Your Garage Beauty Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Wedding Rustic Decor Book House Cleaning LastTycoon LastTycoon LastTycoon  Introducing Echo Show All-New Fire HD 8 Kids Edition, starting at $129.99 Kindle Oasis Nintendo Switch Water Sports STEMClubToys17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 139 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 162 reviews
VINE VOICEon December 24, 2014
Lennox has proven himself here and elsewhere, especially with God's Undertaker, to be a brilliant mathematician and thinker. This book tackles a broad spectrum of creation and life. Lennox approaches the subject from the view point of the initial chapters of Genesis. He discusses competing theories about how the world came into existence and exists. These include varying interpretive approaches to Genesis from Biblical scholars and from atheistic scientists and philosophers. Lennox, rather than turning up a big stone, kicks many smaller stones in an attempt to shine a light on evidence for a Creator that is the Biblical God.

Lennox displays expertise in the areas of these stones he kicks up. He has read Biblical theology and commentaries, scientists, philosophers, professors of various fields, etc., He is a battle-tested defender of the Christian faith having debated Richard Dawkins and others. His writing and assertions are at a high caliber of intelligence and cogency. I think they could be better focused to make a narrower yet stronger case for his theories on creation and life. Nevertheless, his voice offers strong support to the Biblical worldview, whether readers disagree in whole or in part. Lennox provides a message that must be dealt with by advocates of other views that want to maintain legitimacy.

A shortcoming for me is the lengthy discussion and refutation that occurs with Old Testament Biblical scholar John Walton with whom I was unfamiliar. I imagine those familiar with Walton may find the 15 pages more fruitful than I did. I'm not sure Lennox is in his best arena debating Walton who seems to be a renowned and prodigiously published Old Testament scholar.

I think the final appendix that discusses Theistic Evolution and the God of the Gaps was the strongest section of the book. I encourage readers to read this section, as it is every worthwhile.

This book is interesting and substantive and will spark more thinking and research by readers.

This book is interesting and helpful
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 3, 2014
I personally am not a Christian and don't believe any of the new Creationist 6500 year old theories so finding a Christian who uses correct science while keeping to their faith is interesting. Lennox comes across as a very intelligent man and makes his case in an easy to understand way. My only issue with this book is that he sweeps many things under the rug. While I quite enjoy the fact that he says, I don't have an answer for this and this takes more discussion and understanding, it feels like there is a lot more of that going on in this book than their should be. He is making a case and not trying to make it seem like he knows everything, which again is extremely refreshing, but at the same time he is so bound to what the bible says about each topic that he is afraid to go anywhere else. He says it himself that people need to read the text for what it is, not what is beyond what it's saying, not adding or subtracting from it. I find this a difficult thing to do when you are not bound by strictly biblical principles. For a Christian, this book would probably be a great way to bring science and their faith closer together, but from the outside, this is just an interesting read by a smart, genuine author who tends to miss more often than hit. His book made me look at Christianity in a new way, but not the world.
11 comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 8, 2017
An excellent, clear, and well written book on the Genesis days of creation…their meaning and the scope of interpretation we can place upon the truth of these words in the light of modern science.

For those looking for light to be shined on this centuries old dispute by a scientist having impeccable credentials…this is a brilliant expose that removes much of the confusion and leaves both scriptural integrity and scientific facts in place without compromising either or oversimplifying the issues.

An excellent book I would recommend for anyone interested in this subject.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 24, 2011
This book primarily makes a biblically based case for an old earth, or at least that the Bible does not preclude an old earth. The book begins with a well-developed analogy between the current young-earth/old earth debate and the 17th century fixed earth/moving earth debate. He concludes this portion of the book with a final lesson from the Galileo affair: "The Galileo incident teaches us that we should be humble enough to distinguish between what the Bible says and our interpretations of it. The biblical text might just be more sophisticated than we first imagined, and we might therefore be in danger of using it to support ideas that it never intended to teach. The Bible could be understood to teach that the earth was fixed. But it does not have to be understood that way. At least, Galileo thought so in his day, and history has subsequently proved him right." (p. 35)

Lennox continues the analogy with the fixed-earth controversy: "There we saw that, although Scripture could be understood as teaching that the earth did not move, that was not the only logically possible interpretation. Here we see that, although Scripture could be understood as teaching that the earth is young, it does not have to be interpreted in this way." (p. 53) Along the way, he makes a number of points, including "it is Scripture that is inspired and not my particular understanding of it" and the importance of distinguishing between the facts and how to interpret them.

