Industrial Deals Beauty MagazinestoInspire STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Wedding Rustic Decor Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book House Cleaning TheTick TheTick TheTick  Amazon Echo now $99.99 Limited-time offer: All-New Fire HD 8 Kids Edition, starting at $99.99 Kindle Paperwhite Trade it in. Fund the next. Tailgating STEMClubToys17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 277 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 379 reviews
on February 12, 2015
Let me first say that I am a 'watch guy'. I have owned a Rolex Sub, a GMT Master II and a Charriol - so I am not afraid to drop some coin on a watch. I was itching for something new and I was willing to spend a few bucks. I wanted a diver watch and when I did some Google searches this Seiko watch popped up. I read the reviews and watched a few youtube videos on it and I figured 'why not give it a try'. It's only $200 bucks after all. Yesterday I recieved my Amazon package, and let me say this is one fabulous watch. It came in a simple box and pillow with an instruction booklet and a card to fill out to show ownership. The watch itself is very well made. Excellent brush finish on the steel case, with nice mirror finish on the sides. The bezel feels substantial and turns nicely with each 'clique'. The face is easy to read with nice sharp markers that glow in the dark nice and bright. The watch isn't too big and looks great on the wrist [I hate those big bulkly watches that people wear today].
The black rubber strap is really nice, it looks great and feels good on the wrist. Nothing about this watch feels cheap. This is a great watch.

How does it compare to a Rolex? It my opinion it is just as good and has a better warranty as well. A Rolex Sub will be 30X more expensive but I assure you it is not 30X better than this Seiko watch. This is a great timepiece.
0Comment| 60 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 18, 2014
Just received the SKX173. I already have the 007 model and love it, but the more I looked at the pictures of the 173 I liked the way the rectangular markers on the dial looked more than the round ones on the 007. I also like the second hand on the 173 better since the luminous dot is on the pointer end , rather than on the other end which is its location on the 007. Other than that, and the fact that it's manufactured in Malaysia rather than Japan ( which I hope doesn't affect the watch's accuracy) the 2 watches are to my eye the same.
I agree with all the other rave reviews on this watch. It looks real cool, it's really easy to read the time, I like the day/ date positioning and size, and the luminosity is incredible, I don't dive but I wear the watch at night and without my glasses on I can't read the clock . I rely on the watch to tell me the time. The lume on these seiko divers is better than on any other watch,other than the Luminox. I like that the dial is a matte rather than a dark black . I also like that the Diver's Watch printing on the dial is in red. Gives just a little color to the black and white dial.
I have owned rolex submariners, and omega diver watches and I can honestly say that I like this one and the 007 more than any of the other watches. The cyclops eye on the rolex makes it more difficult for me to read the time, and while the dateless submariner doesn't give the date, and thus has no cyclops, I like having a date on the watch. I also like having the day, seems as I'm getting older I forget which day it is.
So, if spending 8000 dollars on a watch instead of $200 so that you can have people see you are wearing a Rolex is worth it to you, go for the Rolex.Otherwise, get these seiko divers. They are truly classics and one of the few things that cost less than they are worth.
11 comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 29, 2017
This is a great watch used the last one for 40 years; traveled with me through many countries, fishing, diving, military service in rough conditions and it shows on the surface (the old one) and always held up but like time 40 years it had it's life. Now purchased this new self winding, deeper diving, rugged, wear well, this new watch to the old has the day along with the date.
Took the rubber band off and replaced it with the metal band from the old watch as for years due to the heavy use was replacing the rubber watch bands and made it more convenient with a metal snap on plus having hairy arms reduced the hair pulling
So guys and maybe ladies this is a proven watch.hard to say anything less.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 13, 2017
I haven't worn a watch for many years. A change in my job requires me to note the time I start and stop certain tasks. Not wanting have to fumble my expensive and fragile cell phone out of the belt clip all the time I decided to look for a good timepiece.

Sure, everyone wants to wear a Rolex, Tag or Omega. I wanted a durable, simple watch with day, date and time. Very simply, if you want a substantial, well made, easy to read, very attractive watch, buy this one. I added the Seiko jubilee stainless steel bracelet (22mm pins, buy on Amazon) and you would have to look real close to see that that I am not wearing a Rolex Submariner.

It doesn't keep perfect time but who cares. So what I have to spend a moment adjusting the couple of minutes it has gained or lost over a few weeks. I'm not timing an Olympic event. Besides, If there are professional divers that wear watches like this one to protect their lives, then it's good enough for me.

Don't over think your buying decision, the Seiko SKX174 will bring a great sense of pride in ownership.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 1, 2015
This is an excellent watch. It is sturdy and reputable. Mine ran a minute or two fast over the course of a week, but I could have taken it to a jeweler to adjust. Instead, I adjusted it myself and live with the small inaccuracy of fast time it keeps. The watch band was the first thing to go. I ended up making my own band and have used it ever since. I plan on creating a new band as I don't like the leather I used on the first band I made. The bezel is useful for everyday purposes, for anything that requires you to measure in time: pizza in the oven, driving, etc. I migrated away from the chronograph style that has too many small dials that I never use. I definitely recommend this watch.
review image
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 2, 2014
Nothing ground-breaking since I already own the SKX007. My 007 is being slightly modded, so I wanted a replacement that I could keep "stock", but had the second hand dot on the dial's marker side (if that makes sense). Obviously the SKX173 fit the bill. Fit and finish are as expected...just as good as my 007. Was exposed the Seiko brand years ago, because my dad wore one up to the day he passed away. Stumbled upon the 007/009. Was exposed to the brand's (and particular model's) history and I was hooked. Affordable, stylish, and durable. I'd probably own more Seiko's...the Sumo, one (or more) of the Monsters, maybe even a Tuna and the 009, but my home CEO would kill me. I've had only a few minor problems with my 007 (knocked the crap out of it and did something in the movement...fixed by local watchmaker, no problem. Currently have a fogging up issue (self-inflicted I'm sure because I swapped the case back for a see-thru one; probably should've replaced the gasket and/or I didn't tighten it down enough), which is being fixed while it's being modded). I'm expecting the same (or less since I won't be touching it aside from the occasional strap change) from the 173. Took the diving strap off and currently have a Jubliee bracelet on it from my 007 (purchased it from StrapCode).

All in all, VERY happy with it so far (about 5 hours). Can't go wrong with this watch. I splurged on an Omega Planet Ocean (42mm) last Xmas. I'm no watch expert by any means...but the SKX007 and the 173, in MY (own humble) opinion, are almost as nice.

Shipping and delivery from the vendor (wasn't Amazon directly) and Amazon were awesome as usual.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 9, 2017
This is the same watch with a different dial and different hands as the iconic Seiko SKX007 and SKX009 watches. Rugged and reliable.

As the saying went among American troops deployed to Vietnam - "Seiko - they don't break-o !"

In fact these are the variation that is currently manufactured for the North American market....the 007 and the 'Pepsi" color scheme of the 009 are all "gray market" watches these days if you are buying them in the USA...The SKX is the only model meant for sales (among the SKXxxx line) that is sold through "normal" channels (by Authorized Seiko dealers with a Seiko warranty).

Mine keeps great time right out of the box. I wish I could say that about my beloved SKX007, but with enough trial and error, (maybe close to 50 tries) I finally got it to where the SKX173 was without needing any regulating (I know it's really just a matter or luck, but I can't help but wonder if Seiko knows that American consumers want MORE than their money's worth.

Still, my "173" just runs down very quickly when I take it off at night. It's supposed to have a 35-40 hour "reserve", but it stops after more like 6 hours, so it's going back and I'll hope for better luck next time (I would NOT hesitate to buy another one ....which is my plan!

BTW, the difference in the dials and the hands are neither better or worse - just slightly different. Easy enough to see just by looking at the product photos on Amazon. The movement and the case are identical!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 13, 2017
My Dad bought me my first Seiko back in 82..I wore that watch every day. I never took it off..not even in the shower. It finally gave out after a rough parachute landing in a field of rocks...cracked the face and busted the hands.... These watches are tough and very dependable. I've never had an issue with the time or the movement. 'Seiko No Breako" ...unless of course you happen to be jumping out of a plane and land in a field filled with rocks. ....
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 22, 2017
very fun watch. only problem is that it dies within a day. i recmomend buying an automatic watch winder if you plan on alternating between watches. howver the watch here is really nice, very heavy. i had to change out the rubber strapps for a nato strap. just seemed a better suit. i wear this onmy right hand, and the crown does not get in the way. the Lume is very bright if light is shined on for 10 sec. the rotating bezel seems a little cheap sounding-but that may be how any bezel sounds? i havnt taken it out to sea just yet, but ill update when i do
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 18, 2016
I have not taken this watch off since I received it (a week ago). I love it. My buddy has the exact same model and I knew this is what I wanted. An so far it has not disappointed.... I did swap out the stock strap with the Art style Nylon watch band that you can find right here on amazon. With my work in the fire service I am diffidently looking for a strong durable long lasting product.... I think I have found it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you are posting in the form of a question.
Please enter a question.
See all 43 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here