Industrial Deals HPC Trade in your textbooks Holiday Dress Guide nav_sap_hiltonhonors_launch Listen for a chance to win Electronics Gift Guide Limited time offer Try it first with samples Handmade Last Minute Gifts Home and Garden Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon JCVJ JCVJ JCVJ  All-new Echo Save $30 on All-New Fire HD 8. Limited-time offer. $20 off Kindle Paperwhite GNO Shop now HTL17_gno



on May 10, 2011
Since the kindle and the iPad I seldom purchase a hard cover book...this was the excellent exception.
This is an extraordinary collection of the everyday advertising that elevates signage and print into an art form.
Fili has an unerring eye for form and her collection covers the sophisticated to garish.
Highly recommended.
0Comment| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on October 20, 2011
This is an excellent book for anyone interested in hand lettering and the history of the script. It's easy to be inundated by the sheer number of images in the book (in a good way), which makes it a reference book I'll come back to again and again. The images are from both American and European sources, most of which date to the first half of the twentieth century. There is a brief historical introduction at the beginning of each section which provides a context for the images that follow.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on October 31, 2017
Nice book for those who visually connect to PRINT.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on September 29, 2015
So many variations of font/type. Very inspirational. My only set back is the book to have maybe a dates of the fonts and types put in the book. It would be great to see how type evolved in a timeline.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on May 17, 2011
Thank you Steven and Louise for sharing from your personal collection that I'm sure has taken a great deal of time to collect. The examples are grouped by country of origin (France, Britain, Germany, Italy and America) and each chapter provides a large assortment of examples. Anyone interested in typography and looking for inspiration for their own hand lettering projects with love this book, I do!
0Comment| 25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on March 22, 2017
Love this book. Has great references of beautiful lettering.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on September 9, 2015
A really nice book of both type specimens and examples using them. We use it as a reference for tattoo design, but it's been great for graphic design as well.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on April 26, 2016
Not as much content as I thought it would have but still very nicely done. I am sharing it with my team.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on May 26, 2016
Fabulous reference for some of the finest design ever. Love it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on February 7, 2014
Nice big book filled with beautiful letterings from different countries.
I great collection book for people who love typography, calligraphy or lettering.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse