Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Sent (The Missing, Book 2)
Amazon Vehicles Up to 80 Percent Off Textbooks Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Happy Belly Snacks Totes Amazon Cash Back Offer TheKicks TheKicks TheKicks  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis GNO Water Sports STEM

Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$5.12+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on September 22, 2009
Thirteen-year-old Jonah Skidmore feels like an average kid, complete with an intelligent but slightly annoying younger sister named Katherine, a mom and dad who constantly reassure their children that they are special and well loved, and a quiet home in the suburbs of Ohio. The fact that Jonah is adopted has never been a big deal for him, maybe because his parents have always been so open and reassuring about it. To Jonah, life feels normal. But then he receives a letter with six simple words, "YOU ARE ONE OF THE MISSING," and his life flips upside down and way out of control.

After some investigating with Katherine and his best friend, Chip, they discover an amazing secret: Chip and Jonah are part of a group of kids who have been stolen out of time --- and their kidnapping has damaged history. J.B., a time officer, has rounded up the 36 children and is determined to set history straight by sending them back to "when" they belong. The first two to leave are Chip and Alex. But refusing to let them go alone, Jonah and Katherine grab on at the last second, and they all hurtle back through time to the year 1483.

With the use of a tool called an Elucidator, the foursome can keep in contact with J.B., who agrees to give Jonah and Katherine a chance to help Chip and Alex. They soon find out that Chip and Alex are not only brothers, but also the king and prince of England. That isn't quite as glamorous as it first seems, though, as someone is out to kill them and take over the crown.

The kids struggle to fit in to the 15th century, a time with no fast food, cell phones, or modern plumbing. If they make one little mistake, they could destroy history even more. While attempting to learn the new and complex rules of time travel and save his friends' lives, Jonah can't help but wonder who he actually is and from what time period he really belongs. He'll learn the answers to those questions in time, as he and his companions jump into the greatest adventures of their lives.

Prolific author Margaret Peterson Haddix has served up another winner. Fans have been eagerly awaiting the sequel in this awesome series, and now they can finally dive into the next adventure. Haddix has created such a unique and fascinating idea for The Missing, and she does a wonderful job of refreshing readers' memories of the first book, FOUND, without sounding boring or redundant. She pulls her audience through the pages with intriguing thoughts and ideas on time travel, lots of fast-paced action and colorful characters; almost every chapter ends with a cliffhanger that just begs readers to turn the page and continue the adventure. She writes with an enthusiastic energy that flows through her characters and right into her fans.

More adventures in time travel with Jonah and Katherine are in the works as the series continues, though it couldn't possibly get here fast enough.

--- Reviewed by Chris Shanley-Dillman
0Comment| 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 28, 2009
Margaret Petersen Haddix doesn't disappoint in this sequel to FOUND. The children are being returned to their proper time periods so that time is not damaged. Chip finds out that he is the king of England, and Alex is his younger brother. Richard III (their uncle and antagonist in this story and in history) has aspirations for the crown. The historical facts, as well as some of the conjecture, make this a fascinating read. Find out if Chip really rules as Edward V, and what becomes of his amibitous uncle who plots Chip's demise. Hint : As William Shakespeare quoted Richard III - "A horse, a horse, my kingdom for a horse." (or something close to that). Great read.
0Comment| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 3, 2012
Many books start off well then the second book that follows on the story lacks the same interesting story line. This is not the case with this book. The second book reads much better than the first. It is exciting and keeps you on the edge of your chair until the very end. A great book.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 23, 2013
My son had read this whole series and this one was the hardest to find. He has now read this book twice and it keeps his interest. His school library couldn't keep this in supply so we purchased the book.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 30, 2015
I was in need of a light read, so I grabbed this from my kids' shelf. For middle grade readers, it may be a 4-star, for me a 3.

This is the second book in Haddix's series that features endangered children from history who are kidnapped by time travelers in order to protect them from their fate. Being taken by time traveling children is as plausible of a theory as some I've heard regarding the Princes in the Tower, so why not?

Having not read the first novel, in which a group of children discover that this is what has happened to them, I was missing a little bit of background. It seems that these children are slowly being told who they really are because their 21st century parents have raised them as normal kids.

Therefore, instead of Edward and Richard, we have Chip and Alex. Once they travel back to the 15th century, they begin remembering who they really are and have to battle with their desire to go "back to the future" or take their chances in the circumstances that didn't go so well the first time.

Though Richard III is originally portrayed as a villain, the author does something different with this story than anything I have read before. It is unique, if not much more plausible than time travelling children.

What is great about this book and the remainder of the series that follows it is that it gets kids interested in history. Obviously, this book does not give substantial detail about the Wars of the Roses, but it is a teaser that could get kids looking for more.

A good, quick read that I would definitely recommend for kids 10-13 who are interested in history....or Doctor Who ;-)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 8, 2010
When I first started reading this book, I had a little problem getting through the first few slow chapters. But once I gave it a chance I was floored. This book with Jonah and Chip has brought a whole new meaning to time travel. From the tracers that inhabit times broken flow, to Kathrine (Jonah's sister) falling in love with Chip (the King of England no less!!!)
I was also floored by how well she is able to put things, especially time itself. How even though time is moving, how Jonah and his "bud" A.J. could just sit and watch how things went on with his friend Chip. (Spoiler sorry). This is an excellent story, well worth the read and another that I have added to our library. ^_^
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 2, 2014
Great series! My personal favorites so far are books 1,2, and 5. I am on the 6th one right now and it is very interesting as well. I am really looking forward to number 7. Awesome idea to line up with real life history and put your own twist to it. I would recommend to anyone, young and old alike.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 2, 2016
I used this book for a 6th grade quick novel study. We used the audio of the book for readers who needed support and to vary the reading experience. They identified with the characters and loved the suspense. Several of the students are now reading their way through the rest of the series. Margaret Peterson Haddix uses the time traveler theme creatively.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 1, 2013
absolutly loved it such a fun book . i really love Margret Peterson Haddix's books so far i am at the end of sabotaged but if u dont start with found then sent and so on it will not make sence but awesome book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 20, 2011
This book was just annoying, much more so than the previous book, Missing.

The author seems worried that the reader won't be smart enough to follow the plot, and so she continually, repetitively explains it to us. Nothing happens in the book without Jonah wondering why it happened and then explaining it to himself, slowing the pace of the story way down and leaving the impression that Jonah's perhaps not the sharpest tool in the shed. Jonah is also continually shuddering and shivering, leaving the reader wishing he'd toughen up a little.

If, like me, you already knew quite a bit about the "Princes in the Tower", much of what's supposed to be suspenseful in the book becomes considerably less so. Since this is a fairly well-known historical incident, it's a mistake for the author to assume that readers won't know anything about it and will be completely astonished. The history could have been explained with a much lighter touch, accommodating those who don't know it without slowing the story down so much.

All that said, the difference between 21st century thought and 15th century thought is very well done (I think the reviewer who called this a Christian bias was mistaken: it's just historical accuracy). And I only noticed one error in the rendering of early modern English, a welcome change from the wholesale garbling of it that one usually sees.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

$5.64
$6.34

Need customer service? Click here