Your Garage Beauty Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Wedding Rustic Decor Book House Cleaning LastTycoon LastTycoon LastTycoon  Introducing Echo Show All-New Fire 7 Kids Edition, starting at $99.99 Kindle Oasis Nintendo Switch Water Sports STEMClubToys17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 14 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 19 reviews
on January 16, 2015
I like this book. Enough so that if it were not for its one big problem I would give it 5 stars. I have the Kindle edition of this book and I absolutely love the fact that you don't have to go searching for what you want. The book has a clickable table of contents (toc) of course, but many of those clicks send you to a sub ToC that narrows down where you want to go even more. Those sub-ToCs lead you either to the topic you're looking for or to still another sub-sub-ToC that narrows the search even more.

My BIG problem with this book is the illustrations. They are WAY too small and difficult to see and read. This is a big problem. The other problem is that when the author is describing something in a Scrivener window and then shows a screen shot of the window he NEVER highlights what he is describing so that the reader is left looking at these little bitty screen shots and trying to find the feature that is being described. Still Pope does an excellent job of describing the various features and telling the reader how they work and what they are useful for.

If you are a MAC OS X user Pope has this same book available for MAC users that describes the features in the MAC version of the program (now in version 2 as opposed to the Windows version 1.8 that is available now) that are not available to Windows users (at least not yet). My point is to make sure that you are buying the correct version of Scrivener for Writers for the version of the program you are using.

This is not an expensive book at all and is well worth the investment if you are new to Scrivener.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 31, 2012
I got this to help navigate the Windows version of Scrivener, altho I'd used the earlier (free) trial version a few times. The book is written a little sloppily, with some unnecessary repetition and some muddle. The author could do better, and the book deserves some more rewriting. But it does seem to cover all the basics, and it gave me enough knowledge to tackle Scrivener again. Admittedly, Scrivener is not an instinctive program to use, so a guide to its use requires some bravery from any author. This book and guide was useful, but not highly useful...
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 5, 2014
Bought this to ramp up use of Scrivener for Windows since the Scrivener tutorial is not that simple, or good. Noted the mention of typos by other reviewers, thought I could just bypass and ignore if it does provide a quickie intro to the subject. Does not seem to do it, at least not for me.

But it does illustrate one thing very clearly as an example or case in point--if one is a poor writer to begin with, no writing program in the world, however good, can compensate for the lack of writing skills. Stated alternatively, just because one knows how to use Scrivener does not make one a better writer.

In addition, should not be sloppy, in thinking or in writing and editing/proofing--it detracts, and all the more when the subject matter is about writing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 18, 2013
This book was a good reference. I took many notes in a Word document and still refer to them a couple months after purchase.

It not only covered the mechanics of the tool, but provided some good insights on how to apply it - tips for organizing work and leveraging tool features.

It was also good at pointing out the limitations between the Mac and Windows versions though it didn't cover all of them.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 9, 2017
The book was useful but with so many spelling errors one has to wonder if the author read his own book and why didn't Scrivener catch the large number of error?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 6, 2012
A good introduction to Scrivener for Windows covering all the features and explaining how each works. It covers possibilities of the product but rightly doesn't delve into a "this is the right way to use Scrivener." As such, I wouldn't term this a definitive work but rather a good introduction to the software. In retrospect, I think this may be better as a paper book rather than an E-Book as paper is useful as reference. But I do have a tablet to read from otherwise someone should consider large or double screen to read and to use Scrivener at the same time.

My caution with this book is that it does suffer from self publishing and could have used an editor on occasion. As such, I focused on the content which was good.

It is a good book for someone trying Scrivener initially.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 16, 2014
The information seems okay, but this book has a lot of typos. Makes me question the quality of the information, if the layout wasn't attended to.
11 comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 13, 2014
While this program doesn't do it all, it does enough for me for the price. What I appreciate are the multiple forms of tutorials, videos and instruction; I'm still in the learning stage.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 22, 2016
I like it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 29, 2014
Great guide for anyone new to Scrivener
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse