$30.10 + $4.58 shipping
Only 1 left in stock - order soon.
Ships from and sold by the_music_store.
+ $0.00 shipping
Used: Good | Details
Condition: Used: Good
Comment: Super Fast Shipping USPS 1st Class! CDs, DVDs, Videogames & More!
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Secret Ellington Songs from Saturday Laughter

5.0 out of 5 stars 1 customer review

See all 4 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
New from Used from
Audio CD, March 19, 2002
$30.10 $3.73

Editorial Reviews


Duke Ellington wrote over 2,000 compositions. So it should come as no surprise that many of his tunes continue to surface. Case in point are these songs from an aborted 1958 Ellington play entitled Saturday Laughter that were recently rediscovered and recorded. The CD features singers Ian Shaw, Jeffrey Smith, Bob Kindred, and Judi Silvano; saxophonists Joe Lovano and Eric Alexander; and pianist Arturo O'Farrill. With Ellington's music and lyrics by Herb Martin, the music on this is recording largely falls outside of Ellington's trademarked textural colors. There's the Ducal, light-stride cadences on "Only Yesterday" and the mournful "My Home Lies Quiet," which sounds like an extension of the "Far East Suite." But most of tracks have soft electronic tinges, courtesy of Joe Locke's vibraphone and Joe Beck's shimmering guitar lines. The most haunting track is "They Say," a ballad sung by Freddy Cole that features the last recorded performance of Grover Washington Jr., who solos beautifully on soprano sax. --Eugene Holley Jr.

Track Listings

Disc: 1

  1. You Are Beautiful
  2. They Say
  3. This Man
  4. Only Yesterday
  5. Only Yesterday
  6. I Like Singing
  7. Full Of Shadows
  8. New Shoes
  9. I Am Lonely
  10. You Are Beautiful
  11. I Get Lonely For A Plaything
  12. You Walk In My Dreams
  13. Big White Mountain
  14. My Home Lies Quiet

Product details

  • Audio CD (March 19, 2002)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Label: True Life
  • ASIN: B000062Y8F
  • Average Customer Review: 5.0 out of 5 stars 1 customer review
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #393,955 in CDs & Vinyl (See Top 100 in CDs & Vinyl)
  • Would you like to tell us about a lower price?
    If you are a seller for this product, would you like to suggest updates through seller support?

Customer Reviews

Share your thoughts with other customers
See all 1 customer reviews

Top customer reviews

March 25, 2002
Format: Audio CD
5 people found this helpful
|Comment|Report abuse
Pages with related products. See and discover other items: duke ellington jazz