Lennox has a nice, brief summary of the three main interpretations of the days of Genesis 1: the 24-hour view, the day-age view, and the framework view. He then presents his case for the fiat days view, a variation of the day-age view in which "the six creation days themselves could well have been days of normal length ... in which God acted to create something new, ... spaced out at intervals over the entire period of time that God took to complete his work." He also has a brief discussion of the four different meanings of the Hebrew word yom (day) in Genesis 1 & 2, and the obligatory discussion of death before Adam's sin.

The book has five appendices which cover (1) the relationship of the Genesis account of creation with other Ancient Near East accounts, (2) John Walton's functional interpretation of Genesis (in which he disagrees with Walton's insistence that Genesis 1 has nothing to do with the material origin of the universe), (3) the beginning according to Genesis and science (the Big Bang), (4) the two accounts of creation (Genesis 1 & 2), and (5)a 28-page discussion of his views on theistic evolution. In this discussion, Lennox comments on the versions of theistic evolution described by Francis Collins, Michael Behe, Simon Conway Morris, and Denis Alexander. While he accepts biological evolution, he makes a case for the special creation of Adam and Eve as another intervention (singularity) in history, along with the Big Bang, life from nonlife, the Incarnation and the Resurrection. He winds up by suggesting that, just as science and the Bible have converged on the beginning of the universe, science and the Bible may also converge on the origin of life.

All in all, this is a very worthwhile book, both for non-Christians who has been put off by the young earth creationism of some Christians and for Christians "who are disturbed not only by the controversy but also by the fact that even those who take the Bible seriously do not agree on the interpretation of the creation account."
3636 comments| 176 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 29, 2016
I really enjoyed this book. The way Dr. Lennox humbly presents the evidence/counter evidence for each view and then how he gives his own opinion on this controversial subject is very refreshing. Simply put, this book is a joy to read. I have been deeply impressed with how John Lennox can walk you through a very hard subject and, with logic, help you see reality with greater clarity.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 30, 2017
Lennox gives an introductory account of how he processes through Scipture. If you've only been superficially reading the Bible, this book will give you some insight into how meditation on Scripture will reveal so much more.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 7, 2016
Lennox doesn't write bad books. I did appreciate his enlightening comparisons of Genesis 1 versus Genesis 2, and how the two passages combined are to be understood in the light of modern cosmology. I would have appreciated a similar book that explores the next few chapters of Genesis and how they are to be understood in the light of geology, paleontology, archeology, and a myriad of other disciplines. Perhaps that is too far from Lennox's expertise, but he does manage to shed light on whatever he tackles...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 30, 2015
John Lennox has done a marvelous giving an overview of some of the views on age of the earth and their bases. prior to this I had only heard 2 views, neither of which were totally sensible or satisfying. I now am ok with the fact we need to be humble in approaching the topic regardless of our view and recognize all views are subject to adapting to new evidence revealed when the scripture doesn't give a definitive answer. The book goes so much further, especially in the excellent appendices. I hope it is read far and wide. It is generally VERY encouraging as he gives great reasons it is sensible to have faith.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 6, 2016
I love the way Dr Lenox writes. Although extremely intelligent and educated, he never talks down to his readers, but speaks like a caring mentor helping students understand and think for themselves. Dr Lenox discusses many facts and points about Genesis I never considered. He constantly focuses the reader back to the main message and purpose of the Bibles creation story to assure this is not lost in minor differences of opinion. I highly recommend this book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 9, 2017
Exceptional book, even if you aren't really interested in where the universe came from, but a greater understanding of Genesis chapters 1 and 2. But it does look at these chapters from the Science vs God point of view and has many interesting points on this questions. Well thought out, well written, well researched and written in a positive and respectful tone of voice. Very helpful!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse