Bubble Witch Saga 3 Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited GNO for iPhone 8 Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon MozartintheJungle MozartintheJungle MozartintheJungle  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Shop Now PSFF17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 95 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 128 reviews
on April 28, 2015
I lead a team of 17 people and I am a big supporter and believer in the Situational Leadership tool that is presented in this book. I've used this with a number of my associates to get them the beginning understanding of the philosophy and help them to own their own development to progress further in their career.

Without fail this had shown great results and nearly every time one of my associates finishes this book it results in many more conversations and a deeper dive into the fundamentals of SL.

I definitely recommend this book to anyone in a leadership position.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 25, 2013
This book is ok, but definitely not at the caliber of the original One Minute Manager book. Having taken training at work based on Situational Leadership that focuses on the same concepts of adaptive management I was disappointed in how the material was presented. The training i took was far more effective in delivering the lessons of self leadership. While I could relate to the main character in the story who was recently promoted to a leadership role and the challenges of learning how to operate in a new job function, the character that delivered the management lessons (Cayla) was distracting. Cayla's role made a plausible work situation seem like an improbable scenario with a stalker-like mentor and made the book uninteresting. I get the idea of framing the book as a story that people can relate to and having the material seem less academic, but unfortunately the Self Leadership and the One Minute Manager fails to deliver.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 31, 2012
In Self-Leadership and the One Minute Manager, Ken Blanchard, Susan Fowler, and Laurence Hawkins endeavor to teach aspiring managers, and even those without such aspirations, how to first take responsibility for managing themselves. As the tagline "Discover the Magic of No Excuses" suggests, the ideas set forth in the book emphasize being proactive when it comes to self improvement. After all, "it's in your own best interest to accept responsibility for getting what you need to succeed."

Blanchard's ideas are presented in an easy-to-read narrative which follows an advertising account executive as he learns the three secrets to self-leadership. These three secrets are: challenge assumed constraints, celebrate your points of power, and collaborate for success. Along the way, several other helpful ideas are discussed, a few practical applications are given, and a "situational self leadership model" is developed. This self leadership model in particular is a slight retooling of Hersey and Blanchard's Situational Theory of Leadership designed to be taught to non-managers so they can self-diagnose their own readiness level.

The narrative, parable style of Blanchard's writing, while easy to read, tends to lengthen the book beyond necessity. There are very helpful ideas in the book, but they are ideas which could have been conveyed much more easily and more quickly in a series of short articles. Nevertheless, many people are draw to this style of writing, and the framing story does help to make the points more memorable.

The major points, or the "secrets to self leadership", are all quite simple, but profound. The first secret is to challenge assumed constraints. In many companies and many industries around the world, dire circumstances result from trying to do things things the same old way as they've always been done. These situations are seen clearly in the high tech and media industries, where change is rapid. While media companies struggle to maintain their old markets, technological solutions open new opportunities, and the old guard companies can't see them because of their assumed constraints on how their business must be conducted. When brought to a personal level, this idea of assumed constraints is evident in our interactions with others and our own self-limiting thinking. This is one of the most important lessons from the book and can have far-ranging effects if it is taken to heart.

The other two secrets work together. Points of power and collaboration go hand in hand in our everyday lives. While not everyone has position, knowledge, task, personal, and relationship power, by collaborating with others one can leverage the specific points of power that they have for mutual benefit. Again, the narrative here tended to diminish the impact of these points by introducing more characters and situations while diverting attention from the focus of the story and the application of the main points.

The situational self leadership model presented is very similar to Blanchard's earlier work on situation leadership. In this instance, it has been turned around so it can be seen from the perspective of the follower. By learning and using the model, a follower is able to diagnose where they are on the development continuum and use the secrets of self leadership to find what they need to progress. While to original model focuses on leaders and the style they should give to their followers at different points, this new version teaches the followers to find support and direction on their own. A significant point to be made is that with the self leadership model, support and direction can come from many sources. In fact, collaboration to use one's points of power and the power points of those in one's network may be more efficient while freeing the manager to develop others.

One of the most annoying and unnecessary portions of the book was the unnatural, jargon-heavy dialogue used when explaining this model. While the model itself is very helpful, this is one of the points where narrative doesn't really convey the information effectively. It would be hard to imagine someone at a coffee shop using the S and D-laden language of the needs model in a regular conversation. The narrative does come through on one final point, though. The power of the "I need" phrase in collaboration is much more than would originally be thought. While some might see an admission of need as a weakness, it is impossible to deny that people like to be needed and will go out of their way to fill a need.

In the end, Self-Leadership and the One Minute Manger has several helpful ideas. The inversion of the situational leadership model for use by non-leaders is likely the most important part of the book, but the "secrets" of self leadership can also be applied in any situation by anyone who is aware of them. If these points are taken seriously and applied consistently, a self leader can continue to grow, learn, and achieve for their entire life.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 30, 2012
Having been wary of the series title ("How much can you learn in one minute -- really!?"), this is the first in the "series" if it can be called such, that I've read.

I was so impressed that I a. Have tried reading several other titles from the same franchise (without much else to show for it so far I'm afraid) and b. After returning the book to the public library got my own copy.

The narrative style currently so popular for these sorts of self-help business books these days can come across a bit cheesy but really worked for me on this one. I couldn't put it down, found myself rooting for the protagonist, with whom I could very much relate, and learned a few things in the process. I've found myself referring back to parts of it more than once, just the purchase.

As a manager this book helped me quite a bit.

As a leader it helped me more.

Five stars because I can't think of any way to improve it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 1, 2015
Great read! Very informative and helpful to work and life in general. This book is helpful if you are in a leadership position within your organization or a direct report -- or even a stay at home mom in charge of a fundraiser for the PTA. It helps to understand how you can use your available resources to make sure you achieve your goal. It's written in a very simple straightforward way. I love the use of the story to drive home all the points. I definitely recommend this book!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 24, 2017
I thank you for the three tricks. It has been working for me and my business. And yes, I have started to become a magician in my own organisation. Life has been better ever since I read the book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 11, 2015
A simple story of a man attempting to learn a lesson after a poor attempt to obtain a new client in his workplace. This is a short easy read but with powerful information and insights of how to develop your leadership skills. The story involves a man in the work environment but the skills taught through a storyline should be used in all areas of life.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 12, 2014
SECOND BLANCHARD BOOK I HAVE BEEN REQUIRED TO READ. IT'S A QUICK READ WITH SOME GREAT STORIES AND MOTIVATIONAL TECHNIQUES. HIS SPECIFIC NOMENCLATURE TO ALREADY IDENTIFIED PROBLEMS/RESOLUTIONS MAKE IT CHANGE OF PACE. IT WAS USED BY MY COMPANY FOR A PROMOTIONAL TEST. GREAT TO STUDY FROM AND PUT INTO PRACTICAL USE. TOO BAD THE PEOPLE RUNNING MY BUSINESS DONT ACTUALLY READ HIS BOOKS.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 25, 2014
Excellent, fast read! No matter what point you're at in your management career, every manager, every person in a position that includes others - please read this book. This book has a great way of getting you to think about who you are in the realm of working with others and how you can positively impact not only your own success but also your Team/co-workers you are working with as well!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 20, 2014
I like concepts taught through stories, just like the ancient greek philisophers taught basic principles of life and happiness to children through their stories.
I also like that the book is shirt and straight to the point, i was already familiar with the model but seeing it apply in a story makes it sink in much deeper
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse