Your Garage Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Samsung S8 Launch Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Mother's Day Gifts hgg17 Book House Cleaning animestrike animestrike animestrike  Introducing Echo Look Starting at $49.99 Kindle Oasis Nintendo Switch National Bike Month on Amazon disgotg_gno_17

Price:$6.77+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 300 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 313 reviews
on December 2, 2009
I bought one of these and it worked perfectly. However, you need to be sure that you have a Genesis model 1 or this will NOT work, because later models had a smaller connecter. If your Genesis has a headphone jack, volume control and power switch, then it's a model 1 and these A/V cables are what you want. If your Genesis lacks a headphone jack and volume control, but has a power "button", then it's a Genesis model 2. A model 3 is easy to tell because it's tiny and says "Genesis 3" right on it.

Hope that answers some questions for anyone who might have wanted to know, or wasn't sure about buying this!
66 comments| 115 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 13, 2017
Had old Genesis, and this worked, but it doesn't have the full amount of pins on the black end that were present on the original Sega cord. This makes the picture bad quality, but I can still play the games with original sound, so that's all I care about. I went to 4 different video game resale shops and scoured the internet. No one is making the original cord, anymore, and there are a LOT of people claiming they have produced a better cord, but they are all like this product: a few pins short.
11 comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 25, 2017
Received my cable two days ago and have had some problems with it. It fits my model 1601 Genesis fine and the game runs well except for the fact that every like 60 seconds when I'm playing a game the screen gets extremely fuzzy to the point where you can't see anything. It reverts back to normal after about 5 seconds but repeats the process. If anyone has any ideas as to why this is happening please let me know.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 3, 2014
Be sure your Genesis is indeed a model 1 (volume lever, headphone jack, giant circular case design around the game slot), otherwise this won't fit. Works great for mine and I recommend it to anyone with the model 1 Genesis if you're looking to play your old childhood favorites again!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 30, 2017
The male end (output) that protrudes and sticks into the component input is shorter than these types of cables generally are are, and so it would not stay connected to my Sega Genesis 1.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 23, 2017
works great
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 5, 2017
Great! Does the old trick!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 24, 2017
Cable works perfectly in my Model 1 Genesis. Feel's like a good quality cable, no issues.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 7, 2011
I got a sega genesis at a yard sale and it come with the power cord and a bunch of games but it didnt come with an av cable so i had to order one off of amazon. it works great the sound and picture are awesome
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 22, 2013
I would recommend this to any retro gamer, looking for an av cable for the first model sega genesis it's precisely the cord you will need.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse