Industrial Deals Beauty MagazinestoInspire STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Wedding Rustic Decor Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book House Cleaning TheTick TheTick TheTick  Amazon Echo now $99.99 Limited-time offer: All-New Fire HD 8, starting at $59.99 Kindle Paperwhite Trade it in. Fund the next. Tailgating STEMClubToys17_gno

Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$6.95+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 78 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 220 reviews
on September 25, 2014
Sellevision is a clever, entertaining story about a group of people who sell junk on TV to viewers who have no life other than watching 'retail broadcasting networks'. The author, Augusten Burroughs, an advertising copywriter by profession, knows how to write and to slip slick advertisements into his narrative, just like the TV pros, who jam-pack ads (now estimated at 5,000 daily) into our normal, everyday TV programming. Personally, while I hate the intrusiveness of ads in our lives, I nevertheless enjoyed this book. The author creates routines and predicaments for his characters that are personal and entertaining (on the trash-literature level, of course!): one female host is promoting her career by sleeping with the boss, the boss is promising to divorce his wife and marry her; another hostess is fighting a stalker-admirer, who is driving her crazy and into psychotherapy; a gay host is 'outed', fired, and exploring the possibilities of employment as a porn star, the husband of one hostess is 'involved' with his promiscuous, 15-year old neighbor; one hostess is searching for male companionship on the internet, etc. For the average reader, these stories are probably 'other worldly'. This is Burrough's first book; he appears to have a future as a writer. Rolland Amos, Severn, MD
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 24, 2016
I laughed out loud several times listening to the audiobook version of Sellevision. The book mocks American consumerism and obsessions. Product placement abounds. The story is a bit dated now, so it brings back memories of the fairly recent past. It is refreshing to find humor outside the PC dictates of so much of today's media. Perhaps that is part of the message since the characters in this story are from the broadcasting, advertisement, and entertainment worlds, and it shows their foibles and hypocrisy. It made fun of many stereotypes, including addicts, evangelicals, gays, Jews, etc. The humor directed at the shopaholic host was particularly funny since she often fell prey to her employer, a home shopping network.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon December 8, 2000
Well, blow me down. What a perfectly hilarious depiction of a fictitious home shopping network. I laughed...I cried...and for a change, I was busy reading so I didn't buy anything from those tv vultures that masquerade as my best friends.
It was quite shocking and a bit more down and dirty that the recipe book you bought last month from channel 33 featuring some old bat's rice krispies cookie recipe, but it was all in fun. Can you be kind hearted and nasty at the same time? All's well that ends well, as Shakespeare said. The author is a teeny bit (aggressive), and we just have to love him for it.
I know that he, like me, must be a late night shopaholic. I got hooked feeding one of my kids when he was an infant...what is THIS GUY'S EXCUSE?
Anyway, if you love to laugh, and you can handle a bit of bwahhhhaaaaahahaha nastiness...buy this book. It'll be the last thing you buy for the day, I bet. Unless you turn on the tv.
best, jean
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 7, 2012
This book is a little slow to get into, but by the first third of the book I was hooked. What slows down the pace are the detailed descriptions of the products sold on Sellevision; but the author is making a point about America's shopping addiction, and he makes it well.

What makes this book memorable are the wonderful, fascinating characters. From the "totally in control" Christian TV host, Peggy Jean, who ends up being stalked and becoming a drug addict and alcoholic, and whose husband leaves her for a 17-year-old girl, to the gay TV host who loses his job and finds his salvation in porn, to the woman who seeks and finds love online...this is a juicy book that is great fun to read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 4, 2016
I love this author. So far I have read three of his books and most of them are pretty much about his own life. Except this one. This is an extremely funny glance behind the curtain of the sales channels and how phony most of the people are. Not real life but it really makes you think about his book if you flip to one of the HSN or QVC or Evine channels. It is not about those channels but a channel out of his wonderful mind. I intend to next buy his book " Running with Scissors" which is an autobiography. He keeps you laughing even in the sad parts. What a phenomenal writer.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 21, 2017
Anyone who considers themselves a fan needs to read Burroughs' Sellevision. The story is both believable and outrageous. The characters jump off the page straight to your brain. With his background in advertising, Burroughs completely nails the formerly cut throat world of on air shopping.
You'll laugh, you'll cringe, you'll wanna,turn on the home shopping station.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 2, 2011
Although I'm a huge Augusten Burroughs fan, this book may throw readers for a loop. Nothing like the autobiographical "Dry", or "Running With Scissors", "Sellevision" is a purely fictional tale, and as I recall, the first book Mr. Burroughs published.

That aside, I thought the book was deliciously good fun. Impossible to put down, the pages flew by. Like reading a script for a modern soap opera, Sellevision is full of humor, tragedy and sex. Incredibly easy to read, I would reccomend this to Burroughs fans, both new and old!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 1, 2011
For those of you who are familiar with Augusten Burroughs' later books, semi-autobiographical tales infused with his dark sense of wit, definitely be prepared for an extra helping of his hilarity and a collection of characters with outstandingly funny stories. The novel opens with Max's firing, a scene that seems fairly telling of what to expect throughout the rest of the text, but remarkably, about half way through the novel, lots of twists and turns expertly crafted by the author make unspeakably funny scenarios, that left me laughing shamelessly loudly over it. He has an uncanny knack for making awkward, perverted, and hilarious scenarios for his unsuspecting characters, namely poor Peggy Jean, who definitely endures her fair share with Zoe, a mental collapse, and an interesting family situation. I must say, in terms of her husband... those scenes near the end are unforgettably filthy and appallingly enjoyable. SO FUNNY! I don't want to give away too much, but it's too good to believe. Bebe is a very likable woman, and minus a minor shopping addiction, her character serves to provide wholesome anecdotes that are surprisingly sweet. Leigh's plot is a slightly predictable one, but you find yourself rooting for her pretty quickly, and her friendship with Max is very genuine. I would recommend this novel in a heartbeat, it is outstanding, and the sudden twists he employs make it a thrilling and comical journey.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 3, 2016
I love Augusten Burroughs and this book of his was no exception. There's something about the way I, as a reader, feel like he's no hiding anything that is appealing. I love when authors come across as genuine because it's so easy to come across otherwise. If you enjoy books that will entertain you to no end but also lead you to some personal reflection, I can't recommend this book enough.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon December 8, 2000
Well, blow me down. What a perfectly hilarious depiction of a fictitious home shopping network. I laughed...I cried...and for a change, I was busy reading so I didn't buy anything from those tv vultures that masquerade as my best friends.
It was quite shocking and a bit more down and dirty that the recipe book you bought last month from channel 33 featuring some old bat's rice krispies cookie recipe, but it was all in fun. Can you be kind hearted and nasty at the same time? All's well that ends well, as Shakespeare said. The author is a teeny bit of a bitch though, and we just have to love him for it.
I know that he, like me, must be a late night shopaholic. I got hooked feeding one of my kids when he was an infant...what is THIS GUY'S EXCUSE?
Anyway, if you love to laugh, and you can handle a bit of bwahhhhaaaaahahaha nastiness...buy this book. It'll be the last thing you buy for the day, I bet. Unless you turn on the tv.
best, jean
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

$11.64

Need customer service? Click here