BCA Month Salon Beauty altText This Week in Books Hallo nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited $69.99 Handmade Gift Shop hgg17 Save $30 on a Deep Cleaning Appointment curbpremiere curbpremiere curbpremiere  Three new members of the Echo family Now shipping All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 All-New Kindle Oasis GNO Shop Now HTL17_gno



on December 24, 2012
This novella is a companion novella to Eloisa James' The Ugly Duchess. It follows Sir Griffin Barry, the captain of the Flying Poppy, home to his wife whom he hasn't seen in seventeen years.

On his wedding night, Sir Griffin Barry, a young lad of only seventeen, found himself de-manned by his wife's extraordinary beauty. She was a few years older, and he just couldn't seem to... complete the deed. So, in his shame, he jumped out the window, went to a pub, and got rip roaring drunk. The next morning, he awoke to find himself pres-ganged onto a ship, and already at sea. His leap to piracy came shortly after that.

Phoebe, the wife he left behind, started a life of her own without her husband, and adopted three young children. She enjoys her babies, and living her solitary life in a country manor.

But when Griffin abruptly shows back up in her life, she's not sure she wants to be married to this gruff pirate that left her alone for so many years. But Griffin is more than pleased with his wife, and is ready to show her that he is no longer the inexperienced youth he once was. Will he be able to win his wife over before it's too late?

This was a great companion novella to The Ugly Duchess, and I'm glad that I got to read more about Sir Griffin Barry, since he was such an interesting character in the original novel. His wife was a bit less exciting for me, but, I still loved the overall story. All I can say though, is that at the end, I wanted more!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 31, 2012
BOOK REVIEW - SEDUCED BY A PIRATE by Eloisa James

Griffin and Phoebe are married. In fact they have been married fourteen years.

Shh, she is still a virgin. He decamped on the wedding night.

Then he had the effrontery to become a pirate.

Phoebe has a secret. In fact she has three of them.

Brood.

Offspring.

Children.

Family.

Then there is the bet.

Griffin and his cousin James (The Ugly Duchess) make a bet as to who can get his wife to bed first.

Griffin goes home to Phoebe. She doesn't recognize him. To her he is still the seventeen year old boy who had fled out the window on their wedding night.

To him she is more beautiful and desirable than ever.

Let the seduction begin.

This captivating story will have you laughing at amusing antics and sighing with the heroine at more intimate moments.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 15, 2012
I was so excited to read this after finishing the ugly success. First it is so short. I wanted to enjoy this book. I kept waiting for it to get better and then it just ended.
There's not much character development either. You don't get to the heart of them. And he's gone for over a decade and they never knew each other before he left. And then the night he comes back they instantly love each other? Not buying it.
I like to read books by Eloisa James and especially with this being a followup to The Ugly Duchess I really expected more. Honestly I would skip this read. Sad to say that but it just really isn't worth it. Don't count out the author though. This ite first book that I didn't like by her. If you get a chance read The Ugly Duchess. That was great!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 5, 2017
I loved reading about Phoebe and Griffin! This is a short story that leaves you content and happy. If you read The Ugly Duchess you'll meet Griffin and hear part of his story but you don't need to read it in order to enjoy this short novela. It's sweet, romantic and very sexy, enjoy!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 5, 2015
Reviewed by Marissa
Book provided by Edelweiss for review
Review originally posted at Romancing the Book

I always enjoy Eloisa James’ stories, whether long or short, and Seduced by a Pirate is no exception.

Phoebe is a wonderful head-strong character. After her husband of just a few hours leaves her, she marches on with her life, buying a country house and adopting her cousin’s children. She’s pretty no-nonsense, she doesn’t dream of a handsome prince coming to save her. She doesn’t even dream of her husband coming home. In fact, she’d rather he didn’t. She’s happy enough with her life and she wishes that he’d just leave her be.

Griffin, who remembers his wife ‘Poppy’ fondly enough to name his ship after her but not well enough to know her name is actually Phoebe, both adores and fears his wife. He wants so much to be loved by her to please her but she has a full life without him. He believes she had taken a lover after his disappearance (hence the three children) and she has her own money, left to her after the death of her parents.

One thing about the story I liked was that Phoebe and Griffin took the time to learn about each other and to actually fall in love. It was sweet and the characters completely likable. The Ugly Duchess is the companion book to Seduced. They take place at the same time but it doesn’t matter which order you read them in.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
The blurb of this sounded fun, and when I saw it was .99 (now 1.99), I got it. I didn't read book 4 in the Fairy Tales series because of some cheating issues. In this novella, Griffin, did cheat on his wife, but we don't hear about it in depth, unlike the previous book.

Griffin is a bit surprised by his wife, she's not quite what he remembered. In fact, he doesn't quite have her name right, and he named his ship after her...wrongly! She was not amused. She's also not all that thrilled that he's been a pirate. Well, recently a privateer. Fine line, that. He has returned, after many years away, with a pardon in his pocket.

The biggest part of his surprise is that his wife has children. Many of them. While he distinctly remembers running away before their marriage was consummated, the fact of children calling his wife Mama comes as a shock.

These two need to talk, but they both want to kiss. Well, mostly. This romance was fast, over and done with in about 100 pages. BUT, that's okay. It's a novella and was a nice read for a couple hours. Would I have liked to have seen a bit more of them? Yes, but this was fun, anyway.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 30, 2012
With the description of what Griffin looked like after being taken from Phoebe as a boy and returning as a man 14 years, then definitely. It was an arranged marriage between Phoebe and Griffin when she was 20 and he was 17 that did not turn out the way it was suppose to at all for both parties. Phoebe thought he just abandoned her, was considered a disgrace by her parents and while she received money from his agent over the years she never spent it. In actuality when he went to the pub because he was embarrassed with himself after a failure to perform on the first night, he got drunk and was taken and placed on a ship where he later became a privateer. Now the question was would this marriage continue after being away for 14 years as Griffin wanted or would it end like Phoebe wanted so she could move on with her life? What about the children involved?

This is a short book so that means a quick read and adds in a bit of information that is missing from her other book, The Ugly Duchess. The missing part is great because sometimes you do have these questions when you read other books about a character that is in it. You would like to see what happened with them or how their marriage came about. But there were a few problems that I had with it because it was so short, maybe too short. The first that he could come back after such a long period of time and change Phoebe's attitude within a night and go onto a happy marriage is well hard to believe, so I do wish it had gone on for a few days at least. Then there was the confusion as you get to the end because first it skips to ahead and then onto maybe years later it is hard to say what it was. Maybe it was the title of the chapters for if she had put "a few months later" and then "Epilogue" it would have made more sense.

All in all I would say it was a definite great read and I can't wait to read her other books.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 28, 2013
I read a fair amount of historical romance (Mary Balogh, Joanna Bourne, Cecelia Grant), but this was my first Eloise James book, and I'm in NO hurry to read another. The characters speak like actors in a melodrama ("I would rather die than see my children follow in the footsteps of a bloody pirate"), and the narrative description is absurd ("Even his dark blond hair lent itself to that vision [hero as lion]. Although it was cut short, it sprang from his scalp like a shorn mane. She was stricken by an edgy awareness that sent a flush of heat to her face, but she straightened her backbone. She had to protect her children").

Worst of all, the alpha-male nonsense is just plain offensive: "She wanted a man -- Griffin -- to look at her with bold hunger, even if he tossed her on the bed, for all the world as if she were a possession rather than a woman." GAH. I wish someone had sunk this pirate's ship, leaving no survivors.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon November 5, 2012
I loved Eloisa James's The Ugly Duchess (Happily Ever After...), and I love this companion story just as much. We met Griffin, the hero, in the novel which takes place concurrently with this story, but he disappears fairly early on in that book as he makes his return to the wife he hasn't seen in 14 years. For her part, Phoebe has not been pining for her husband, but has basically decided to go on and live her life. She has made a home for herself in which she is comfortable and happy, so Griffin's return is something of a shock to her.

We find out early on the true reason for Griffin's having disappeared the morning after their marriage. Contrary to what I expected, when I read the reason, it actually made me like Griffin more. Although Griffin was unfaithful to Phoebe during his absence, this didn't bother me as infidelity does in other books because of the circumstances (which I won't explain lest I spoil the story for you).

The romance in the story is fairly simple and sweet, and maybe even comes a little too easily, but the characters and James's remarkable writing make this a light, fun read that is more than worth the asking price. And unlike a lot of novellas I'm finding on my Kindle these days, this is a story that I know I'll read again.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 18, 2013
Sir Griffin Barry wed at age 17, a marriage not consummated, left his wife after one day. He had been gone 14 years; making his way as a pirate at first, but as a privateer for the last seven years, all the while sending money back home to his wife. Now with a limp, the tattooed Griffin has decided his sea faring days are over. When he arrives home, the first thing he notes is three children present and they are calling his wife mama. He figures his wife gave up waiting on him and had the children by a lover. Phoebe isn't that happy to see Griffin at first, especially after he calls her "Poppy". All these years, Griffin had not even known his wife's correct name; he even named his ship after her and had a tattoo of a poppy on his cheek. Phoebe is uncertain what Griffin will say about the children but she has no intention of giving them up. Phoebe asks Griffin for an annulment but he refuses; he tells her he wants her and intends to consummate their marriage.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse