Industrial Deals Beauty STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Wedding Rustic Decor Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book House Cleaning kidsevergreen kidsevergreen kidsevergreen  Amazon Echo now $99.99 Limited-time offer: All-New Fire HD 8, starting at $59.99 Kindle Paperwhite GNO Tailgating STEMClubToys17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 25 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 26 reviews
on May 22, 2015
This video provides little to no viable information about the current neo-pagan movement. After giving a sketchy review of the loosely-knit group’s history, a few minutes were devoted to the viewpoints of three individual Wiccan couples of diverse backgrounds. The spouse of the first couple had just successfully argued the right for her recently deceased husband, a soldier who had been killed in Iraq in 2005, to have a Wiccan Symbol approved for his VA Headstone. A second couple was shown going about in their daily routine with several small children. The third and older, upper middle-class looking couple briefly justified their privacy issues and their subsequent need for keeping books and symbols out of the view of casual observers since so very few individuals understand the tenets of the earth-based religion. Why the three couples chose the neo-pagan movement over the more traditional ones was never explained. A debate between the two beliefs would have been interesting. The documentary abruptly ends, leaving the viewer with the impression that Paganism is a privately defined conviction that does not actively seek converts. If interested in obtaining further information on the topic, the undertaking is evidently left up to the viewer. No hint or suggestion is given as to where that could be found. The video teaches little beyond what one might have already learned from casual reading.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 17, 2016
This is a fair and pretty unbiased documentary look at modern day Pagans, Witches and Wiccans, according to my personal experiences. By NO means can, NOR SHOULD, anyone appearing in this video be taken as representatives of all Pagans, Witches and Wiccans. This documentary does NOT attempt to demonstrate anyone's beliefs and/or practices other than those whom appear here. All groups are completely autonomous and practices vary greatly. Pagans, Witches and Wiccans tend to be somewhat to extremely anti-authoritarian, so they govern/run their groups according to their own values and are usually pretty democratic. These qualities are somewhat demonstrated by the participants in this video. I highly recommend this for members of the general public who are truly and open-mindedly interested in the truth about what SOME Pagans, Witches and Wiccans REALLY do. This is NOT meant to fulfill nor answer the weird curiosities of the religious fundamentalists!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 19, 2013
I found this video to be, just like my title suggests, short but sweet. I would recommend this video to any practicing Wiccan or Pagan who is having a difficult time explaining their religion to their friends and family. There is so much more to the Pagan community then what was shown, but this video gives the viewer a glimpse into our world. As a Wiccan I wish this was longer, for non-pagans this might be a good "oh they are just normal people" video. I wish it was a series. I would recommend this video, 5 stars.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 23, 2011
This film was very informative and I felt it handled the subject matter objectively. It was very careful to avoid crazy pagan stereotypes and gave a nice broad overview of the Wiccan / Pagan religions. All of its subjects seemed like well adjusted folk that represented their faiths well. I learned a lot. Particularly the distinction between being Wiccan and being Pagan. I recommend this film to anyone just starting to learn about Wiccans and/or Pagan faiths. Hopefully the film maker can do more films on the subject and go into greater detail and depth about the many facets of Pagan communities, as it seems like this is quite a large subject to tackle with one film. But it seems like the only other film the filmmaker has done so far is a fiction narrative which is totally different. See Growing Up Vegas Oh well. But overall, Secret Circles Hidden Prayers is a great introductory piece. I wish there were more films like this, instead of the crappy sensational Halloweeny stuff we see on youtube and the news all the time.
0Comment| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 7, 2014
I was very disappointed in it's lack of information. No history of the Religion and very little about "coming out of the closet" after centuries of discrimination. I expected that it would have at least included the Wiccan Creed (aka Rede) and " Whatever you do comes back to you threefold." Both are responsibilities. I didn't agree with the explanation to the Christian child either. There are much better answers like honoring Mother Nature. The religion was built and lasted on love and when it is "half explained", that is where ignorance jumps in and gives Wiccans a bad name.
AND it was super short!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 31, 2015
This is a very short video, about 30 mins, but I still liked it and is good for those new to the craft to watch.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 25, 2015
I just wish that it was longer. It would be nice if there were also more movies out there like this one. There is so little right now.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 1, 2015
what a waste of two dollars, probably could find this or something better on youtube. 30 min on how society doesn't accept pagans or wiccans, didn't need to spend two dollars to know that.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 5, 2015
Wish this was longer! It just gives a glimpse into the world, but it is a good intro.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 20, 2012
This was a good documentary movie on magickal people. It would’ve been better if it had been a bit longer and more in-depth over the religions and practices of different types of people. However, I did enjoy the movie.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse