Hill Climb Racing 2 Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_hiltonhonors_launch Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited Get 10% cashback on thousands of musical instruments with your Amazon.com Store Credit Card Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon BradsStatus BradsStatus BradsStatus  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Tailgating ToyHW17_gno

Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:$13.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 62 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 101 reviews
on January 8, 2015
I know some folks are disappointed that this soundtrack doesn't sound much like the music from the Firefly series, but I personally am fine with that. In fact, I pretty much expected it. Movie soundtracks are rarely similar to the soundtracks for the tv shows they're based upon. Also, there are still a couple of tracks on this disc with that twangy, western-style music that was a staple of the original show. As for the rest of the album, I'm a big fan of David Newman's work. It's really pretty simple; if you liked the music you heard in the movie, then you'll obviously like this album. If you're more partial to the style of music from the original show, then scroll up to the search bar and look for the Firefly original series soundtrack. Last I checked, that album is still available on amazon.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 31, 2017
For Browncoats, this is nice. Some of the music is beautiful, especially as the ship, Serenity, is seen. Violins, achingly lovely.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 11, 2017
I bought Serenity as a companion to my Firefly Soundtrack. I finally listened to the entire soundtrack a couple of nights ago. The music is impressive, and I would highly recommend this soundtrack to any fan of Firefly or Science Fiction in general.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 19, 2015
As beautiful, quirky, and plucky as expected.
Certainly a good standalone to have in the background for other activities.
As others have commented, there are times when themes can be barely heard. This was often true during the film itself also, so it is not just a levels problem with the production of this package.
It would be nice to have that remastered to provide a little more umph during the film and some more equality during this standalone set.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 18, 2017
I had to have this because I'm a Firefly fan. Love the music
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 6, 2017
Beautiful
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 5, 2007
like some other folks here, i agree that there are some really wonderful moments on this soundtrack (serenity theme, trade station robbery, funeral/rebuilding serenity, love, end theme), with about 12 of the 23 tracks going from great to beautiful. trouble is, they are pretty short, too short in several instances (well, too short for satisfying listening, but of course well timed for the film). the 'action' music, which comprises about 50% of the soundtrack, is less appealing, at least away from the context of actually seeing the film. i actually prefer david newman's music here to serenity more than gregg edmonson's music to firefly. newman has a much bigger budget, and so can use much more varied and interesting instrumentation, and writes more intense compositions. some of the themes he comes up with, notably the main serenity theme and river's haunting theme, are beautiful, and it's especially nice how both are woven into the entire soundtrack as leitmotifs. since this cd can be had fairly cheaply, whether from amazon or as a digital download from emusic or itunes, it is well worth purchasing. like others, i do wish some of the other incidental music, especially the bluesy theme as serenity descended the mine shaft at new haven, was included here, as well as the great arrangement of the ballad of serenity after the end credits (though i understand it's exclusion here, since newman didn't compose it).
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 23, 2017
Perfect background music for cunning folk.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 14, 2017
Bought for my Firefly/Serenity-obsessed teens along with the Serenity soundtrack. Fantastic! A must for any fan.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon February 14, 2013
While I love Firefly the TV show, Serenity the movie was a disappointment on many fronts. The soundtrack was one of those disappointments. I can't for the life of me understand why Greg Edmonson wasn't brought back to score the movie.

There are a few strong themes in the Serenity soundtrack. I think David Newman scores the fight scenes particularly well, giving them more energy. However, much of the soundtrack is forgettable.

Overall, I definitely recommend the Firefly TV show soundtrack, but this soundtrack is only for hardcore fans.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse