Shop Auto Winter Products Beauty Best Books of the Year Black Friday Deals Week nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc For a limited time. 3 months for $0.99. Amazon Music Unlimited. New subscribers only. Terms and conditions apply. Electronics Gift Guide $24.99 for a limited time only Try it first with samples Handmade Gift Shop Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Early Black Friday deals: save 40% or more on Amazon Video Early Black Friday deals: save 40% or more on Amazon Video Early Black Friday deals: save 40% or more on Amazon Video  Echo Plus  Black Friday Deals Week: Fire tablets starting at $29.99. Limited-time offer. $30 off Kindle Paperwhite Just Dance 2018 Shop Now HTL17_gno

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
88
Secret War of Harry Frigg
Format: DVD|Change
Price:$17.11+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on March 26, 2016
Not the best movie Paul Newman ever made, but my favorite because the story speaks to me.

Paul Newman plays a born loser (which takes some acting chops, if you ask me) who must impersonate a general to break some real generals out of an Italian prison, which turns out to be more like a five star hotel than a POW camp.

The story starts out as a light comedy but changes into a serious prison escape story near the end. This is the best part of the movie, just about perfect in my opinion.

This is a no frills DVD with no extras, but that's OK.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 17, 2017
I watched this movie a long time ago and really wanted to see it again. I'm glad I got it. It's still a laugh.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 8, 2013
WHETHER YOU ARE A PAUL NEWMAN FAN OR NOT YOU HAVE TO SEE THIS FILM,
I WAS NOT A PAUL NEWMAN FAN BEFORE SEEING THIS! IT JUST PROVES THAT YOU CAN'T JUDGE A MOVIE BY THE ACTOR'S HISTORY.
PAUL IS UNCANNY AT PORTRAYING FRIGG! I DON'T KNOW IF THE RESULTANT COMEDY IS DUE TO HIS ACTING ABILITY, OR WAS JUST AN ACCIDENTAL COMBINATION OF GOOD ACTING AND DIRECTING, BUT THIS MOVIE IS HILARIOUS, A LAUGH A MINUTE. AN UNLIKELY PLOT, TO BE SURE, BUT YOU FORGET ALL ABOUT IT IN THE OPENING SCENE.
FRIGG IS AN ARMY PRIVATE WITH A DISTINCTLY UNMILITARY ATTITUDE, (AND A VERY SPECIAL TALENT) IN THE BRIG FOR "UNMILITARY BEHAVIOR" ( MY DESCRIPTION). HE IS RECRUITED BY THE GENERAL STAFF OF THE ARMY FOR A "SPECIAL ASSIGNMENT" AND THAT'S WHEN THE LAUGHS START!
I WON'T RUIN THE STORY FOR YOU. BUT I DO HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS MOVIE. IT'S WORTH THE PRICE!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 3, 2017
This is a great movie. love watching it Paul Newman was great.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 7, 2013
I first saw this film years ago in the movie theater. I loved it then and still enjoy it - although it was funnier way back then - tastes change. It is still pretty darned humorous. Paul Newman of course excels at being Paul Newman and he has long been a favorite. The rest of the cast is excellent. The story line involves a total loser of a GI whose only claim to fame is the number of times he has broken out of various military jails (this of course is Newman) Then there are 5 generals - all equal rank all allies but not from the same country. They have been captured and are enjoying the hospitality of their host, an Italian Colonel who in pre-war life was a concierge at a top ranked hotel. The fun goes on from there. You have to see it for the rest of the story.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 15, 2017
One of Newman's best.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 6, 2014
This is a little-known Paul Newman title, but it really is well done. Newman is a private in WWII who gets captured by the Germans, and is mistakenly put into an officers-only compound, in a castle. Hatching an escape plan, Newman tries to enlist the officers to go with him, but they have a hard time, taking orders from a private! Tom Bosley and Andrew Duggan give good performances.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 8, 2016
I was disappointed with the format, no menu or subtitles. I could have copied my VHS tape and received a better result, which is what it looks like; a VHS copy. So sad for such a funny movie, it deserved more respect with all the stars involved in the production.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 2, 2012
I'm very happy that this movie is finally available legally in the US. I've had the French release for several years now. The movie is funny, well-acted, and, espcially if you were in the service, a delight!!!!

I bought four copies of this to hand out as Christmas presents. Everyone was very happy with their gift. HOWEVER, we must have a bad batch. Everyone one of these copies has a video glitch during the Turkish bath scene.

HIGHLY recommended Paul Newman movie. Don't listen to critics. Their job title should give you a hint as to what their opinion will be.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 23, 2013
If you haven't seen this little gem, you are missing a treat! Paul Newman is Private Harry Frigg, who is constantly escaping from the Army stockades. When several Brigadier Generals are captured by the Italians, Harry is sent in to help them escape. What no-one counted on was the beautiful Contessa who owns the palazzo that the Italians have turned into a prison for their high-ranking prisoners. This fun movie has long been a family favorite and we were delighted to see it released on DVD.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse