STEMClubToys17_gno Lyft Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_hiltonhonors_launch Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited Get 10% cashback on thousands of musical instruments with your Amazon.com Store Credit Card Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon BradsStatus BradsStatus BradsStatus  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Shop Now



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 22 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 25 reviews
on September 7, 2017
There are many books out there touting their ability to explain Warren Buffet's success. This one, though, stays true to the icon in its reliance on the annual letters and BRK meetings as the source of wisdom that Mr. Matthews then mines for overarching themes. I enjoyed that approach, and thought he made a number of good points.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 25, 2012
If you are just vaguely curious about Warren Buffet and don't want heavy reading, this is the book for you. However, if you're looking for more concrete, detailed information, rather than a nice story, I would choose a different book. The book is a quick-reading and somewhat entertaining story of the author's trips to 2 Berkshire annual meetings. It's an interesting account of the annual meetings and the general aura around Buffet as "Oracle of Omaha," and includes some basics on his investment strategy at Berkshire Hathaway.

I appreciate what the author was going for, but I could have done without the meaningless details on the particulars of the author's journey (rental car issues, flight delays, rain) that didn't add anything to the content. I didn't get much out of the book in terms of learning about Buffet's investment strategies, beyond just general information. When the author decided to divulge details, he would put a disclaimer ("Warning: boring insurance information coming up"), which I found annoying and somewhat insulting to the reader's intelligence or attention span.

In short, I found the book good, enjoyable and informative light reading, but a bit too fluffy for what I was looking for. It's just a quick intro on Buffet to pique your interest to learn more.
0Comment| 25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 19, 2011
I have been invested in Berkshire Hathaway for over 10 years, attended several shareholder meetings and read a majority of the books written about Warren Buffet along with his shareholder and partnership letters. If you are just learning about Buffet this is a good, balanced take on the man and his investment philosophy - certainly a must read. Experienced investors may not find this book to be overly insightful but for the price of $4.99 this is a great little piece to read on the plane. It would have been rewarding to see more examples in the book of investments that Buffet has made and the particulars surrounding them (price paid for the business, type of business model, competitive advantage, market share, growth, etc.). Readers will find that one of the things that differentiates Mr. Matthews from most other Buffet pundits his objective analysis on Buffet's investments and how they are positioned for future growth and/or sustainability. I think this is where readers can learn tons about Buffet's investing style and how to appropriately size up a business from an investment perspective (with the help of Mr. Mattews narrative).
Full Disclosure - while I read the sporadic postings on Mr. Matthews web site I must confess I never read Mr. Matthews first book - maybe he elaborates on these issues with a greater frequency. Once the $4.99 ebook to come out I will be sure to give it a read.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 16, 2011
Good read and well written. The book recalls memories of the meetings
in 2007 and 2008 (have attended since 2002). The name of the book is
paradoxical as the author makes it clear that the Buffett and Munger investing
style and criteria is in plain sight whether spoken or in print. There
are a couple of items included as Native American questions and the number of
African-American attendees (very few) that reveal a social conscience.
There good-natured humor of Buffett and Munger is documented and the
conservative approach to handling finances and investing is well presented.
There are many books about Warren Buffett and this is one of the better
books. If you are a BH shareholder and have been to a shareholder meeting
you will find tidbits and behind the scenes information.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 3, 2013
I consider the book a fairly objective study of Buffett (one of the most studied men in America). It is sometimes unfair as when he wonders why, if Buffett is so smart, isn't Nebraska Furniture Warehouse the equivalent of Ikea? He unveils the myth of Buffett letting acquired businesses run as before (Buffett calls the CFO and tells him, "I'm your bank, now", and that gives him all the control he needs.). Plenty of similar insights make the book a simple and worthwhile read. Buffett has always been one of my few heroes and still is; however I would try and sell my Berkshire a few months before I believed Buffett would step down.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 7, 2013
I've read about 30 books on value investing in general and Buffett in particular. This one really gets you thinking and provides good context when thinking about Berkshire Hathaway, its fully owned businesses and shareholder meetings.
As someone who has worked at IKEA I can't help thinking about what the author writes about Berkshire owned (Nebraska) Furniture Marts and Sees Candies, etc. How big could they have gotten, if they didn't have to plow their profits back to Buffett? Interesting questions and perspective.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 12, 2014
Although I enjoyed getting an inside look at the happenings of the shareholders meetings, I felt that the author was at times more redundant than he needed to be in relaying the information from the meetings. I also felt that this was not very well edited. That being said, for the price I felt it was worthwhile especially if there continue to be updates automatically downloaded. I am interested to see how this will work.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 16, 2015
BRKA once in a Life Time
Good insight,well presented.
In summary BRKA is K.I.S.S.
Buffett and Munger up close and personal,you can not ask for anything more for this generation.
This is the spelling of homework and then its application in patience
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 19, 2015
Before you go to business school or law school, you should read this book. The knowledge in school they are going to tell you could be very wrong.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 18, 2016
Simple and thoughtful idea which help a lot
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse