Industrial Deals Beauty Magazine Deals Womens Ski Trip Essentials nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc New year, new music. Amazon music Unlimited. Learn more. All-New Fire 7, starting at $49.99 Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade 2018 Planners Home and Garden Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon thechi thechi thechi  Echo Dot Fire 7, starting at $49.99 Kindle Paperwhite AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Shop now

Serenity [Blu-ray]
Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:$7.88+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


This film is a classic sci-fi with everything you are looking for is a good film. It features great actors that you have to like versus multiple enemies. They battle a corrupt government that is willing to kill a young girl to hide a horrible secret.

The government agents chase them across the galaxy and when they can’t catch them they begin killing all of their friends that have hidden or helped them.

The film features advanced societies and a mixture underdeveloped and backward colonies. There are even Reavers (essentially space zombies) that the hero’s have to face. This film brings it all with a lot of action and fighting.

This is a first class space opera story. I like the quality of the BluRay disc. I also converted it with disc to digital on VUDU and got an HDX digital copy. I streamed it to my ROKU and my digital projector for a wide screen movie experience.

I love this film and I am glad I added it to my video collection.

This is one of those films that you will watch over and over!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on March 13, 2013
If you haven't seen the late, lamented Firefly series, watch it first before you watch Serenity.

That said, Serenity is a satisfactory conclusion to a tragically short series. It doesn't tie up all lose ends, but it does address quite a few while sticking with the winning combination of character-driven storylines, memorable characters and dialog, Western gritty ruggedness, space opera grandeur and gorgeous visuals that won over so many "Browncoats" (Firefly fans).
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on July 16, 2016
It's hard to believe that the Firefly TV series was cancelled after its first season. It was far and away the best Sci-Fi series in recent time, and it had a number of interesting characters and story lines to follow up. At least the movie Serenity gave closure to some of the material, and it provided a remarkably faithful sequel and (unfortunately) end to the series. I was very impressed with the way that the screenplay writers put together a story that was accessible to folks who hadn't followed the series, and yet picked up from the series effectively at the same time. In following the series, I had considered the repeated "explanation" of the origin of the insane Reavers to be a really weak point -- and the movie showed the solid, devastating explanation that they had held in reserve. Well done!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on November 22, 2016
Serenity gave us closure when Fox made the horrid decision to cancel Firefly. This movie is a funny, witty, action-packed ride through space that you'll want to watch over and over!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on October 26, 2015
This movie answers a lot of the questions you wonder about when you watch the series. It never really explains who the Shepard really is though. It centers on Summer and really explains a lot about her. The special effects make the ship (Serenity) look fantastic. Absolutely magnificent special effects and audio too. Like the series, it's so good you don't realize the time while you are watching the movie.

The series was excellent, and this movie is also excellent. Joss Whedon is a very talented writer, director and visionary. All the actors are so good at portraying their characters you don't see the actors, you only see the characters. They really make the series and the movie outstanding.

If I saw Joss Whedon in a bar, the first question I would ask him is "Why didn't you find another way to continue this great series and movie series!!"

It should have never aired on the Faux Network.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
Top Contributor: Photographyon December 19, 2017
One of my all time favourite movies. I'm not sure that the 4K treatment has really added anything material vs prior digital HD versions, which matches the 'Fake 4K' status given to it by realorfake4k.com. Regardless it remains an awesome movie.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 7, 2008
I watched the movie, Serenity, first. I was intrigued. Then, I went back and watched Season 1 of Firefly. Then I watched it again. And again. Then I came back to the movie just as this worthy special edition was released.

Do it backwards, or forwards, or inside out. It doesn't matter. If you have an appreciation for good storytelling, you'll be truly hooked on both the television show and the film. The series is like a huge 'origins' easter egg that supports the film. The crazy thing is that this statement is also true the other way around. Nearly every intricate plot point of interest in the series is paid off in the movie in big ways...but you don't have to watch the series to dig the movie. If you're a writer, try to get your aspiring noodle around THAT one.

Serenity is a stupendous film full of characters with real conflict, real human value. This film is an amazing balancing act in plot, humor, and daring tragedy.

Pick up this flick. It's worth it many times over.

New frontiers. Freedom. Brotherhood. An orange wool hat.

What more do you want?
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on September 6, 2006
As many others, I am a fan. The series, "Firefly" got me hooked and this movie is an incredible ride of action, drama, and fun. I was thrilled that the story continues in "Serenity". The characters are the same that you pulled for and loved in the series.

For those who have never seen the series (you need to), you can still enjoy the movie. Joss Whedan is a gifted storyteller-you will make the crew of "Serenity" your friends and you will not want the movie to end. It gives you a thrill all the way through-not a dull moment.

The movie will keep you on the edge of your seats yet it will also make you laugh and cry. I love science fiction, action movies and this is definitely one- but is also has a heart. You will not be disappointed in making this a part of your day.

I am glad that many questions were answered and there was a sense of finality from the series. But, I am also glad that it ended where there could be another movie in the future. I sure hope so because I don't want to say goodbye to these friends.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on November 1, 2005
When the Firefly TV series aired in 2002 I was an instant fan. When it was cancelled I was crushed. In the first few episodes the writing, directing, acting, music... everything was more professional and polished than shows on the air for many years. The characters were oustanding and the world created for them was so vast that the story possibilities were nearly endless.

Amazon.com became my favorite place to buy the DVD box set when it became available (ASIN B0000AQS0F). I bought several sets for myself (intending to loan them to friends that missed the show on TV) and several more for gifts. So many of my friends watched and instantly fell in love with the show! If you haven't seen it, buy it here on Amazon, and add Serenity to your order.

Why? Because the TV series had a grand story arc that was cut short by its cancellation. An incredibly compelling mystery was set up and we were denied its resolution. Then Executive Producer Joss Whedon worked with Universal to bring Firefly to the big screen in the form of Serenity. This major motion picture offers the perfect resolution to one of the main mysteries explored by the series and at the same time stands alone as a fantastic science fiction movie.

So few filmmakers make something that packs so much action, humor, suspense and drama into 2 hours. It feels like the entire 2nd season of the TV show was packed into this one film. I saw Serenity 5 times in the theater and look forward to seeing it many more on DVD!

So go ahead, click to buy! You won't regret it, and the friends and family members you loan it to (or buy it for) will love it!
0Comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
With so many reviews, it is hard to imagine there is something I can say which has not already been said, except to add my vote to the chorus of five star reviews. The film is a strange mixture of Star Wars action / adventure and Blade Runner suspense. Lead character Malcolm Reynolds, played to a tee by Nathan Fillion, is far more the hard as nails Rick Deckard than he is the carefree Han Solo. He has strong loyalties to his crew and to those who help him in his shadowy half legal / half bandit role as an old fashioned highwayman of the 'verse (contraction for "universe").

The heavy, an Alliance "Operative" has the determination of an unturned Terminator, who is a lot smarter and more wily than the humanoid androids (and smarter than the replicants of "Blade Runner", although the final fight between Reynolds and The Operative is vaguely reminiscent of the fight between Deckard and Roy Batty.

The plot resolves two of the biggest questions arising out of the world of the "Firefly" series. Why are Alliance agents so intent of recovering control of the mysterious River Tam. The opening of the story proper (after a flashback on River's rescue) shows part of why she is so valuable. She is psychic, reliably. It doesn't come and go. It is not hit and miss. She saves the crew's bacon more than once by using that ability. The second question, not explored deeply in the series, is what is the origin of the "Reavers". It is hard to say more without giving away the surprise resolution.

The special effects are primitive, and a lot of laws of physics are given too little attention, such as the famous problem of gravity while in outer space. Unlike the compulsively accurate Stanley Kubrick (or James Cameron), and like virtually everyone else, the problem is ignored. The space ship design would probably work in space, but it's ability to land from and take off to space, and fly in the atmosphere, seems quite improbable. But none of that seems to matter, because the story is so, so good.

The cast is strong, and it is great to see Ron Glass (of Barney Miller fame) in a role. Most of the characters have a depth to them, such as Adam Baldwin, who plays the heavy weapons toting "Animal Mother" character he created in "Full Metal Jacket", but his backstory (shown better in the movie than in the series) is delightful, as he regularly communicates with his mother. The most interesting is the triangle between Malcolm the captain, Zoe, his second in command, and her husband, Wash, the pilot. Zoe and Malcolm fought in the rebellion before Zoe met Wash, and there is sometimes a conflict between, command, duty, and loyalty.

And... there are two of the most unusual fight scenes you will ever see... Can't say more about that.

This is more than worth the cost of admission (whoever, the squeamish may cash in before the film is over.)
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse