Spring Deals Automotive HPC Best Books of the Month New-season heels nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Stream your favorites. Amazon music Unlimited. Learn more. All-New Fire 7, starting at $49.99 Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Personalized Jewelry Home and Garden Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Pitch Perfect 3 available to buy Pitch Perfect 3 available to buy Pitch Perfect 3 available to buy  Echo Fire tablets: Designed for entertainment Kindle Paperwhite GNO Shop now TG18PP_gno

on January 29, 2015
This book was made famous by Warren Buffet, but you probably already know that. Will it teach you to invest like Warren? Yes, the fundamentals are there and so are the valuation techniques. In today's rough and tumble world, it's hard to say that it still applies. On a very basic level, yes it does.

Security Analysis: The Classic 1934, has been dubbed as an endless source of insight when it comes to investing. Written by two gurus- Benjamin Graham and David Dood this book will awaken the sleeping investor in anyone. Knowing that they taught Warren Buffet his technique has made them famous in the financial world.

The book was written in 1934 just 5 years after the collapse of the stock market in 1929, and right about the time of the Glass-Steagel Act which changed the ethics of the stock market and how they were regulated. Benjamin’s idea was to teach people about the basics of investment by providing insights of what one should look out for in a business that they wish to invest in. Can you get through all these 725 pages? Yes you can, but it will not be an easy read like the Hunger Games.

If you do get through it, you will possess a book written nearly 8 decades ago that has sage insights. You will learn of a framework to follow before rushing into any investment. Also, you will be able to discern a business that looks profitable but in hindsight it is clutching on straws and in the verge of bankruptcy. After reading this book, you will have learned the basic philosophy and principles of investment in the stock market. You will be equally equipped with the tools (mostly analytical and philosophical) that will help you make decisions regarding investments. The difference between investment and speculation, discussion and analysis are all outlined. The reason it is important to know these differences is because the business segment during news time never explain them and so is school. Benjamin will make you understand the meaning of these and other terms his book in a very practical manner.

Warren Buffet was Benjamin’s student and if not for anything else, this alone should serve as a motivation for anyone to take up this book and read it. Be warned though, the book has no single picture and it’s a big book. Luckily for us the book has no filler words and everything written in the book makes a lot of sense which is interesting. There are also other editions of this book, but this particular edition retains all the ‘Old Ben’s’ teachings which is why it is worth every dime. The book is also not a get rich quick scheme. The book only provides insight on what the real investment market looks like and the decisions you should make before making an investment and hence the name of the book-‘Security Analysis’.

If you have ever been duped into making an investment or sheepishly following the crowd to make an investment that turned out to be fake, then grab a cup of coffee and be educated by this man Benjamin Graham and his co-author David Dood, all who seem to have travelled to the future as this book is still very relevant.
11 comment| 99 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on May 10, 2017
DO NOT BUY THIS EDITION- GO GET THE 2ND EDITION INSTEAD (either the kindle or physical version)!! Both the physical copy and kindle version of the 6th edition exclude 30+% of the critical information on how to go about actually evaluating certain investments. I don't know why McGraw Hill excluded such important chapters from this edition, only to allow you to access the missing chapters from a CD Rom (which is not compatible with so many computers nowadays). I spent over an hour trying to get the missing chapters. Go save yourself the trouble, and just buy the 2nd edition.

Benjamin Graham and David L. Dodd have written an excellent book. It's easy to follow and has an incredible amount of insight. Don't lose out on it by buying the incomplete 6th edition. The commentary and forwards provided are great in the 6th edition, but they in no way make up for the shockingly VAST amount of MISSING content.

**Shoutout to theamazing Amazon Kindle rep who helped me figure this out and take care of the issue! McGraw Hill was of ZERO help**
0Comment| 44 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on June 19, 2017
Both the original content and the additional content in his edition are great. However, the additional content has been added at the expense of eleven chapters and the appendix, which you must use an included CD to access. The CD however does not even contain the chapters themselves, but a link to a webpage from which to download them. I purchase physical copies of nonfiction books because the formatting is generally superior to e-book versions, making them easier to read. This has been particularly counter-productive in this instance, as not only is it annoying to have to switch, but the missing chapters seem to have been removed almost at random. Also, the provided digital chapters are .pdf files instead of e-book files, so reading them is actually worse than reading a normal e-book.

The ridiculous thing is that I would have gladly paid extra for the full thing in two print volumes.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on August 19, 2017
"Price is what you pay, value is what you get"

In the case of the 6th edition of Security Analysis, the value is a poor one indeed. The book has been "updated" to include the commentary of some of the more well-known value investors of our age, which by itself is great. However, what the good folks over at McGraw Hill downplay is the fact they decided to remove a sizable portion of the actual text from the book, and shift it to a CD-Rom. Out of the 52 chapters that comprise this masterful work, 11 (~21% of the original text) have been omitted from the actual book, along with the appendix which houses a great deal of statistical data that adds vital context to Graham and Dodd's insightful analysis. The CD-Rom adds another layer of consumer woe to this laughable excuse of an edition. Inserting the CD in to your computer you are prompted to provide a host of information (Name, Email, etc.) to access the text that you own. On principle, I refuse to jump through these hoops just because some unscrupulous publisher thinks he can get clever on how to collect my personal information.

I guess it’s fitting that in a book that teaches you how to search for value your first test is to actually choose the version that provides the most value for your dollar. I can tell you this now; the 6th edition is not the version that does the trick. Please learn from my mistake and choose another version that does not short change you on content. As a starting point, the 2nd edition, published in 1940, is the version that Warren Buffett used when he was getting his start in the investing world.

This book is a timeless classic on investing and you will be enriched mentally and possibly even financially if you are willing to read thoughtfully and diligently. However, your journey through securities analysis will be hobbled if you only receive 4/5 of the content you purchased. To that end I would recommend a version of Security Analysis other than the 6th edition.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on November 1, 2016
A good, thorough, and comprehensive book. But it is a TEXTBOOK, with all the baggage that comes with it. Some days while studying it I feel like I'm slogging thru it - subtract a star for "textbookishness".

Having said that, I'm not shelving this beast as I intend to learn how to analyze securities.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on November 21, 2012
I just finished reading this book cover to cover, and will probably read it again in a few weeks time. I found it to be quite simply the best and most complete resource on value investing I have ever seen, read or heard of in my life. Graham and Dodd not only teach us how to invest and why, but convey with beautiful eloquence their reasoning and frame of mind. They teach us that investing is as much about constitution and temperament as it is about logic and numbers, and are able to impart that wisdom and experience to us in those few hundred pages (ok, many hundred pages).

For those of you reading this who are new to investing, Benjamin Graham and David Dodd quite literally wrote the book on value investing, and this is it. I would point out though that it was written for the purpose of being a source of information and tools rather than a way of introducing and inspiring its readers to the philosophy of value investing. So if you are new to investing or to the concepts of value investing, I would really recommend reading Graham's "The Intelligent Investor" first; it's a comparatively easy to read introduction to the concepts covered in greater detail in this book.

While I have not read the original 1930's edition, I have heard that this version is more complete in that it irons out some of the kinks in the investment strategy that Graham developed following his near bankruptcy during the great depression.

A word on the relevance of this book in today's market: Much of the book centers about examples from preferred stocks of utilities and railroads, investment vehicles which are far less prevalent today than they were in the early 20th century. However, these are just examples, and the pitfalls and opportunities which arise in the stock market are as prevalent today as they were in the days this book was written. I am of the opinion that those who criticize this work on the basis that it is outdated, really did not understand what Graham was trying to do; to convey a new way of thinking about stocks, and to understand them based on the company that they represent. It doesn't matter whether you are purchasing a pre-depression era railroad preferred or the hybrid floating rate bond of a modern technology company, the examples exist to illustrate how to look past all that and to understand what the purchase of that security really means. If, after reading this book, you find yourself unable to transfer the examples to the modern world, then quite frankly you've read it wrong.

If, however, you are concerned about the relevance and are after more specific guidance on modern applications (as well as trimming of the "less" relevant sections), take a look at the 6th edition of this book, which contains detailed chapter summaries and introductions by modern money people.

Finally, the reason for the 4 stars: The digitization of this book is not fantastic, and given the price this is not really acceptable. I found several errors which I have reported (and will hopefully have been fixed by now), but my real gripe is with the tables and figures, which are simply scanned. This is usually fine, but many of the footnotes are so small as to be illegible, and the overall feel is somewhat like a sketchbook; with cutouts glued to the pages where the tables were in the real book. I had hoped that Amazon would instead have digitally transcribed the tables and inserted them, or at least given them a transparent background, rather than the sepia tone that can't be changed on the tables. If this is ever corrected I'll change my review to 5 stars and remove this paragraph.

I can't possibly express my gratitude for what those two did when they decided to put Graham's experience onto paper in the form of this book, and I think I will forever be grateful for their efforts. This book has taught me invaluable lessons not only in investing but also in prudence and the value of sobriety in the face of euphoria and gloom, lessons which apply to many other facets of life.
33 comments| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on February 19, 2015
Outstanding book by the greatest teacher of investment analysis in history. What's not to like? Warren Buffett says this edition, that is the 1940 edition, is best, so this is the one to get.

Only quibble is that it's a bit long and sometimes ponderous. If you haven't read "The Intelligent Investor" by Benjamin Graham, get that one first; but after you read that, you'll probably want to read this one.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on February 5, 2013
With nearly a million copies sold, "Security Analysis" has been continuously in print for more than sixty years. No investment book in history had either the immediate impact, or the long-term relevance and value, of its first edition in 1934.

The prescient thinking and insight displayed by Graham and Dodd in the first editions of "Security Analysis" reached new heights in the second edition. In words that could just as easily have been written today as fifty years ago, they detail techniques and strategies for attaining success as individual investors, as well as the responsibilities of corporate decision makers to build shareholder value and transparency for those investors.

The focus of the book, however, remains its timeless guidance and advice--that careful analysis of balance sheets is the primary road to investment success, with all other considerations little more than distractions.

"Security Analysis: The Classic 1940 Edition" marks the return of this long-out-of-print work to the investment canon. It will reacquaint you with the foundations of value investing--more relevant than ever in tumultuous twenty-first century markets--and allow you to own the second installment in what has come to be regarded as the most accessible and usable title in the history of investment publishing.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on March 20, 2017
This book is still a valuable reference to understand value investment fundamentals. With up-to-date comments from today investment managers, this 1940 book brings timeless knowledge. Unfortunately, I cannot undestand why McGraw-Hill made it as almost paper book, but with important parts, including the famous appendix with notes, in a CD that directs you to a site where you can download PDF files with that stripped parts of the book. It is not comfortable to read, and seems that this was done to cheapen print costs. The book will deserve 5 stars when printed with all chapters and appendix in paper, if McGraw-Hill fix that issue.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on October 27, 2013
There are two key things you need to know about the 6th edition:

1. It is based on the 2nd edition (1940), NOT on the 5th edition (1988)
2. The original book has been abridged in order to fit the commentary

This was not quite what I expected, and I think I might have been happier with the 4th or 5th edition (I've already read the 1st edition and was intentionally looking to read a different one)
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse