother's Day gifts Home Gift Guide Mother's Day gifts across Amazon Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon howardsend howardsend howardsend  Echo Dot Fire tablets: Designed for entertainment Kindle Paperwhite AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Shop now Start your Baby Registry



on May 6, 2013
Richard Branson is a house-hold name in global business. More often than not, we perceive entrepreneurship as a mind-boggling undertaking that keeps people awake all night. In his book titled Screw it, Let's Do it (2006),Branson brings a new perspective to the manner in which business ought to be perceived. He contends that it is feasible to have fun while making a ton of money. As he puts it, "I work hard and I play hard"(1). Brandson says he is honest when he tells people that there are no secrets to becoming a millionaire. He even insists that "there are no rules to follow in business"(12). Many folks reading Branson's words would be tempted to take them with a pinch of salt but he proves with verifiable anecdotes in this book that it is very feasible to make a lot of money without sacrificing personal pleasure. His modus operandi is "Screw it, let's do it." He does share some basic tenets that guarantee success in the business world:"Believe it can be done, have goals, never give up, prepare well, have faith in yourself, and live life to the full"(1). The lesson l learned reading Branson's book is to keep trying and to never give up.Screw it, Let's Do it is not all about business. Branson feeds readers with existential lessons. He puts a high premium on family values. In his own words, "put the family... first"(68). He describes his Virgin Corporation as "a big family"(68).This business guru gives pride of place to teamwork. He has the conviction that successful entrepreneurs have the savvy to pick the right people and reward talent. In his own words, " I have learned always to reward talent"(76).

Richard Branson's book was a pleasant surprise to me. It feels good to hear from someone who is filthy rich and yet so down-to-earth. I would recommend this book to friends, family members and co-workers without hesitation. It is a tiny little book that can change one's life forever.

Dr. Peter Vakunta is professor at the Defense Language Institute, Monterery-CA,USA
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on March 26, 2014
Short, concrete, well organized, super personal. You'll read this during a short flight, but probably will hang in your mind for a lot longer...
The book is a collection of Richard Branson's lessons and life mottos. Surprisingly a lot of them (probably half) were forged when he was a kid. Much of them are very stoic-like for an apparently very-loose-guy, but totally worth learning from his stories and introspection. The book is far more than a live life to the fullest, seek happiness and follow your heart kind of reading. It goes chapter after chapter collecting a list of life commandments that let you not only have a sense of how Branson is, but also how his decision making process is like and how he weights things in business (risk). In fact, I want to know more about the Branson character and probably will read another of his books. Good buy.

Side note: I haven't read any other Branson's books but to me this one feels very personal and sincere. No ghost writer here I guess.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on July 6, 2015
WOW! Amazing book by Sir Richard. Great stories from his life that shares nuggets of wisdom to illustrate what's possible if one keeps learning, have goals, belief, determination and will to take first step.

My respect for Sir Richard have grown more highly after reading Screw It,Let's Do It! Read this book, you will be better off having done it. We can all do with some inspiration and help.

The book you don't read, won't help. Invest in yourself and your future today! You will be glad you did.

Heck, Screw It, Just Do It!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 2, 2014
This book is quite short (hence Quick Reads), but it is full of sage advice for anyone at any point of their life. Each chapter starts with several aphorisms and then goes to explain their relevance to Mr Branson and subsequently to you. It also gives a glimpse at what it has taken Mr Branson to get to the position he is in now and the underlying philosophy behind his business. While it by no means tells anywhere near the full story of any of the many tales it provides sufficient for relevance to the aphorism.

I really enjoyed reading this book and will certainly read it again at least once. I picked this up at a time of change in my own life and found almost everything to be relevant and mostly what I needed to hear, without frills or complicated explanations. Clear and precise, it is a good guide for living a full and rewarding life, all the while doing, or at least trying, the right thing by all.

Great read. Strongly recommend it.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on July 13, 2016
I have read, shared, and recommended this book to everyone I know. It was so hard to put down. I actually read this book in a little over an hour. If the world ran every business like Sir Richard Branson, everyone might enjoy going to work everyday! This book is entertaining and inspirational.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on April 29, 2014
It's rare that I stop reading a book half way through. And with this one I really wanted to but kept going only because a friend had read it and wanted to discuss.
It's filled with very generic advice (such as 'Be bold, aim high' and 'Challenge yourself') that you will find in any book of this genre.
The writing itself is not very good and I found the book quite boring.
There is alot of time spent on Branson explaining how awesome Branson is.
11 comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on June 23, 2015
Lessons from the famed billionaire Richard Branson, beginning with his modest upbringing and will to challange the status quo at a young. From Student Magazine to Virgin Group, this book takes you on an adventure across the ocean in a hot air ballon, to castles and private islands, to jail and failure, only to conclude with the importance of character, integrity and creating a lasting impact in the world. Easy and compelling read.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 13, 2018
Richard has covered lot of topics in short chapters, it makes you think and reflect.
The book gives a good glimpse into his personality which aligns with his blogs in virgin.com. It was good knowing him more through his life experiences.
Some of his stories were hard to believe like his role in kuwait war - but it could be just my ignorance. It seemed a little braggy, but then that could be his personality.
All in all good quick read, gives you nice tips on going on with your ideas.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on May 29, 2014
I've always said that if you really want to learn something new go and search advice from people who are the best at what you are looking for. So... this book is a very concise but really helpful guide and anecdotes of who is considered one of the best Entrepreneurs of the world. He summons really different points of view from how he created a Magazine, his Record Company (who signed the Pistols and the Tubular Bells which is the group that created the soundtrack for The Excorcist blockbuster), his Airline Company (that strived to survive because British Ariways was very competitive to them) and even how he bought and Island!!!

Not to even mention that Richard was able to interview people like John Lennon or Mick Jagger whilst in his youth.

The best by so far if you want to learn on Entrepreneurship!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on September 14, 2016
I found this to be a fascinating book that provides some Great insights into the mind Of one of today's most successful businessman. It illustrates the life of a man who is not only dedicated to his business, but to living every day to the fullest.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse