Oil month Automotive HPC World Book Day Introducing Prime Wardrobe nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums PCB for select Bang & Olufsen Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Mother's Day gifts Home Gift Guide Mother's Day gifts across Amazon Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon westworldS2 westworldS2 westworldS2  Echo Fire tablets: Designed for entertainment Kindle Paperwhite GNO Shop Now TG18PP_gno



on July 24, 2011
This book has a good assortment of Edwards' sermons. It includes Sinners in the Hands of An Angry God, which has great historical significance to the First Great Awakening, which helped to spur the American Revolution. This book has great spiritual depth and shows insight that's rarely seen in today's sermons. It also has great historical significance as Edwards' is America's only theologian and a very important part of America's past.
It can sometimes be a little hard to get into Edwards' writings, but these sermons really aren't dry once you're acquainted with his style. I did find the forward to be a little too long and somewhat out of date, though it included some interesting information on his life.
22 comments| 36 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on May 27, 2012
Lets face it some sermons can hit the nail on the head and present the truth in such a manner that you can see the light. This is one of those rare occasions, and there are more than one. Do not assume that just because it if free to download that it cannot be of value to you. Quite the opposite, you owe it to yourself to read the sermons, ponder them and see the light.
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on December 20, 2015
I am sure the modern evangelical church would have nothing to do with Jonathan Edwards. He was too plain spoken and serious for most congregations. There were no jokes and far too much doctrine. Also his sermons were much too long for the modern Christian. I consider him to be a very great preacher,
11 comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on February 26, 2018
I do not know why the font used for these sermons is so small, but it makes reading them very difficult to read, even with glasses. A shame. I would not have bought this book if I had known in advance.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 18, 2014
... because Edwards makes no excuses for man to continue in his sinful life choices without understanding the consequences of a disobedient and rebellious life.

Many pastors and preachers today not only welcome, but affirm people in their sinful conduct, saying that Love is sufficient... that we are bid to love one another and not judge (let alone condemn); we should be accepting and accommodating of these seekers.

But Edwards reminds us of what the Word of God says about sin, and sinful man, if they insist on doing things their way and according to their creeds, beliefs and practices.

And yet, too, Edwards reminds us of the rewards of a pious life, a life lived for Christ, and Christ alone. While our earthly life may be filled with challenges and trials, they exist for us to learn and grow in our faith, not to destroy us.

These are just a few of the myriad writings and sermons of a great theologian. It is a good introduction to not the mind of an eighteenth century Christian, but a Christian seeking to live right before a Holy God.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on June 30, 2017
What can one say about Jonathan Edwards sermons. He was blessed by God with a great mind and understanding of the Holy scriptures.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on February 2, 2016
I was especially moved by his farewell message. Reminded us of the seriousness of our walk on this earth. Where will you stand in the judgement? With the sheep or the goats?
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on July 21, 2017
Jonathan Edwards is an amazing man. God's wrath is a theme that is both humbling and awesome. A great reminder of how good and severe God is. And we are in His grace.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on September 12, 2017
Classic, timeless, necessary in todays world
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on April 28, 2017
A good read and wonderful insight but I disagreed with some points.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse