Bubble Witch Saga 3 Industrial Deals Beauty Little FIres Everywhere STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon BradsStatus BradsStatus BradsStatus  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Shop Now FFII_gno

  • Shade
  • Customer reviews



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 40 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 78 reviews
on May 15, 2017
wanted to check it out ( plot was great )
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 19, 2013
The story in SHADE is terrific, and I doubt predictable to many people despite the claims of some reviewers here. It is a pretty gripping film, presented like an independent film--i.e., not filled with loud music, car chases, and explosions, but leaning entirely on the terrific story, script, and acting.

The performances are excellent by all. The cast is major league--a who's who of box-office champions, such as Sly Stallone and Jamie Foxx, plus many more well known actors who alone weren't box office leaders: Gabriel Byrne, Stuart Townsend, and Thandie Newton (these three star in this film), Hal Holbrook, Melanie Griffith, Tony Burton, Bo Hopkins, Dina Merrill, Charles Rocket, and more. The script is top-notch and will keep you on your toes.

The closest comparison is to House of Games, and I think these two movies are equals from top to bottom. If you're not into grifter films and card game films, then this one won't do much for you. But if you are, then this movie is just . . . outstanding. I like it better than House of Games, as the characters in this movie speak like real people, not in the weird/affected speech employed by the leading players in House of Games. Plus, SHADE boasts some VERY clever swindles that are well-drawn-out and very entertaining to watch.

Enjoy this gem, including the excellent bonus features. Ever since I saw this movie on one of the premium movie channels on TV, I had to own it. And the DVD is just great all-around, including terrific picture quality and wonderful extras. MAKE IT INTO BLU RAY!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 28, 2017
Excellent Quality
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 12, 2014
An outstanding movie in every respect. Lots of twists and turns and an ending that leaves you wanting for more! This movie is right up there with "Rounders", "Rounders 2", "Runner Runner" and The "Cincinnati Kid". If you love poker and cards, and slight of hand, you'll dig this movie!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 1, 2017
well acted, interesting plot, great final twist
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 27, 2017
Great movie especially if U are a gambler!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 12, 2006
Well I'm not great connesuier (however you spell that) of movies, but I am an fan of Byrne. I've at least noticed that when I follow his films, he usually picks the ones that are a bit a typical and have some kind of interesting element to the plot that will actually keep me in front of the tv for the whole movie instead of wandering off. And sometimes it isn't even the plot structure, sometimes it's just little nuances of the cast. Usually, when you go for one of his movies, I would say not to expect something like a huge blockbuster thriller or anything profoundly soul sucking. Compare the effect of these scripts as you would a miniature Monet to a huge canvas (early to late, like the waterlilies, for those familiar). Is the movie enjoyable and entertaining? Yes. Is it archetypal,...what isn't? Do all the actors polish off their portrayals, most definitely. And heck, for the price here, sacrifice your daily latte and check out a good flick for kicks, eh?
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 4, 2015
Interesting plot, but not really exciting enough, considering this movie is about poker. We've seen it before and better in The Cincinnati Kid.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 26, 2013
This is one of those movies I would have loved to have seen in the theater, and I'm not sure how I missed it. But, thanks to Amazon Prime, I was able to catch it for free on my computer.

This is a fun movie and full of card action. If you're into Poker or cards or card magic, then this movie is full of action. It's a bit humorous at the same time and not meant to be taken too seriously -- in other words, it's not "The Sopranos." What I like the most is the ending. It's not predictable, and that's the best thing.

No, it's not an Academy Award winner, but it's fun. And like I said, if you like cards, then you've got to see it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 18, 2016
I had to have this movie in my library. Great for entertainment!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here