Hill Climb Racing 2 Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month Shop new men's suiting nav_sap_hiltonhonors_launch Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited GNO for iPhone 8 Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Transparent Transparent Transparent  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Trade in. Get paid. Go shopping. Tailgating STEMClubToys17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 11-20 of 38 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 45 reviews
on October 4, 2013
This book is not a how to book to teach techniques, but it doesn't advertise to be that. It is a good book to look over a great photographer's shoulder a little bit. There are lots of great lessons about the people side of photography.

I really enjoyed the book.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 26, 2014
everything ok, just not my kind of photography but the book is really nice.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 19, 2013
A really interesting book by a very interesting guy. I love the style of the book, the prose and the way it is organized. However, I would like some more technical details -- not too many but a few more would make it right.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 30, 2013
The "secrets" book not only shows Brian's strong examples of portraiture and his approached to solving the problems as you approach an assignment. he also show how in today world you need strong camera technical but also digital editing to create truely stunning photos. Well done!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon October 16, 2012
There are so many books on the technology of photography, and I am ecstatic that this is not one of them. Brian Smith focuses on the key people skills and creative techniques used to get the best out of subjects and take great environmental portraits -- on a budget. He assumes you are technically competent with your gear, and instead addresses the huge gap between being able to shoot a technically perfect image and getting a good portrait, and that's why this book is so valuable and relevant.

Smith and distills his considerable experience into a series of pithy, well-written chapters illustrated by one or more fantastic photo portraits. Each nugget of knowledge is delivered as a story of the subject and the shoot, illustrating the key point through word and image. It's immensely readable as a result -- I picked it up, couldn't stop turning the pages, and finished it in a single sitting. The topics range from location scouting to posing subjects, to handling different personalities to working with your crew. All of it is about producing the best possible result for the client and the subject. It's all incredibly inspiring, and Smith proposes concrete things you can do to improve your craft.

I am sure this will be available as an e-book for Kindle, but given the choice I'd buy a physical copy. You need to see the strong, bold images alongside the text.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 19, 2012
This is really a fascinating book written by one of the most famous photographers doing top notch work. I especially appreciated the straight forward style of writing with the reader in mind. Make a super gift for anyone interested in taking better photos.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 29, 2013
This was a book on my sons Amazon wish list. He is a photographer and seemed to enjoy the book. He read it every day he was here visiting.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 3, 2012
Brian Smith provides insights into the world of a successful portraitist that delve into the personalities of his subjects and not the typical lighting diagrams. For Brian, photographic content is king, and rightfully so.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 16, 2014
Great photos and great insight. Very helpful to me as well as inspiring.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 21, 2012
I was hoping for more in-depth technical information and approaches, more "How I did it" type of things. The content is largely anecdotal, but informatively-so... this is not a collection of stories for the sake of "cocktail party" type entertainment, but a series of lessons on handling changes and the ups and downs of doing what we do, in a given situation. Not "what" to think, but "how" to think.
If you're a 'Kindle' person, I would suggest getting the e-version; for what you get the hardcopy seems a tad overpriced. The ONLY drawback to the e-version is that the pics aren't high enough resolution so that you can zoom in for details.

It's a good book, though.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse